Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Law U.S. Law Presidential Documents
Document Actions

Law

Presidential Documents

Administrative Documents of the President

Presidential documents used to manage executive agencies and personnel.

Some presidential documents are used within the executive branch to oversee executive departments and agencies and are therefore mainly directed toward staff and officers of those executive agencies.

Some of these documents may be classified or considered internal documents, therefore not available to the public.

General Sources of Administrative Documents

Federal Register
Issues for 1936–August 2004 available in Government Documents Microfiche, cabinet #43; Later issues available online from GPO Access
This daily publication is the official public outlet for regulations and legal notices issued by federal agencies.

The following types of presidential documents are published in the Federal Register:

  • Proclamations
  • Executive Orders
  • Memoranda
  • Notices
  • Letters
  • Presidential Determinations

One of the appendices to the Public Papers of the Presidents lists the presidential documents published in the Federal Register. The listing for each document includes the following information:

  • Subject
  • Effective date
  • Federal Register page number
  • Document number (when applicable) 
Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)
Current edition in Third Floor Reference under Call Number AE 2.106/3: and available online from GPO Access; Previous editions in Documents Microforms
This is an annually updated codification of all current general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the executive departments and agencies of the federal government. 

Title 3 of the CFR contains all of the presidential proclamations, executive orders and other presidential items required to be published in the Federal Register. The Title 3 series has been continued by means of annual compilations and periodic cumulations.

During 1971–75, the title designation for the annual compilation was changed to Title 3A, an appendix to Title 3. Title 3 became the designation for a codification of certain regulatory Presidential documents. In 1976, Title 3—The President went back to being the designation for the annual compilation of all Presidential documents published in the Federal Register and for the regulations issued by the Executive Office of the President.

Cumulative compilations of Title 3 (from 1936 to 1975) are available in Third Floor Reference under Call Number GS 4.108/2 : . Annual compilations (from 1976 to the present) are available in Third Floor Reference under AE 2.106/3 : 3.

Presidential Documents Guide (National Archives and Records Administration)
Search or browse various collections of executive orders, proclamations, and other presidential documents. Also includes disposition tables and other related information.

Executive Orders

Executive orders are official documents the chief executive uses to manage government operations. They provide instructions to officers in executive departments and agencies, often relating to a specific statutory mandate. 

Some of the things an executive order might be used for:

  • Redistributing functions among executive branch agencies

  • Establishing an advisory body, study body, or task force

  • Adopting guidelines, rules of conduct, or rules of procedure for government employees or units of government

The first executive order was issued in 1789, but the earliest executive orders were not numbered or published in any consistent manner. In 1907, the State Department began collecting executive orders from the various agencies and numbering them in consecutive order, starting with an 1862 order from Lincoln as number 1. Orders issued between 1789 and 1862 are unnumbered and are referred to as unnumbered executive orders.

The Office of the Federal Register (202-523-5230) can provide information about the status of any executive order, particularly those issued from 1929 to the present.

The Impact of Executive Orders on the Legislative Process: Executive Lawmaking is a 1999 congressional hearing on the topic of executive orders and the effect they have on the legislative process.

The Executive Order Process

  1. The proposed order is drafted according to guidelines in the Code of Federal Regulations.

  2. The draft is sent (with 7 copies) to the Office of Management and Budget to be examined for adherence to the administration’s policy and budgetary goals.

  3. The draft is sent to the Office of the Attorney General to be examined for potential legal problems.

  4. The draft is sent to the Office of the Federal Register to be reviewed for stylistic and typographical errors.

  5. The revised draft is sent (with 3 copies) to the President for approval.

  6. The order is signed by the President.

  7. The order is published in the Federal Register.

Full-Text Sources

Executive Orders Issued by President Bush (White House)
This White House page lists only selected executive orders by the current President, arranged by date. They are not numbered.

If you know the date or a key word, you can also search the entire White House Web site. Sometimes an executive order will turn up as a press release. No executive orders on this site are numbered, so you can’t look them up by number.
Federal Register
Available online via GPO Access (1994–current); select “Presidential Documents”
Available online via LexisNexis Academic (1980–current); select Legal Research/Federal Regulations and enter “Presidential Documents” in the Keyword box.
Microfiche (1936–August 2004) available in Government Documents Microfiche cabinet #43)
The official source. Presidential documents are the first items appearing in each issue. Their titles are listed under the heading “Presidential Documents” in the Table of Contents, and their numbers are listed in the Tables of CFR Parts Affected for each issue, as well as in the monthly cumulative table in each issue. 

Classified executive orders will be listed by number only. Executive orders and proclamations that lack general applicability or legal effect or that proclaim treaties and other international agreements are not included.
Code of Federal Regulations
Available online via GPO Access (1996–current); select “Title 3”
Microfiche (1938–1996) available in Government Documents Microfiche cabinet #44
Title 3 of the CFR contains all executive orders, beginning with Executive Order 7316 of March 13, 1936 (when the Federal Register began).
United States Code Congressional and Administrative News (1940–current)
Available in Willis Library under Call Number KF63.U5
Texts of Executive Orders appear in the last volume for each session of Congress. There is also a “Table of Executive Orders.”
Codification of Presidential Proclamations and Executive Orders, April 13, 1945–January 20, 1989
Available in Third Floor Reference under Call Number AE 2.113:945–89
The Codification provides in one convenient reference source proclamations and executive orders with general applicability and continuing effect. It covers April 13, 1945, through January 20, 1989, spanning the administrations of Harry S. Truman through Ronald Reagan.
The Donnelly Collection of Executive Orders (Conservative Caucus)
Selected executive orders and proclamations from George Washington to the present, scanned into electronic format by historian LeRoy Donnelly. 
John F. Kennedy Executive Orders (University of Michigan)
214 executive orders scanned from Title 3 of the Code of Regulations at the Knowledge Navigation Center of the University of Michigan Graduate Library and subsequently converted to HTML. Indexed by date, keyword, number, and title.
A Compilation of the Messages and Papers of the Presidents, 1789–1902
First 10 volumes (1789–1897) available on CD-ROM 193 at Documents Service Desk.
Includes unnumbered executive orders for this time period.

Finding Tools

Numerical Listing of Presidential Executive Orders Available Electronically (FedLaw)
Links to Executive Orders 10914 through 13130, arranged in reverse chronological order. Gives number, title, and date for each order.
Executive Orders Disposition Tables (National Archives and Records Administration)
Information about executive orders beginning with those signed by President Eisenhower, arranged according to presidential administration and year of signature. Tables include E.O. number; date signed; Federal Register volume number, page number, and issue date; title; amendments (if any); and current status (where applicable). Links to full text are available beginning with 1995.
Presidential Executive Orders: numbered 1-8030, 1862-1938
Available in Third Floor A&I
Synopses of all numbered executive orders from 1862 to 1938. Includes index.

Reorganization Plans

Reorganization plans consist of presidential proposals for changes in the form of executive agencies, and can abolish or transfer agency functions. 

In the past, a reorganization plan would take effect automatically unless specifically disapproved of by Congress. In 1983 this procedure was ruled unconstitutional. Now the President must submit any proposed reorganization plan to both houses of Congress with a request for approval. If both houses pass a joint resolution of approval, the plan then becomes effective when the President accepts the joint resolution. There have been no reorganization plans since this law was passed.

Citation

Reorganization plans are identified by year and plan number within that year:

Reorganization Plan No. 4 of 1949

This refers to the fourth reorganization plan issued in 1949.

Sources

Proposed reorganization plans appear in the Congressional Record and the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents.

Approved reorganization plans are listed chronologically in an Appendix to Title 5 of the U.S. Code.

Nominations and Appointments

In most advanced countries, only a handful of the most senior officials are replaced after a shift in political control, while most lower positions are handled by career government staff. In the U.S., however, thousands of new officials are brought in every time we have a new president.

Nominations to federal judgeships and to major positions in the Executive Branch must be submitted to the Senate for confirmation. This means that presidential nominations will be listed in congressional publications as well as in publications of presidential papers.

The Presidential Appointment Process

  1. Recruitment and screening of candidate by White House.
  2. Background clearance by White House.
  3. Nomination sent from White House to Senate.
  4. Confirmation (or rejection) by Senate.
  5. Swearing in by White House.

Resources on the Appointments Process

Presidential Appointments: A Political Consulting Group
This non-partisan, not-for-profit public service organization searches for citizens interested in serving as political appointees in the U. S. government and teaches people how to apply for and be appointed to these positions successfully. 
Staffing a New Administration: A Guide to Personnel Appointments in a Presidential Transition (The Brookings Institution)
This guide for journalists provides factual and historical information about previous presidential transitions and context for the one that began in 2000, with the hope that Americans will come to know who is being chosen to lead their government, how those choices are made,  and why some people were selected and others were not.
A Survivor’s Guide for Presidential Nominees (Council for Excellence in Government/Presidential Appointee Initiative)
This handbook provides nonpartisan information on the presidential appointments process.

Appointments by the Current Administration

Bush Administration Nominations (White House)
List of everyone nominated by President Bush. Can be browsed by name or by date; includes date nominated, date announced, date confirmed, and full text of nomination.
Appointments (White House)
An explanation of how to apply for appointments in the Bush administration. Includes downloadable application forms. 
The White House Transition Project
Several research reports on White House positions and the appointment process. Includes recommendations for reform.
United States Government Policy and Supporting Positions (GPO Access)
More commonly known as the Plum Book, this publication is issued every four years, just after the presidential election. It contains data on available federal civil service leadership and support positions in the legislative and executive branches of the federal government.

Appointments of Current and Earlier Administrations

Presidential Nominations (THOMAS)
Information on nominations and appointments during 100th Congress (1987-88) through current Congress. Database can be searched by name, keyword, number of Congress, type of nomination, presidential nomination (PN) number, or type of legislative action taken.
Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
Available online through GPO Access (1993–current)
Available to UNT community through ProQuest (1992–current)
Available on Third Floor Willis Library AE 2.109 : (1984–current); GS 4.114 : (1965–1983)
At the end of each issue is a list of presidential nominations submitted to the Senate.
Public Papers of the President of the United States
Available online through GPO Access (1992–current)
Available to UNT community through LexisNexis (1979–current)
Available on Third Floor Willis Library AE 2.114 : (1984–current); GS 4.113 : (1929–1983)

Congressional Record
Available through GPO Access (1994–current)
Available in Government Documents under X (1873–1996)
Available in Documents Microforms under X (1994–current)
The Daily Digest for the Senate contains the names of those nominated and those confirmed.
Congressional Record Index
Available through GPO Access (1983–current)
Available in Government Documents under X/a:
“Executive Nominations and Confirmations” lists names of those nominated and those confirmed.
Journal of the Executive Proceedings of the Senate of the United States of America
Available at Library of Congress American Memory site (1789–1875)
Available in Government Documents Y1.4:EX3 (1901–1948; Y 1.3/4: (1980–2002)
From its inaugural session, in addition to its legislative journal, the Senate has maintained a separate record of the executive proceedings that relate to its functions of confirming presidential nominees and consenting to the making of treaties.

Administrative Orders

Administrative orders have basically the same effect as proclamations or executive orders. They are usually used for specific determinations under foreign trade statutes, or to implement foreign policy decisions.

Administrative orders are dated, but not individually numbered.

Sources

 

 Federal Register
Available online via GPO Access (1995–current); select “Presidential Documents”
Available online via LexisNexis Academic (1980–current); select Legal Research/Federal Regulations and enter “Presidential Documents” in the Keyword box.
Microfiche (1936–August 2004) available in Government Documents Microfiche cabinet #43)
 Code of Federal Regulations (Title 3)
Available online via GPO Access (1996–current); select “Title 3”
Microfiche (1938–1996) available in Government Documents Microfiche cabinet #4

Memoranda

A memorandum, or memo, is an informal written communication used within an office and containing instructions (directives), policies (determinations), or other internal information.

Presidential memoranda are usually issued to the heads of departments or agencies.

Directives and determinations are specific types of memoranda.

Sources

Many presidential memoranda are of a private nature or for internal purposes only and not made available to the public. Some memoranda are published in the sources listed below.

Federal Register
Available online via GPO Access (1994–current); select “Presidential Documents”
Available online via LexisNexis Academic (1980–current); select Legal Research/Federal Regulations and enter “Presidential Documents” in the Keyword box.
Microfiche (1936–August 2004) available in Government Documents Microfiche cabinet #43)
Listed under “Presidential Documents” or “President of the U.S.”
Code of Federal Regulations (Title 3)
Available online via GPO Access (1996–current); select “Title 3”
Microfiche (1938–1996) available in Government Documents Microfiche cabinet #4
Memoranda are listed with other miscellaneous documents after the proclamations and executive orders.
Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
Available online through GPO Access (1993–current)
Available to UNT community through ProQuest (1992–current)
Available on Third Floor Willis Library AE 2.109 : (1984–current); GS 4.114 : (1965–1983)
Memoranda and similar documents are listed under “letters and messages” and “communications to federal agencies.”
Public Papers of the President of the United States
Available online through GPO Access (1992–current)
Available to UNT community through LexisNexis (1979–current)
Available on Third Floor Willis Library AE 2.114 : (1984–current); GS 4.113 : (1929–1983)
Memoranda and similar documents are listed under the same headings used for the Weekly Compilation.

Security Directives

Directives (sometimes called memoranda) are used to designate matters such as assignments for agency officials. 

National security directives are signed or authorized by the President and issued by the National Security Council. They are not required to be released to Congress or the public, and many recent ones have been classified. 

They have been given different names by different Presidential administrations: 

  • National Security Action Memoranda (NSAMs): Kennedy & Johnson 

  • National Security Decision Memoranda (NSDMs): Nixon and Ford 

  • Presidential Directives (PDs): Carter

  • National Security Decision Directives (NSDDs): Reagan 

  • National Security Directives (NSDs): Bush 

  • Presidential Decision Directives (PDDs): Clinton 

Sources

Miscellaneous presidential directives are available on the Web. Try searching Google to find the one you are looking for.
Presidential Directives and Executive Orders (Federation of American Scientists)
Directives for Presidents from Truman to George W. Bush.
Presidential Directives on National Security from Truman to Clinton (George Washington University National Security Archive)
This collection contains every presidential directive on national security from Truman to Clinton that has been declassified, as well as the widest possible range of studies contributing to these highest-level declarations. Adding to the historical importance of these materials is the fact that they were intended to be internal documents for use only by the federal agencies and officials to whom they were addressed, and not for dissemination to the public or even Congress. Presidents have utilized the classified directives, many of which are top secret, as a primary means of defining and executing national security policy—and have vigorously rejected Congressional demands to review them. These top-level documents reflect actual presidential intentions, as opposed to public statements of purpose, which frequently leave out sensitive details and, on occasion, directly conflict with the stated goals of the administration.
National Security Council Historical List of Policy Documents (National Archives and Records Administration)
Comprehensive list of nearly all key national security policy documents issued from the Kennedy through the Bush administration, as well as a list of NSC Intelligence Directives for the 1947-1975 time period.
Papers relating to the foreign relations of the United States
Available in Government Documents under S1.1:[year]
Includes some older directives. 
Presidential libraries (National Archives and Records Administration)
These are repositories for preserving and making available the papers, records, and other historical materials of U.S. Presidents since Herbert Hoover.
Center for National Security Studies (George Washington University)
Good place to request directives. 
Contact info:
  1120 19th Street, NW
  8th Floor
  Washington, DC 20036
  (202) 721-5650 (phone)
  (202) 530-0128 (fax)
  cnss@gwu.edu
National Security Council. Information Directorate.
Tel.: (202)456-9201.
This agency can tell you whether a particular directive is still classified or not.
National Archives. Civil Reference Branch. In Record Group 273, “National Security Council.”
Tel.: (202)501-5425.
Mainly National Security Council documents from the Truman and Eisenhower administrations. They also receive copies of more recent directives on a courtesy basis from NSC as they are declassified.

Presidential Determinations

Presidential determinations resolve whether certain provisions of law are or are not in the national interest.

Citation

Presidential determinations are designated by year and number.

Presidential Determination 90-9

This refers to the ninth Presidential determination issued in 1990.

Sources

Federal Register
Available online via GPO Access (1994–current); select “Presidential Documents”
Available online via LexisNexis Academic (1980–current); select Legal Research/Federal Regulations and enter “Presidential Documents” in the Keyword box.
Microfiche (1936–August 2004) available in Government Documents Microfiche cabinet #43)
Listed under “Presidential Documents” or “President of the U.S.”
Code of Federal Regulations (Title 3)
Available online via GPO Access (1996–current); select “Title 3”
Microfiche (1938–1996) available in Government Documents Microfiche cabinet #4
Presidential determinations are listed with other miscellaneous documents after the proclamations and executive orders.
Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
Available online through GPO Access (1993–current)
Available to UNT community through ProQuest (1992–current)
Available on Third Floor Willis Library AE 2.109 : (1984–current); GS 4.114 : (1965–1983)
Presidential determinations are indexed, but no full text is given.
Public Papers of the President of the United States
Available online through GPO Access (1992–current)
Available to UNT community through LexisNexis (1979–current)
Available on Third Floor Willis Library AE 2.114 : (1984–current); GS 4.113 : (1929–1983)
Presidential determinations are indexed, but no full text is given.

Emergency Powers Continuation Notices

The President of the United States has the right to use certain powers in the event that the nation is threatened by crisis, exigency, or emergency circumstances (other than natural disasters, war, or near-war situations).

Such powers may be stated explicitly or implied by the Constitution, assumed by the Chief Executive to be permissible constitutionally, or inferred from or specified by statute.

The National Emergencies Act (50 U.S.C. 1601-1651) eliminated or modified some statutory grants of emergency authority, required the President to declare formally the existence of a national emergency and to specify what statutory authority (activated by the declaration) would be used, and provided Congress a means to countermand the President’s declaration and the activated authority being sought.

Sources

Federal Register
Available online via GPO Access (1994–current); select “Presidential Documents”
Available online via LexisNexis Academic (1980–current); select Legal Research/Federal Regulations and enter “Presidential Documents” in the Keyword box.
Microfiche (1936–August 2004) available in Government Documents Microfiche cabinet #43)
Notices of continuation of emergency powers must be published in the Federal Register
Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
Available online through GPO Access (1993–current)
Available to UNT community through ProQuest (1992–current)
Available on Third Floor Willis Library AE 2.109 : (1984–current); GS 4.114 : (1965–1983)
Notices of continuation of emergency powers are indexed here under the heading  “Other Presidential Documents.”

Presidential Communications to Congress

Messages from the President to Congress, either to seek approval for executive actions or to suggest legislation.

The President often sends messages to Congress either as part of the process of creating laws, or in order to obtain Congressional approval for certain executive actions as required by the Constitution.

General Sources of Presidential Communications to Congress

Congressional Record
Available through GPO Access (1994–current)
Available in Government Documents under X (1873–1996)
Available in Documents Microforms under X (1994–current)
Official transcript of debate on the floor of the House and Senate. Printed daily when Congress is in session. Presidential information includes proclamations, executive orders, addresses, messages, and statements.
Journal of the House of Representatives of the United States
Available online from GPO Access (1991–1998)
Available online from Library of Congress American Memory (1789–1875)
Available on CD (Call Number XJH:) at Documents Service Desk (1991–2002)
Available in Government Documents under Call Number Z 3.5: (1789–1815)
Available from Remote Storage under Call Number XJH: (1953–2001)

Journal of the Senate of the United States
Available online from Library of Congress American Memory (1789–1875)
Available from Remote Storage under Call Number XJS: (1953–2002)
The only publications required by the Constitution, these publications contain inaugural addresses, state of the union addresses, and various communications to Congress (veto messages, etc.).
U.S. Congressional Serial Set
Many messages, addresses, budget documents, and economic reports are printed as House or Senate Documents. Treaty documents and Senate executive reports are also included in the Serial Set.

Legislative Recommendations

Presidential messages to Congress may propose new legislation, explain vetoes, transmit documents, or convey information about the state of national affairs or other matter of concern.

Most of these communications are published by Congress.

Sources

Most messages are reprinted as congressional documents. They are printed in the Congressional Record and listed in the Congressional Record Index under “President of the U.S.”

Presidential messages are printed as House Documents. Current presidential messages are available from the House Document Room:

House Document Room
House Legislative Resource Center
B106 Cannon House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515
202-226-5200
Fax: 202-226-5208

Older house documents are published as part of the U.S. Congressional Serial Set.

Messages are reprinted in the House and Senate journals.

The Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents indexes presidential messages under “Messages” and “Communications to Congress.”

Selected messages are printed in U.S. Code Congressional and Administrative News.

Budget Proposals

The Office of Management and Budget (OMB) helps the President to draft a budget to be sent to Congress for consideration.

The Budget Process

  1. Executive agencies submit requests for funds to the Office of Management and Budget

  2. The President reviews these requests and makes the final decisions on what to go in the proposed budget

  3. The budget documents are prepared and sent to Congress 

  4. Congress reviews the President’s budget, prepares its own budget, and approves spending and revenue bills

  5. The fiscal year begins 

  6. Agency program managers execute the budget they have been provided

  7. Data are collected on how much the government actually spends and receives

Sources

Budget (Office of Management and Budget)
Information on current and prior budgets.
Budget Documents (Office of Management and Budget)
Budget documents for the current fiscal year, as well as supporting documents and other sources of budget information.
Budget of the United States Government
In Government Documents under Call Number PrEx 2.8:[year]
Most recent on reserve at Documents Service Desk
Summary of the President’s proposed plans for the budget and any recommended taxes.
Budget of the United States Government, Appendix
In Government Documents under Call Number PrEx 2.8:[year] APP.
Most recent on reserve at Documents Service Desk
Detailed, line-item estimates of the budget, arranged by agency and account.
The United States Budget in Brief
In Government Documents under Call Number PrEx 2.8/2:[year]
Most recent on reserve at Documents Service DeskPrEx 2.8/2:[year]
Abridged version of the budget.

Supporting Documents

A Citizen’s Guide to the Federal Budget
In Government Documents under Call Number PrEx 2.8:[year] CITIZE
Provides information about the budget and the budget process for the general public. This publication doesn't seem to have been updated since 2002.
Budget System and Concepts
In Government Documents under Call Number PrEx 2.8/12:[year]
Formerly PrEx 2.2:B 85/5/ [year]
Explains budget concepts and describes the process used to formulate the President’s budget proposals
Analytical Perspectives, Budget of the United States Government
In Government Documents under Call Number PrEx 2.8/5:[year]
Most recent on reserve at Documents Service Desk
Places the budget in perspective by highlighting specific subject areas or by providing other significant presentations of budget data.
Historical Tables, Budget of the United States Government
In Government Documents under Call Number PrEx 2.8/8:[year]
Most recent on reserve at Documents Service Desk
Provides data on budget receipts, outlays, surpluses or deficits, Federal debt, and Federal employment over an extended time period, generally from 1940 or earlier to several years into the future. The data have been adjusted as much as possible to be consistent with the current budget and to provide comparability over time

Related Documents

Economic Report of the President
1947–current
This annual report written by the Chairman of the Council of Economic Advisors provides an overview of the nation’s economic progress using text and tabular data. The Economic Report of the President is transmitted to Congress no later than ten days after the submission of the Budget of the United States Government. Supplementary reports can be issued to the Congress which contain additional and/or revised recommendations.

Nominations and Appointments

In most advanced countries, only a handful of the most senior officials are replaced after a shift in political control, while most lower positions are handled by career government staff. In the U.S., however, thousands of new officials are brought in every time we have a new president.

Nominations to federal judgeships and to major positions in the Executive Branch must be submitted to the Senate for confirmation. This means that presidential nominations will be listed in congressional publications as well as in publications of presidential papers.

The Presidential Appointment Process

  1. Recruitment and screening of candidate by White House.
  2. Background clearance by White House.
  3. Nomination sent from White House to Senate.
  4. Confirmation (or rejection) by Senate.
  5. Swearing in by White House.

Resources on the Appointment Process

White House Transition Project
Several research reports on White House positions and the appointment process. Includes recommendations for reform.
Presidential Appointments: A Political Consulting Group
This non-partisan, not-for-profit public service organization searches for citizens interested in serving as political appointees in the U. S. government and teaches people how to apply for and be appointed to these positions successfully. 
Staffing a New Administration: A Guide to Personnel Appointments in a Presidential Transition (The Brookings Institution)
This guide for journalists provides factual and historical information about previous presidential transitions and context for the one that began in 2000, with the hope that Americans will come to know who is being chosen to lead their government, how those choices are made,  and why some people were selected and others were not.
A Survivor’s Guide for Presidential Nominees (Council for Excellence in Government/Presidential Appointee Initiative)
This handbook provides nonpartisan information on the presidential appointments process.

Appointments by the Current Administration

Bush Administration Nominations (White House)
List of everyone nominated by President Bush. Can be browsed by name or by date; includes date nominated, date announced, date confirmed, and full text of nomination.
Appointments (White House)
An explanation of how to apply for appointments in the Bush administration. Includes downloadable application forms. 
United States Government Policy and Supporting Positions (GPO Access)
More commonly known as the Plum Book (not because of its color, which indeed is plum, but because it lists “plum” governmental positions), this publication is issued every four years (alternately by the House and by the Senate), just after the presidential election. It contains data on available federal civil service leadership and support positions in the legislative and executive branches of the federal government. The people holding these positions usually have a close and confidential relationship with the agency head or other key officials.

Appointments by Current and Earlier Administrations

Presidential Nominations (THOMAS)
Information on nominations and appointments during 100th Congress (1987-88) through current Congress. Database can be searched by name, keyword, number of Congress, type of nomination, presidential nomination (PN) number, or type of legislative action taken.
Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
Available online through GPO Access (1993–current)
Available to UNT community through ProQuest (1992–current)
Available on Third Floor Willis Library AE 2.109 : (1984–current); GS 4.114 : (1965–1983)
At the end of each issue is a list of presidential nominations submitted to the Senate.
Public Papers of the President of the United States
Available online through GPO Access (1992–current)
Available to UNT community through LexisNexis (1979–current)
Available on Third Floor Willis Library AE 2.114 : (1984–current); GS 4.113 : (1929–1983)

Congressional Record
Available through GPO Access (1994–current)
Available in Government Documents under X (1873–1996)
Available in Documents Microforms under X (1994–current)
The Daily Digest for the Senate contains the names of those nominated and those confirmed.
Congressional Record Index
Available through GPO Access (1983–current)
Available in Government Documents under X/a:
“Executive Nominations and Confirmations” lists names of those nominated and those confirmed.
Journal of the Executive Proceedings of the Senate of the United States of America
Available at Library of Congress American Memory site (1789–1875)
Available in Government Documents Y1.4:EX3 (1901–1948; Y 1.3/4: (1980–2002)
From its inaugural session, in addition to its legislative journal, the Senate has maintained a separate record of the executive proceedings that relate to its functions of confirming presidential nominees and consenting to the making of treaties.

Treaties

Treaties are often referred to by terms such as convention, covenant, agreement, pact, accord, and protocol.

They may be bilateral (between two countries) or multilateral (among three or more countries). 

Treaties must by ratified by two thirds of the Senate to become effective. They are considered laws and may supersede earlier laws or treaties.

The Treaty Making Process

  1. Secretary of State authorizes negotiation
  2. U.S. representatives negotiate
  3. Representatives agree on terms and—with authorization of Secretary of State—sign treaty
  4. President submits treaty to Senate
  5. Senate Foreign Relations Committee considers treaty and reports to Senate
  6. Senate considers and approves by 2/3 majority
  7. President proclaims treaty to be in force

Full-Text Sources

Senate, House, and Treaty Documents (GPO Access)
Online access to Senate Treaty Documents since 1995. Includes accompanying messages from the President and the Secretary of State with the treaty text.
Treaties and Other International Acts Series (TIAS)
In Government Documents under Call Number S 9.10:
Pre-prints of all treaties ratified by the Senate and signed by the President, issued individually 6–12 months after they are in force.
United States Treaties and Other International Agreements (UST)
In Government Documents under Call Number S 9.12:
Compilation of all U.S. treaties ratified since 1950.
Treaties and Other International Agreements of the United States of America, 1776–1949 (Bevans)
In Government Documents under Call Number S 9.12/2:
Compilation of all pre-1950 U.S. treaties.

Finding Tools

Treaties in Force (TIF)
Available in Government Documents under Call Number S 9.14:[year]
Latest at Documents Service Desk
Lists and summarizes all U.S. treaties and agreements currently in effect, arranged by country and by topic. Includes USTIAS and UST numbers.
Treaties Search Page (Thomas)
Search for treaties and their status by Congress, by date transmitted to Senate, by treaty number, by type of treaty, or by keyword or phrase. Complete coverage begins with the 94th Congress. Older treaties are included if they were pending in 1975 (when the database was created). Includes links to full text of treaties and related documents on GPO Access (for 104th to present Congress).
Treaties (U.S. Senate)
Identify treaties received from the President, treaties on the Executive Calendar, treaties approved by the Senate, and listings of other recent treaty status actions, including treaties that were rejected by the Senate or withdrawn by the President, during the current Congress.

Treaties Received identifies treaties received from the President during the current Congress as well as the committee referral actions taken.

Treaties Reported identifies treaties reported out by the Foreign Relations committee, placed on the Executive Calendar with a sequentially assigned calendar number, and that are ready for Senate floor consideration.

Treaties Actions identifies treaties that have had Senate floor status actions during the current Congress. The date and a brief description of each floor action is provided.

Treaties Approved identifies treaties that were approved by the Senate during the current Congress. Includes links to the text of the treaty ratification resolutions.
Congressional Record Index
Available through GPO Access (1983–current)
Available in Government Documents under X/a:
Treaty actions and discussion appearing in the Congressional Record are listed under the heading “Treaties” and sometimes under the name of a specific treaty or its subject matter.

Bill Signing and Veto Statements

Although they are not required, the President usually makes a statement upon signing or rejecting a piece of legislation from Congress, giving his opinion on the legislation and why he thinks it is or isn’t a good idea.

The Line Item Veto Act of 1996 briefly gave the President authority to cancel a single provision of a bill in certain cases, but in 1998 the Supreme Court ruled the line item veto unconstitutional.

Sources

Although they can be found elsewhere, these are the two most convenient sources for Presidential messages approving or vetoing legislation: 

Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
Available online through GPO Access (1993–current)
Available to UNT community through ProQuest (1992–current)
Available on Third Floor Willis Library AE 2.109 : (1984–current); GS 4.114 : (1965–1983)
Listed under “bill signings” in the index.
Public Papers of the President of the United States
Available online through GPO Access (1992–current)
Available to UNT community through LexisNexis (1979–current)
Available on Third Floor Willis Library AE 2.114 : (1984–current); GS 4.113 : (1929–1983)
Listed under “bill signings” in the index.

The following sources will tell you if a bill was vetoed, but will not include a veto message:

Thomas (Library of Congress)
For 93rd Congress–current; look under “Bill Summary and Status”
History of Line Item Veto Notices (GPO Access)
Lists notices of line item vetoes as they appeared in the Federal Register.

State of the Union Messages

The Constitution requires that the President “shall from time to time give to Congress information of the State of the Union,” recommending any specific legislation he thinks should be passed.

Some Presidents have communicated their State of the Union messages through a letter; others have given speeches, which is now the standard procedure.

Sources

Annual Messages to Congress on the State of the Union (1790-2002) (American Presidency Project—UC Santa Barbara)
Full texts of all State of the Union messages from George Washington to the present.
State of the Union Address (C-SPAN)
Transcriptions of all State of the Union addresses since 1945. The more recent ones are even available as videos.
Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
Available online through GPO Access (1993–current)
Available to UNT community through ProQuest (1992–current)
Available on Third Floor Willis Library AE 2.109 : (1984–current); GS 4.114 : (1965–1983)
State of the Union Addresses are listed in index under “Addresses to the Nation.”
Public Papers of the President of the United States
Available online through GPO Access (1992–current)
Available to UNT community through LexisNexis (1979–current)
Available on Third Floor Willis Library AE 2.114 : (1984–current); GS 4.113 : (1929–1983)
State of the Union Addresses are listed in index under “Addresses to the Nation.”

Public Statements of the President

Ceremonial and public relations messages made by the president to individuals and groups as part of the role of chief of state.

In his role as chief of state, the President often addresses messages to certain individuals or groups, or to the general public at large. The President also issues public relations documents providing information about the executive department.

General Sources of Public Statements

White House
The current administration keeps executive orders, speeches, press releases, and many other presidential documents posted on the White House Web site.
Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
Available online through GPO Access (1993–current)
Available to UNT community through ProQuest (1992–current)
Available on Third Floor Willis Library AE 2.109 : (1984–current); GS 4.114 : (1965–1983)
The mother lode of presidential publications, this compilation includes most documents and communications issued by the President. It is published each Monday by the Office of the Federal Register and contains statements, messages, and other Presidential materials released by the White House during the preceding week.

These are the categories of documents published in the Weekly Compilation:

  • Proclamations, executive orders, and reorganization plans
  • Speeches given in person, on the radio, and on television
  • Letters, telegrams, and other written messages
  • News conferences and a checklist of White House press releases
  • Announcements of resignations and retirements 
  • Communications to Congress, including signing and veto statements
  • A list of acts approved by the president
  • Nominations submitted to the Senate
  • A digest of other White House announcements
Public Papers of the President of the United States
Available online through GPO Access (1992–current)
Available to UNT community through LexisNexis (1979–current)
Available on Third Floor Willis Library AE 2.114 : (1984–current); GS 4.113 : (1929–1983)
Every year a bound, compiled version of the documents from the Weekly Compilation is issued. Indexed by subject, name and document category. This is the executive department’s equivalent to the legislative branch’s Congressional Record or the judicial branch’s U.S. Reports. Includes the papers of all Presidents from 1929 (Hoover) to the present (except for those of Roosevelt, which were published privately).

The Public Papers and Addresses of Franklin D. Roosevelt were published privately and are located in Documents Reference under Call Number 308 R679p.

A Compilation of the Messages and Papers of the Presidents, 1789–1897.
Serial Set 3265-1 through 10
Also in Remote Storage under Call Number 353 Un3pr
An extensive compilation assembled by James D. Richardson and published under Congressional authority between 1896 and 1899. Covers Washington through McKinley.
The Presidential Papers
CD-ROM 193, located in Government Documents
Combines A Compilation of the Messages and Papers of the Presidents, 1789-1897 with the first seventy-nine volumes of Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States. Includes electronic search capabilities.
The Papers of the Presidents of the United States (The Avalon Project at Yale University)
Full text of selected documents, including inaugural addresses, annual messages, proclamations, vetoes. So far it includes papers of the following presidents:

Proclamations

Ceremonial proclamations are normally used to announce special observances, holidays, or events. Although directed to the public at large, they have little real legal effect. 

The President may proclaim something like National Bone and Joint Decade or National Cancer Awareness Week, and will invite the public to observe this time period with appropriate programs and activities.

More substantive proclamations may deal with trade, imports and exports, and tariffs. They are often triggered by a congressional resolution authorizing and requesting the president to issue a proclamation.

Sources

Federal Register
Available online via GPO Access (1994–current); select “Presidential Documents”
Available online via LexisNexis Academic (1980–current); select “Presidential Documents” for type of action
Microfiche (1936–August 2004) available in Government Documents Microfiche cabinet #43)
The official source. Proclamations are listed under “Presidential Documents,” “President of the U.S.,” or by subject. Often proclamations and executive orders are cited by the Federal Register volume and page where they first appeared, rather than by number.
Code of Federal Regulations (Title 3)
Available online via GPO Access (1996–current); select “Title 3”
Microfiche (1938–1996) available in Government Documents Microfiche cabinet #4
Title 3 of the CFR contains all of the presidential proclamations, executive orders and other presidential documents required to be published in the Federal Register.
Statutes at Large
In Government Documents under GS 4.11:[1st–97th Congress] and AE 2.111: [98th–current Congress]
Available online to UNT community through LexisNexis Academic
Includes all proclamations issued since 1791.
Codification of Presidential Proclamations and Executive Orders
In Government Documents Reference under AE 2.113:  1945–1989
Provides in one convenient reference source all proclamations and executive orders currently in effect. It covers April 13, 1945, through January 20, 1989, spanning the administrations of Harry S. Truman through Ronald Reagan. Proclamations are listed under subject or proclamation number.
Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
Available online through GPO Access (1993–current)
Available to UNT community through ProQuest (1992–current)
Available on Third Floor Willis Library AE 2.109 : (1984–current); GS 4.114 : (1965–1983)

Public Papers of the President of the United States
Available online through GPO Access (1992–current)
Available to UNT community through LexisNexis (1979–current)
Available on Third Floor Willis Library AE 2.114 : (1984–current); GS 4.113 : (1929–1983)
Proclamations are listed by issue date.
A Compilation of the Messages and Papers of the Presidents, 1789–1897.
Serial Set 3265-1 through 10
Also in Remote Storage under Call Number 353 Un3pr
Contains full text of early proclamations.

Greetings

The President will send birthday, anniversary, or other greetings to specific individuals upon request as long as certain guidelines are met.

The President also issues general greetings to the public through a press release on holidays and other special occasions.

Sources

White House Greetings Office
This is the place to request a greeting from the President on behalf of a friend or family member.
Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
Available online through GPO Access (1993–current)
Available to UNT community through ProQuest (1992–current)
Available on Third Floor Willis Library AE 2.109 : (1984–current); GS 4.114 : (1965–1983)

Public Papers of the President of the United States
Available online through GPO Access (1992–current)
Available to UNT community through LexisNexis (1979–current)
Available on Third Floor Willis Library AE 2.114 : (1984–current); GS 4.113 : (1929–1983)

Speeches

Public speeches (also known as addresses) may made by the President

  • On television 
  • On the radio
  • Before official and unofficial gatherings

Sources

White House
Often the first place the text of a speech will appear is on the White House Web site. The White House Web site posts the text and sometimes an audio or video recording of the President’s speeches. Sometimes the text of the speech appears as a press release. These texts can be browsed by topic, or the entire site can be searched by keyword.

Some sections of the site likely to include speeches:
Newspapers
The New York Times and other major newspapers sometimes reprint the full text of a speech on the day after it was presented.

Recent issues of major newspapers can be searched in LexisNexis Academic by members of the UNT Community (select News from side menu).

Newspapers are also accessible by members of the UNT Community through the Electronic Resources (Journals) page and through the Library Catalog (Title Search).
Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
Available online through GPO Access (1993–current)
Available to UNT community through ProQuest (1992–current)
Available on Third Floor Willis Library AE 2.109 : (1984–current); GS 4.114 : (1965–1983)

Public Papers of the President of the United States
Available online through GPO Access (1992–current)
Available to UNT community through LexisNexis (1979–current)
Available on Third Floor Willis Library AE 2.114 : (1984–current); GS 4.113 : (1929–1983)

Inaugural Addresses

Although it is not a Constitutional requirement, every Presidential inauguration has featured a (usually) brief speech delivered by the newly-elected chief executive. At first this speech was made to Congress, but since 1817 it has been made to the general public, usually outdoors.

Sources

In addition to the sources listed above for speeches, the following sources specifically feature inaugural addresses:

Inaugural Addresses of the Presidents of the United States
Available in Government Documents Reference under Serial Set Number 13914  
This work celebrates the bicentennial of the Presidency with a transcription of each inaugural address delivered from 1789 (Washington) to 1989 (George Bush). It also includes a list of presidents who were not inaugurated.
“I Do Solemnly Swear…”: Presidential Inaugurations (Library of Congress American Memory Collection)
Collection of selected items from each of the 54 inaugurations from George Washington to George W. Bush. Includes diaries and letters of presidents and of those who witnessed inaugurations, handwritten drafts of inaugural addresses, broadsides, inaugural tickets and programs, prints, photographs, and sheet music. 

Press Conferences and Briefings 

A televised press conference (sometimes called a news conference) often provides an opportunity to see the President thinking and speaking extemporaneously, as opposed to reading a pre-written speech. 

Sometimes the President opens with a prepared statement, which is then followed by questions from reporters. Sometimes only questioning occurs, with no opening statement. Sometimes the President may make a statement only, with no questions permitted.

A press briefing is a televised announcement to the media made by the President’s Press Secretary.

A press gaggle is a press briefing that is not televised, but is considered on-the-record. A transcript is usually made available in paper or online.

Sources

White House: Latest News
Press releases, speeches, and other public relations materials arranged in reverse chronological order.
White House: Press Briefing Archives
Transcriptions of press briefings and press gaggles given by the President’s Press Secretary.
Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
Available online through GPO Access (1993–current)
Available to UNT community through ProQuest (1992–current)
Available on Third Floor Willis Library AE 2.109 : (1984–current); GS 4.114 : (1965–1983)

Public Papers of the President of the United States
Available online through GPO Access (1992–current)
Available to UNT community through LexisNexis (1979–current)
Available on Third Floor Willis Library AE 2.114 : (1984-current); GS 4.113 : (1929-1983)

Press Releases

Often, instead of waiting for reporters to find out about a newsworthy event and write about it, the President’s Press Office will write out their own news story, complete with headline, and distribute it to newspapers and other media.

A press release may be sent out by itself or may be part of a complete press kit with contact numbers and other information.

Sources

Presidential News and Speeches
Press releases, speeches, and other public relations materials arranged in reverse chronological order.
Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
Available online through GPO Access (1993–current)
Available to UNT community through ProQuest (1992–current)
Available on Third Floor Willis Library AE 2.109 : (1984–current); GS 4.114 : (1965–1983)

Public Papers of the President of the United States
Available online through GPO Access (1992–current)
Available to UNT community through LexisNexis (1979–current)
Available on Third Floor Willis Library AE 2.114 : (1984–current); GS 4.113 : (1929–1983)

U.S. Treaties and Executive Agreements

Treaties and other agreements between the United States and at least one other country.

As chief diplomat, the President often produces documents pertaining to the relations of the United States with other nations.

Treaties

Treaties are often referred to by terms such as convention, covenant, agreement, pact, accord, and protocol.

They may be bilateral (between two countries) or multilateral (among three or more countries). 

Treaties must by ratified by two thirds of the Senate to become effective. They are considered laws and may supersede earlier laws or treaties.

The Treaty-Making Process

  1. Secretary of State authorizes negotiation
  2. U.S. representatives negotiate
  3. Representatives agree on terms and (with authorization of Secretary of State) sign treaty
  4. President submits treaty to Senate
  5. Senate Foreign Relations Committee considers treaty and reports to Senate
  6. Senate considers and approves by 2/3 majority
  7. President proclaims treaty to be in force

Full Text Sources

Senate, House, and Treaty Documents (GPO Access)
Online access to Senate Treaty Documents since 1995. Includes accompanying messages from the President and the Secretary of State with the treaty text.
Treaties and Other International Acts Series (TIAS)
In Government Documents under Call Number S 9.10:
Pre-prints of all treaties ratified by the Senate and signed by the President, issued individually 6–12 months after they are in force.
United States Treaties and Other International Agreements (UST)
In Government Documents under Call Number S 9.12:
Compilation of all U.S. treaties ratified since 1950.
Treaties and Other International Agreements of the United States of America, 1776–1949 (Bevans)
In Government Documents under Call Number S 9.12/2:
Compilation of all pre-1950 U.S. treaties.
United States Statutes at Large
In Government Documents under Call Number GS4.111:vol.
Volumes 1–18 available from Library of Congress
Volume 7 collects all treaties between U.S. and Indian tribes from 1778-1842.
Volume 8 collects all treaties between U.S. and other countries from 1778-1845. 
From 1846 on, treaties were published in the sessional volumes.
Volume 64, Part 3 contains cumulative list of all treaties and agreements included in volumes 1–64.
After 1950, the official publication for U.S. treaties became UST.

Finding Tools


Treaties in Force (TIF)
Available in Government Documents under Call Number S 9.14:[year]
Latest at Documents Service Desk
Lists and summarizes all U.S. treaties and agreements currently in effect, arranged by country and by topic. Includes USTIAS and UST numbers.
Treaties Search Page (Thomas)
Search for treaties and their status by Congress, by date transmitted to Senate, by treaty number, by type of treaty, or by keyword or phrase. Complete coverage begins with the 94th Congress. Older treaties are included if they were pending in 1975 (when the database was created). Includes links to full text of treaties and related documents on GPO Access (for 104th to present Congress).
Treaties (U.S. Senate)
Identify treaties received from the President, treaties on the Executive Calendar, treaties approved by the Senate, and listings of other recent treaty status actions, including treaties that were rejected by the Senate or withdrawn by the President, during the current Congress.

Treaties Received identifies treaties received from the President during the current Congress as well as the committee referral actions taken.

Treaties Reported identifies treaties reported out by the Foreign Relations committee, placed on the Executive Calendar with a sequentially assigned calendar number, and that are ready for Senate floor consideration.

Treaties Actions identifies treaties that have had Senate floor status actions during the current Congress. The date and a brief description of each floor action is provided.

Treaties Approved identifies treaties that were approved by the Senate during the current Congress. Includes links to the text of the treaty ratification resolutions.
Congressional Record Index
Available through GPO Access (1983–current)
Available in Government Documents under X/a:
Treaty actions and discussion appearing in the Congressional Record are listed under the heading “Treaties” and sometimes under the name of a specific treaty or its subject matter.

Executive Agreements

The President has the authority to make agreements with the chief executives of other countries. Although these have the same legal status as treaties, they do not not require the advice and consent of the Senate.

There is no restriction on the President’s authority to make such agreements, as long as they do not violate or alter any existing law or treaty.

The President is required to notify the Senate within 60 days of any executive agreement. Congress then has the option of voting to cancel the executive agreement, or to refuse funding for their implementation. 

Unlike treaties, executive agreements are not mentioned in the Constitution. They are, however, far more common than treaties or legislative actions.

The Agreement-Making Process

  1. Secretary of State authorizes negotiation
  2. U.S. representatives negotiate
  3. Representatives agree on terms and (with authorization of Secretary of State) sign agreement
  4. Agreement enters into force
  5. President transmits agreement to Congress

Sources

Executive Agreements often take as long as five years to be published, and can be very difficult to locate. Certain categories of executive agreements are exempt from publication.

Treaties and Other International Acts Series (TIAS)
In Government Documents under Call Number S 9.10:
Pre-prints of all treaties ratified by the Senate and signed by the President, issued individually 6–12 months after they are in force.
United States Treaties and Other International Agreements (UST)
In Government Documents under Call Number S 9.12:
Official compilation of all U.S. treaties ratified since 1950.
Treaties and Other International Agreements of the United States of America, 1776–1949 (Bevans)
In Government Documents under Call Number S 9.12/2:
Compilation of all pre-1950 U.S. treaties.
United States Statutes at Large
In Government Documents under Call Number GS4.111:vol.
Volumes 47–64 include executive agreements.
Volume 64, Part 3 contains cumulative list of all treaties and agreements included in volumes 1–64.
After 1950, the official publication for U.S. treaties and agreements became United States Treaties and Other International Agreements.

Letters

Letters can be instructions to chiefs of diplomatic missions, or trade agreement letters issued under GATT.

Sources

Federal Register
Available online via GPO Access (1994–current); select “Presidential Documents”
Available online via LexisNexis Academic (1980–current); select “Presidential Documents” for type of action
Microfiche (1936–August 2004) available in Government Documents Microfiche cabinet #43)
Letters are published under the heading of “Presidential Documents” or “President of the U.S.”
Code of Federal Regulations (Title 3)
Available online via GPO Access (1996–current); select “Title 3”
Microfiche (1938–1996) available in Government Documents Microfiche cabinet #4
Letters and similar items are listed by type of document following the executive orders section.
Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
Available online through GPO Access (1993–current)
Available to UNT community through ProQuest (1992–current)
Available on Third Floor Willis Library AE 2.109 : (1984–current); GS 4.114 : (1965–1983)
Letters are listed under “letters and messages” and under “communications to federal agencies.”
Public Papers of the President of the United States
Available online through GPO Access (1992–current)
Available to UNT community through LexisNexis (1979–current)
Available on Third Floor Willis Library AE 2.114 : (1984–current); GS 4.113 : (1929–1983)
Letters are listed under the same headings used for the Weekly Compilation.

Presidential Pardons and Reprieves

Information about pardons and reprieves granted by the President.

The President is authorized to grant reprieves and pardons for any cases except those involving impeachment. No approval of any other government agency or official is required for a pardon or reprieve to become effective. There does not have to be a conviction before a person can be pardoned.

Some Distinctions

Pardon
Relieves a person of any punishment for a crime.
Reprieve
Temporarily postpones punishment (usually a death sentence).
Commutation
Substitutes a less severe punishment for the one originally imposed by the court.
Amnesty
Pardons an entire class or group of people (usually guilty, or accused, of a political offense).

Sources

Although general statistics on Presidential clemency are available, there are as yet no comprehensive publicly-accessible historical records of Presidential grants of clemency, giving such details as names, offenses, and dates when clemency was granted.

Office of the Pardon Attorney (U.S. Dept. of Justice)
Includes statistics on pardons granted from 1900–2001 and lists of grantees from 1898–2001. Historic files can be requested under FOIA.
Notable Pardons (Jurist)
Includes list of all of Clinton’s pardons, plus a select list of historically significant pardons from Washington through George Bush.

Presidential Libraries and Archives

Archives of presidential materials in the National Archives and Records Administration and in the Presidential Libraries.

National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)

The National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) is an independent federal agency responsible for overseeing the management of all federal records.

Presidential Documents Guide links to online collections of executive orders, proclamations, determinations, memoranda, messages to Congress, speeches, press conferences, and other documents published in the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, the Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents, and the Public Papers of the Presidents.

Research Presidential Materials is a guide to using numerous federal records and historical materials related to the presidency. Most of these are not available online and are unpublished

Presidential Libraries

The Presidential Library system is made up of eleven Presidential Libraries. This nationwide network of libraries is administered by the Office of Presidential Libraries, which is part of the National Archives and Records Administration (NARA).

These are not like traditional libraries—you can’t check out books from them, for example. Rather, they are repositories for preserving and making available the papers, records, and other historical materials of U.S. Presidents since Herbert Hoover. Each Presidential Library contains a museum and provides an active series of public programs.

 

Whenever a President leaves office, NARA establishes a presidential project until a new presidential library is built and transferred to the government.

There is a Richard Nixon Library and Birthplace established in Yorba Linda, California, but it is not yet part of the Presidential Library system because of ongoing litigation over public access to Presidential materials of the Nixon administration, including the White House tapes. The Nixon Presidential Materials are currently administered by the Nixon Presidential Materials Staff of the National Archives and Records Administration, under the terms of the Presidential Recordings and Materials Preservation Act of 1974 (PRMPA). This law, which applies only to the Nixon Presidential materials, stipulates that those materials relevant to the understanding of abuse of governmental power and Watergate are to be processed and released to the public prior to the release of all other materials.

Guides to the Presidential Libraries

Presidential Libraries (National Archives and Records Administration)
Directory of presidential libraries. Includes descriptions of the Presidential Library System, links to the Libraries’ Web sites, and information about using the Libraries and researching Presidential documents.
A Guide to Manuscripts in the Presidential Libraries
CD3029.82 .B87 1985 [Located in General Reference, 1st Floor Willis Library]
Detailed index to the collections in the Herbert Hoover, Franklin D. Roosevelt, Harry S. Truman, Dwight D. Eisenhower, John F. Kennedy, Lyndon B. Johnson and Gerald R. Ford libraries.
Presidential Libraries and Collections (Fritz Veit) 
CD3029.82 .V45 1987 [Located on Second Floor, Willis Library]
Describes the contents, organization, and facilities of each library and collection and provides an overview of how the libraries developed and how they are currently maintained.
Records of the Presidency: Presidential Papers and Libraries from Washington to Reagan (Frank Schick) 
CD3029.82 .S35 1989 [Located in General Reference, 1st Floor Willis Library]
Provides a short biographical sketch of each president and a history of the individual’s presidential papers. Gives a brief description of what papers are available and where they are located.

Updating Presidential Documents

How to be sure you have the most current version of a presidential document.

Title 3 of the Code of Federal Regulations contains a table called “Presidential Documents affected during [year].”

Presidential documents which have been amended, revoked, or affected by another presidential document are listed in this table by type (proclamations, executive orders, etc.) and then by number or date.

The corresponding page number of the Federal Register is given that contains the text of the amending document.

To be absolutely sure no other recent documents have affected your document, consult the last issue of the Federal Register for each month following. “List of Sections Affected” tables are cumulated in each daily issue of the Federal Register. They are arranged by title and document type, with page numbers given for the amending documents.

Sources

Federal Register
Available online via GPO Access (1994–current); select “Presidential Documents”
Available online via LexisNexis Academic (1980–current); select “Presidential Documents” for type of action
Microfiche (1936–August 2004) available in Government Documents Microfiche cabinet #43)

Code of Federal Regulations (Title 3)
Available online via GPO Access (1996–current); select “Title 3”
Microfiche (1938–1996) available in Government Documents Microfiche cabinet #4

This page is maintained by Bobby Griffith last modified Tuesday, November 17, 2009. 09:45 AM
Info

The UNT Libraries will be closed Saturday, May 26 through Monday, May 28 for the Memorial Day weekend. The Libraries will reopen during regular building hours on Tuesday, May 29.

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Bobby Griffith

Contact Info

Willis Library, Room 326
Telephone: (940) 565-2869

Email me!

Website/Blog

Other pages by me


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook