Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Law U.S. Law Federal Legislative Process (How a Bill Becomes Law)
Document Actions

Law

Federal Legislative Process (How a Bill Becomes Law)

Congress

U.S. House of Representatives
Official Home page of the United States House of Representatives.

U.S. Senate
Official Home page of the United States Senate.

Current Congressional Officers (UNT Libraries)

Congressional Directory
The Congressional Directory is the official directory of the U.S. Congress, prepared by the Joint Committee on Printing (JCP). Published since 1888, the Congressional Directory presents short biographies of each member of the Senate and House, listed by state or district, and additional data, such as committee memberships, terms of service, administrative assistants and/or secretaries, and room and telephone numbers. It also lists officials of the courts, military establishments, and other Federal departments and agencies, including D.C. government officials, governors of states and territories, foreign diplomats, and members of the press, radio, and television galleries.

Summaries of the Legislative Process

Enactment of a Law (THOMAS)
A detailed account of the legislative process by the Parliamentarian of the U.S. Senate.
How a Bill Becomes Law (Project Vote Smart)
Brief outline of steps in the legislative process, with key terms linked to a glossary.
How a Bill Really Becomes a Law (YourCongress.com)
Informal, entertaining, and often irreverent look at how our laws are made.
How Laws Are Made (Kids in the House - Clerk of the House of Representatives)
A charmingly illustrated tutorial for schoolchildren on how a proposed bill moves through Congress. Includes explanations on how to read congressional records in Inspect-A-Law, and on how to research laws in How to Research Legislation.
How Our Laws Are Made (THOMAS)
An exhaustive (and sometimes exhausting) account of the law-making process, from the origin of a bill to its enactment into law. Written by the Parliamentarian of the House of Representatives.
I'm Just a Bill (Bofunk.com)
DVD video recording available in UNT Media Library (Chilton Hall) under Call Number DVD 1242
CD audio recording available in UNT Music Library (4th Floor Willis) under Call Number LPCD 76350 and under Call Number LPCD 85382-85385 [Disc 3]
The legislative process summarized for children in a song and animated cartoon. Lyrics
Legislative History Process (University of Michigan)
Chart showing how a bill becomes law, with extensive links to online resources for researching each step.
The Legislative Process (C-Span)
Concise description of 13 steps to a bill's becoming law.
The Legislative Process (Indiana University—Center on Congress)
The legislative process is more complicated than taught in most civic courses. This site presents a detailed description of the legislative maze a bill must navigate before it can become law. Includes supplementary essays and teaching materials. 

Tracking and Influencing Current Legislation

The UNT Libraries have full-text paper or microform copies of all bills for selected years. For other years, we may have full-text copies only of bills that passed, with abstracts of bills that did not pass. Ask at the Government Documents Service Desk for help with finding texts of bills.

GovTrack.us: Track Federal Legislation (Joshua Tauberer)
Use this free subscription service to perform customized tracking of Congressional legislative activities by issues, bills, and members of Congress.
THOMAS: Legislative Information on the Internet (Library of Congress)
The most extensive online collection of information on current and recent U.S. federal legislation. Includes current activities in Congress, bills and public laws, committee reports and selected committee hearings, a directory of current members of Congress, and an explanation of how a bill becomes law.
United States Legislative Branch (Library of Congress)
Includes information about Congress with links to Congressional committees and publications.
CIS Index to Publications of the U.S. Congress (Congressional Information Service)
Available in Government Documents Abstracts & Indexes Section
Includes comprehensive legislative history for every act passed by Congress since 1970.

THOMAS provides an online history of bills passed from 1973 to the present.
GPO Access provides a history of bills passed from 1983 through the present.
Congressional Record (U.S. Government Printing Office)
Ask at Government Documents Service Desk for assistance—recent copies are in microfiche.
The Congressional Record has been mandated to be "substantially a verbatim" account of the activities of Congress. In fact, however, members of Congress are allowed to change, omit, or add remarks as they wish, even to the point of changing the meaning of what they actually said on the floor, thus compromising this publication's value as a historical document. The Congressional Record and its predecessors—the Annals of Congress, Register of Debates, and Congressional Globe—have been published since 1789.

The Congressional Record for recent years is available online through GPO Access or THOMAS.
Congressional Record Index and Daily Digest (U.S. Government Printing Office)
Ask at Government Documents Service Desk for assistance—recent copies are in microfiche.
This is useful for locating the pages in the Congressional Record that refer to a particular subject or bill.

The Congressional Record Index for recent years is also available online through GPO Access or THOMAS.

Specific Aspects of the Legislative Process 

CRS Reports on the Legislative Process (Congressional Research Service)
Essays, outlines, and other information on various details of the legislative process, designed to clarify certain issues and procedures for members of Congress.
The Committee System in the U.S. Congress (Information USA)
Brief description of how Congress uses committees to accomplish its work.
Conference Committee and Related Procedures: An Introduction (Law Librarian’s Society of Washington, D.C.)
A brief summary of House and Senate procedures for reaching agreement on legislation.
House and Senate Rules of Procedure: A Comparison (UNT Libraries)
This Congressional Research Report compares selected House and Senate rules of procedure for various stages of the legislative process: referral of legislation to committees; scheduling and calling up measures; and floor consideration. No attempt is made to present a comprehensive discussion of how both chambers operate. The appendices provide sources of additional information about House and Senate rules of procedure. 
"Tying It All Together" (U.S. House of Representatives)
A brief overview of the legislative process in the House, with cross-links to appropriate sections of How Our Laws Are Made.
How Measures are Brought to the House Floor: A Brief Introduction (UNT Libraries)
This Congressional Research Service report provides a brief description of the methods used to bring proposed legislation to the House floor for consideration. These methods allow for consideration as a privileged matter, under the limited privilege of a special calendar or day, under suspension of the rules, under the terms of a special rule, or by unanimous consent.
Legislative Process: How a Senate Bill Becomes a Law (U.S. Senate)
Flowchart outlining the bill status, the people involved , and where the action takes place at each stage of the legislative process in the Senate. Some steps in the chart are linked to more thorough explanations.
Senate Legislative Process (U.S. Senate)
A rather extensive explanation of the legislative process in the Senate, reproduced from a Congressional Research Service report.

Definitions of Legislative Terms

C-SPAN Congressional Glossary (C-SPAN)
Definitions of terms commonly used during the legislative process.
CongressLink Glossary (Fountain Communications, Inc.)
Definitions and brief explanations of terms related to Congress and to the United States Constitution.
[Glossary of Senate Terms] (U.S. Senate)
Definitions of terms commonly used in Senate proceedings.
This page is maintained by Bobby Griffith last modified Thursday, March 01, 2012. 04:11 PM
Info

The UNT Libraries will be closed Saturday, May 26 through Monday, May 28 for the Memorial Day weekend. The Libraries will reopen during regular building hours on Tuesday, May 29.

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Bobby Griffith

Contact Info

Willis Library, Room 326
Telephone: (940) 565-2869

Email me!

Website/Blog

Other pages by me


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook