Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Law U.S. Law Federal Statutes and Codes
Document Actions

Law

Federal Statutes and Codes

Current Statutes

U.S. Code (Office of the Law Revision Counsel)
The United States Code is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. It is divided by broad subjects into 50 titles and published by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the U.S. House of Representatives. Since 1926, the United States Code has been published every six years. In between editions, annual cumulative supplements are published in order to present the most current information.
United States Code (GPO Access)
Plain ASCII text version of the U.S. Code. Browse by title and table of contents, or search by keyword.
U.S. Code collection (Legal Information Institute – Cornell)
Complete text of the U.S. Code generated from the most recent official version made available by the US House of Representatives and compiled in a free, user-friendly database. Browse by title and table of contents, browse by popular name, search by title and section number, or search by keyword.
United States Code Annotated (Thomson/West)
Call No. KF62 .U5 — Located on Third Floor of Willis Library
This paper copy of the U.S. statutes includes citations to related court cases, regulations, and other statutes, as well as the legislative history of each statute. 
Public Laws (THOMAS — U.S. Library of Congress)
Collection of laws recently enacted by Congress. Searchable by keywords in full text or in title.
United States Code Congressional and Administrative News (Thomson/West)
Call No. KF63 .U5 — Located on Third Floor of Willis Library
Public laws arranged in the order they were passed, accompanied by a complete legislative history and reprints of all the relevant committee reports.

Pending Legislation

THOMAS: Legislative Information on the Internet (U.S. Library of Congress)
Includes full text of bills as well as summary and current status; also includes calendars, voting records, committee hearings and reports, and other information on pending and recent legislation.
Congressional Record (THOMAS)
Official record of the proceedings of the U.S. Congress. Searchable by keyword or by name of congressman. Search can be limited to Senate or House section, extension of remarks section, or Daily Digest section. Can also be limited to a specific time period or session of Congress.

Historical Statutes

United States Statutes at Large
Call No. GS 4.111:1–97 [through 98th Congress, First Session (1983)]; AE2.111:98–  [98th Congress, Second Session (1984) to the present] — Located in Government Documents
The United States Statutes at Large, typically referred to as the Statutes at Large, is the permanent collection of all laws and resolutions enacted during each session of Congress. The Statutes at Large is prepared and published by the Office of the Federal Register (OFR), National Archives and Records Administration (NARA). Every public and private law passed by Congress is published in the Statutes at Large, in order of the date it was enacted into law.

United States Statutes at Large 1789–1875 (American Memory Collection — Library of Congress) is an online resource containing scanned copies of the Statutes at Large for the earlier years of Congress.

Public and Private Laws (GPO Access)
Public and private laws are prepared and published by the Office of the Federal Register (OFR), National Archives and Records Administration (NARA). GPO Access contains the text of public and private laws enacted from the 104th Congress to the present. The database for the current session of Congress is updated when the publication of a slip law is authorized by OFR. Documents are available as ASCII text and Adobe Portable Document Format (PDF) files. Beginning with the 110th Congress, GPO has digitally signed and certified the PDF files of public and private laws to assure users that the online documents are official and authentic. Browse by congress and public law number, or search by keyword.
United States Code Congressional and Administrative News (Thomson/West)
Call No. KF63 .U5 — Located on Third Floor of Willis Library
Public laws since 1946 (79th Congress, Second Session), arranged in the order they were passed, accompanied by a complete legislative history and reprints of all the relevant committee reports.
This page is maintained by Bobby Griffith last modified Tuesday, November 17, 2009. 09:45 AM
Info

The UNT Libraries will be closed Saturday, May 26 through Monday, May 28 for the Memorial Day weekend. The Libraries will reopen during regular building hours on Tuesday, May 29.

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Bobby Griffith

Contact Info

Willis Library, Room 326
Telephone: (940) 565-2869

Email me!

Website/Blog

Other pages by me


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook