Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Law Texas Law The Legislative Process in Texas
Document Actions

Law

The Legislative Process in Texas

Texas Legislature

Texas Legislature Online
The most comprehensive and current source of information on all aspects of legislation in Texas.
The Texas State Senate
Official Web site. Provides Texas access to information about the Texas Senate, its members and committees, the current Legislature, and the Lieutenant Governor's office.
The Texas House of Representatives
Official Web site. Provides information about the Texas House of Representatives, its members and committees, the current Legislature, the office of the Speaker of the House, and other general information about the state of Texas.

Texas Legislative Agencies

Legislative Reference Library
The Legislative Reference Library (LRL) performs research for Texas legislators, their staff, and legislative committees. The library also assists the public and other state agencies with legislative research.
Texas Legislative Council
The Texas Legislative Council is a state agency within the legislative branch that provides services for the senate and house of representatives that include drafting bills and other legislative documents, conducting legal, public policy, and statistical research, producing informational publications, and supporting a wide variety of operations with information technology services.
Legislative Budget Board
The Legislative Budget Board is a permanent joint committee of the Texas Legislature that develops recommendations for legislative appropriations for all agencies of state government.
House Research Organization
The House Research Organization is a nonpartisan source of impartial information on legislation and issues considered by the Texas Legislature. During legislative sessions, the HRO publishes the Daily Floor Report, which includes analyses of all legislation, except local and consent bills, scheduled for floor debate on the daily house calendar.
Senate Research Center
Provides quality, specialized, objective research and information to the Texas Senate and Office of the Lieutenant Governor.
State Auditor's Office
The Texas State Auditor's Office is the independent auditor for Texas State government and provides information about the operations of state agencies and universities to legislators, agency management, and the citizens of the State.
Sunset Advisory Commission
The Sunset Advisory Commission reviews the policies and programs of more than 150 state agencies and questions the need for each agency; looks for duplication of other public services or programs; and considers changes to improve each agency's operations and activities
State Preservation Board
The State Preservation Board was established in 1983 for the purpose of preserving, maintaining, and restoring the State Capitol and the General Land Office Building, and their contents and grounds for the benefit of the citizens of Texas.

The Legislative Process in Texas

Citizen Handbook: How the Texas Legislature Works
Includes information on the legislative process in Texas, advocacy etiquette and guidelines.
How A Bill Becomes Law
Summarizes key constitutional provisions and rules governing a bill's movement through the Legislature, with emphasis on House Rules.
House Committee Procedures
Reviews the rules and procedures used in the committees of the Texas House of Representatives.
About the Legislative Process in Texas
A detailed description of how a Texas bill becomes law. Also includes diagrams of the legislative process in the House and in the Senate, and information on the three types of resolutions and how they are used by the Legislature.
Reading Statutes and Bills
This guide from the Texas Legislative Council provides an overview of each part of a bill and its function.
Guide to Texas Legislative Information
The purpose of the GTLI website is to help legislators, other state officials and employees, and interested citizens in researching the work of past legislatures and in tracking the work of the current legislature. 

Legislative Process
describes the legislative process in Texas and includes information about processing a bill, the different types of resolutions, and diagrams of the legislative process.

Legislative Information
includes information about computer applications and websites; documents, publications, and recordings; legislative information service providers; and a locator table for quick access to legislative information.

Glossary
features an A-to-Z listing of legislative terms.
Legislative Glossary
Defines many words and phrases used to describe legislative activity.
How to Follow a Bill Using Texas Legislature Online
Outlines the basic steps involved in passing a bill into law at the state level and provides links to information available on the Texas Legislature Online Web site to aid in following each of these steps. See Dates of Interest for an overview of major deadlines and events scheduled during the current legislative session.
This page is maintained by Bobby Griffith last modified Thursday, March 01, 2012. 03:53 PM
Info

The UNT Libraries will be closed Saturday, May 26 through Monday, May 28 for the Memorial Day weekend. The Libraries will reopen during regular building hours on Tuesday, May 29.

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Bobby Griffith

Contact Info

Willis Library, Room 326
Telephone: (940) 565-2869

Email me!

Website/Blog

Other pages by me


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook