Law
General Resources
- Accounts Receivable Management and Debt Collections Resources (LexisNexis)
- Resources for debt collectors to stay up-to-date on industry news,
upcoming events, product innovations, and market trends. Includes Solutions for Debt Recovery.
- Attorneys.com (LexisNexis)
- When faced with a legal issue, many people don't know where to start. Evaluating and choosing a lawyer for your needs and learning about your legal issues can be overwhelming. It's not easy to find the information you need to make an informed decision, and the risks are very high—personally and financially. The attorneys.com service can help. This free professional service from LexisNexis Martindale-Hubbell is designed specifically to connect people with a legal need to the right bankruptcy attorneys, criminal defense attorneys, divorce and family law attorneys, DUI attorneys, personal injury attorneys, etc.
- Collections of FAQ and Questions and Answers from Attorneys at Law (LawGuru.com)
- Several hundred pre-written legal questions and answers in dozens of categories. The questions and answers were written by attorneys.
- Consumer Information (State Bar of Texas)
- Links to services, advice, and other legal information of interest to Texans.
- The Consumer Law Page (Alexander, Hawes & Audet, LLP)
- Practical legal information for individuals, injured workers, consumers and owners of small businesses who have suffered personal injuries, occupational cancer, property damage or financial losses caused by negligent misconduct, toxic chemicals, defective products, or fraud in the sale of products, services, stocks or bonds. Includes links to helpful articles (on personal injury and wrongful death claims), brochures, and other resources.
- Consumer Protection and Public Health Information (Texas Attorney General)
- The Attorney General protects consumers and the legitimate business community by filing civil lawsuits under the Deceptive Trade Practices Act and other consumer protection statutes. This page offers information about consumer issues and instructions on how to handle a complaint you have with a business.
- FreeAdvice.com (Advice Company)
- Free legal information written by attorneys and legal professionals for the public on a wide range of legal subject matter. Two of the most commonly used resources are the legal forum, with over 350,000 members, and FreeAdvice Answers, which allows the public to post legal questions anonymously and receive answers from attorneys for free.
- Journal of Texas Consumer Law (University of Houston Law Center)
- The official publication of the Consumer Law Section of the State Bar of Texas.
- Laypeople’s Law Lounge (’Lectric Law Library)
- Information for nonprofessionals on dealing with lawyers and the legal system. Includes articles on wills and estate planning, family law, starting a business, worker rights, and other miscellaneous consumer issues.
- Legal Information (LexisNexis)
-
This free service from LexisNexis Martindale-Hubbell is designed specifically for individuals and small businesses and provides profiles of lawyers and firms worldwide; information to help users better understand the law, make more informed personal legal choices, and identify high quality legal representation; tips on how to select an attorney, prepare for meeting an attorney, and work with an attorney; an interactive discussion community of individuals and lawyers covering hundreds of legal topics; and consumer-friendly explanations of major areas of law, articles on current legal topics, links to legal resources on the Web, a glossary of 10,000 legal terms, and more.
- LexisRisk (LexisNexis)
-
Comprehensive collection of intelligence and analytics that individuals need to protect and grow their future organizations. Find information on debt collections, accounts receivable management, background checks, insurance software, criminal background checks, knowledge based authentication, mortgage fraud, skip tracing, and police records. Here, visitors can learn more through free white papers and direct links to free resources throughout the LexisNexis community.
- National Association of Consumer Advocates (NACA)
- A nationwide organization of more than 1000 attorneys who represent and have represented hundreds of thousands of consumers victimized by fraudulent, abusive and predatory business practices.
- National Consumer Law Center (NCLC)
- The National Consumer Law Center is America’s consumer law expert, helping consumers, their advocates, and public policy makers to use powerful consumer laws to build financial security and assure marketplace justice for vulnerable individuals and families.
- Office of Consumer Credit Commissioner (OCCC)
- This agency regulates the credit industry and educates consumers and creditors. Agency efforts help produce a fair, lawful, and healthy credit environment for social and economic prosperity in Texas. Site includes consumer brochures; legal issues such as policy, statutes, and rules; and credit industry services.
- Online Legal Guides for the Layman (University of North Texas Libraries)
- Do-it-yourself manuals to help people handle their own everyday legal affairs or learn enough about them to work successfully with a lawyer. These guides are accessible only by members of the UNT community.
- The People's Lawyer (Prof. Richard Alderman)
- Common questions and answers about Texas law.
- Research Legal Information (LexisNexis)
- Access legal articles, law message boards, and other legal research resources for many personal and business law topics.