Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Law Reference Tools Directories
Document Actions

Law

Directories

General Legal Directories

The main sources of contact information for persons and entitities associated with the practice of law.
Law Firm & Attorney Directory from Martindale-Hubbell® (LexisNexis)
Worldwide database of lawyers and law firms searchable by name, law school attended, law firm, or location. Can also be browsed by practice area or geographic location. The Martindale-Hubbell® Law Directory is also available to members of the UNT community through LexisNexis® Academic (select “Sources,” then enter “Martindale-Hubbell” in the “Find a Source” box.
LawInfo.com
Includes directories of attorneys, expert witnesses, bar associations, and law-related businesses.
Leadership Library (Leadership Directories, Inc.)
Available to members of the UNT community. Provides integrated online access to all fourteen Leadership Directories (Yellow Books), each covering a specific sector of the business, government, professional, and non-profit worlds: 
   Congressional Yellow Book
   Federal
Yellow Book
   State
Yellow Book
   Municipal
Yellow Book 
   Federal Regional
Yellow Book 
   Judicial
Yellow Book
   Corporate
Yellow Book 
   Financial
Yellow Book 
   News Media
Yellow Book 
   Associations
Yellow Book 
   Law Firms
Yellow Book
   Government Affairs
Yellow Book 
   Foreign
Yellow Book
   Representatives
Yellow Book 
   Nonprofit Sector
Yellow Book

Associations

Organizations that promote various aspects of the practice of law.
American Association of Law Libraries (AALL)
Nonprofit corporation set up to promote and enhance the value of law libraries to the public, the legal community and the world, to foster the profession of law librarianship, to provide leadership in the field of legal information, and to foster a spirit of cooperation among the members of the profession.
American Bar Association (ABA)
The national organization of the legal profession, composed principally of practicing lawyers, judges, court administrators, law teachers, public service attorneys, and many non-practicing lawyers who are business executives, government officials, and so forth.
American Board of Trial Advocates (ABOTA)
The preservation of the civil jury trial, “Justice by the People,” is the primary purpose of the American Board of Trial Advocates (ABOTA). They seek attorneys who display skill, civility and integrity, to help younger attorneys achieve a higher level of trial advocacy and to educate the public about the vital importance of the Seventh Amendment.
Association of American Law Schools (AALS)
A non-profit association of 162 law schools, the purpose of which is “the improvement of the legal profession through legal education.” It serves as the learned society for law teachers and is legal education's principal representative to the federal government and to other national higher education organizations and learned societies. 
Center for Computer-Assisted Legal Instruction (CALI)
Develops computer-based exercises for use in law school curriculum and provides a computer network for sharing these exercises.
National Federation of Paralegal Associations (NFPA)
Professional organization of state and local paralegal associations representing over 17,000 North American paralegals.
Native American Bar Association (NABA) unavailable on June 22, 2006
National association for Native American attorneys, judges, law professors, and law students. Founded in 1973 as the American Indian Lawyers Association, NABA works to promote issues important to the Native American community and works to improve professional opportunities for Native American lawyers. 
State Bar of Texas (SBOT)
The State Bar of Texas is an administrative agency of the judicial branch in Texas. Every licensed attorney is a member of the State Bar, which provides a wide array of services to its members and the public. 
Texas Young Lawyers Association (TYLA)
As the public service arm of the State Bar, the TYLA and its volunteers create award-winning projects that benefit the public. You don't need to be a young lawyer to participate.

Law Schools and Law Libraries

Directories and other information about law schools, law libraries, and schools with pre-law programs or paralegal training programs.

Thinking about law school? The FindLaw for Law Students Web site has a variety of resources for prospective and current law students, including pre-law, law school, and paralegal training information; study tips, outlines, and exams; and online courses.
ABA-Approved Law Schools (American Bar Association)
Directory of American law schools browsable by name of school, by state, by location, or by year approved.
How to Become a Paralegal (Shelby Crockett)
Resources for anyone interested in beginning a paralegal program. Lists schools, colleges, and courses available on campus or online; describes courses you will need to take; and provides a guide to jobs and salaries you can expect after graduation.
Law School Information (FindLaw)
Links to law school homepages, information about law schools, and information about paralegal training programs.
Law School (Hieros Gamos)
Listings of law schools, other information about law schools, and pre-law information.

Law Firms and Lawyers

Directories of law firms and lawyers, and information on finding and hiring a lawyer.

Have a legal question? Ask a Legal Question and have it answered by a real attorney free of charge. You can also Search a Question and Answer Database of legal questions other people have asked. Search by state or country and legal practice area. (Service provided by LawGuru.com)

Thinking about hiring a lawyer? Lawyers.com provides a lawyer locator, information on hiring a lawyer, and other information to help nonprofessionals find a lawyer, learn about the law, and understand their legal options. Their Ask a Lawyer service allows you to ask a specific question or browse a list of already answered questions. 

The Attorneys Forum provides free legal advice and support from professional attorneys, lawyers, and law firms nationwide. Browse extensive legal forums covering just about every legal topic you can think of, or post your own questions and get free answers from qualified legal representatives in your area.

The UNT Libraries Legal Assistance page provides information on getting legal assistance if you belong to a special population such as low income persons, immigrants, women, or union members.

Attorney Locate
Free search engine allows you to search for an attorney based on location and practice area. Many of the attorneys listed have provided full web sites or a detailed profile describing their education, experience, and other information. 
Attorneys from Attorneys.com (LexisNexis Martindale-Hubbell)
This free professional service is designed specifically to connect people with a legal need to the right attorney, whether it be a car accident attorney , a motorcycle accident attorney, or a DWI attorney. See the legal help center to find a local attorney for different areas of law.
Find a Lawyer (FindLaw/West Legal Directory)
Profiles of more than 1,000,000 lawyers and law firms, in addition to profiles of international counsel, corporate counsel, and US government attorneys. Searchable by name, practice area, or location.
Find an Attorney (LawInfo.com)
Select a practice area and a ZIP Code or city in the United States. Also includes an international search.
How to Select a Lawyer (State Bar of Texas)
Advice on how to locate, choose, and deal with a lawyer in Texas.
If You Can’t Afford a Lawyer (State Bar of Texas)
Information on obtaining a lawyer for middle- or low-income persons. 
Law Firms Yellow Book (Leadership Directories, Inc.)
Available to members of the UNT community
Select “Law Firms” from Yellow Book drop down menu
Contact information and brief profiles of law firms. Browse alphabetical list or search by keyword. Expanded search capabilities allow you to create targeted lists of individuals and organizations, and to export these lists to word processing, spreadsheet, and contact management programs.
Lawyer Locator (LexisNexis)

LawyerLocator.com is part of LexisNexis® Martindale-Hubbell®, which has been helping people connect to lawyers since 1868. Lawyer Locator is one of the most trusted sources of information in and about the legal profession. Whether you need a DUI attorney, personal injury attorney, auto accident lawyer, or a medical malpractice lawyer, LawyerLocator.com takes the guesswork out of finding a lawyer. 

Lawyer Referral Information Service (State Bar of Texas)
Helps find lawyers for persons in Texas counties where there is no local lawyer referral service. Participating lawyers have indicated in which area(s) of law they can help clients, and in which counties. 
Lawyers.com
Lawyer locator, information on hiring a lawyer, and other information to help nonprofessionals find a lawyer, learn about the law, and understand their legal options. 
Martindale-Hubbell Lawyer Locator (LexisNexis)
Worldwide database searchable by name, law school, law firm, or location. 

The Martindale-Hubbell® Law Directory is also available to members of the UNT community through LexisNexis® Academic (select “Legal Research; then, under “Career Information," select “Martindale-Hubbell Law Directory Listings.”
Mistakes to Avoid Before You Hire a Lawyer (The Consumer Law Page)
Tips on how to locate a lawyer who has the knowledge and experience to handle your case. Also includes advice on how to communicate your needs to your lawyer and how to negotiate fees.
Texas State Bar Member Search (State Bar of Texas)
Locate an attorney in Texas. You can search by Barcard, first or last name, firm name, or former name.

Legal Consultants and Expert Witnesses

Directories of professionals who provide specialized technical opinions or legal support services.
JurisPro Expert Witness Directory (JurisPro)
Built by practicing attorneys, JurisPro is a free online national directory of expert witnesses in thousands of categories. Come to JurisPro to see the expert’s photo, hear the expert speak through streaming audio, download their full CV, access their Web site, contact their references, read their articles, learn their background as a witness (number of times testified, percent for the plaintiff or defense, etc.), and contact the expert directly.
Expert Witness Directory (ExpertPages.com)
Extensive list of expert witnesses and consultants, searchable by subject, keyword, or state.
Internet Online Directory (Claims Providers of America)
Continuously updated online version of The National Directory of Expert Witnesses. Searchable by keyword, subject, or name.
Expert Witness Directory (ExpertLaw.com)
Links to expert witnesses and litigation support services, searchable by legal practice area or by state.
Expert Witnesses, Private Investigators, and Legal Consultants (WashLaw)
List of links to expert witnesses and legal consultants.

 

Related content
This page is maintained by Bobby Griffith last modified Thursday, June 23, 2011. 03:25 PM
Info

The UNT Libraries will be closed Saturday, May 26 through Monday, May 28 for the Memorial Day weekend. The Libraries will reopen during regular building hours on Tuesday, May 29.

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Bobby Griffith

Contact Info

Willis Library, Room 326
Telephone: (940) 565-2869

Email me!

Website/Blog

Other pages by me


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook