Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides International Studies Articles Top Statistical Resources
Document Actions

International Studies

Top Statistical Resources

Statistical resources, databases, and data sets

Central Intelligence Agency (C.I.A.), World Fact Book - https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/

"Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities."


Facts on International Relations and Security Trends (FIRST) - http://first.sipri.org/

"The FIRST system offers researchers, politicians and the media an authoritative and structured factual reference system on international relations and security trends."

 

General Social Survey (GSS)http://www.norc.org/GSS+Website/

"The GSS contains a standard core of demographic, behavioral, and attitudinal questions, plus topics of special interest, tracking the opinions of Americans over the last four decades."

 

Harvard-M.I.T. Data Center - http://www.hmdc.harvard.edu/

"HMDC is the principal distributor of quantitative social science data for Harvard and MIT."

 

Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) - http://www.icpsr.umich.edu/

"ICPSR is an active partner in social science research and instruction throughout the world."

 

NationMaster.com - http://www.nationmaster.com

"NationMaster is a vast compilation of data from such sources as the CIA World Factbook, UN, and OECD."

 

Socioeconomic Data and Applications Center (SEDAC)http://sedac.ciesin.org/

"To develop and operate applications that support the integration of socioeconomic and earth science data."

 

U.N. Statistics Division - http://unstats.un.org/

"The Statistics Division's main functions are the collection, processing and dissemination of statistical information; the standardization of statistical methods, classifications and definitions; the technical cooperation programme; and the coordination of international statistical programmes and activities."

 

U.S. Department of Commerce, Bureau of Economic Analysis (International Economic Accounts) - http://www.bea.gov/international/index.htm#bop

"The international transactions accounts provide information on trade in goods and services including the balance of payments and the balance of trade, investment income, and government and private financial flows."

 

U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics (International) - http://www.bls.gov/bls/international.htm

"The Bureau of Labor Statistics produces many different types of international data and provides technical assistance to improve data quality and build capacity in the statistical offices of other countries and international agencies."

 

U.S. Census Bureau International Database - http://www.census.gov/ipc/www/idb/

Official U.S. Census Bureau International Database (IDB) featuring worldwide statistical data, rankings, and information.

 

U.S. Census Bureau International Statistical Agencies (Listing) - http://www.census.gov/aboutus/stat_int.html

This is a listing of international agencies collecting and reporting country statistics across the world.

 

World Bank Country Data - http://www.worldbank.org/data/

"To provide high quality national and international statistics to clients within and outside the Bank and to improve the capacity of member countries to produce and use statistical information."

 

World Resources Institute, EarthTrends - http://earthtrends.wri.org/

"EarthTrends is a comprehensive online database that focuses on the environmental, social, and economic trends that shape our world."

This page is maintained by General Reference last modified Friday, August 05, 2011. 12:49 PM
Info

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook