Style Identification
Architectural Styles
Architectural Styles: Databases
History of Costume
While this database contains visual images of clothing and hair
styles from Ancient Egypt to 1992, the images often include depictions
of architecture and furnishings in the background. Choose "browse this
collection" to look by stylistic period.
*If accessing off campus you will be asked for a username (EUID), and password (EUID password).
Architectural Styles: Books
*Located in General Reference, 1st floor, Willis Library (unless otherwise noted).
Architecture and Ornament: A Visual GuideNA31 .W44 1990
Concise Encyclopedia of Interior DesignNK1165 .D58 1988
The Elements of style: A Practical Encyclopedia of Interior Architectural Details, from 1485 to the PresentNA2850 .E44 1991
Decoration Defined: A Dictionary of Decoration and DesignN33 .W5 1970
Federal Style Patterns 1780-1820 NA2850 .S63 2005(Willis Library, 3rd floor)
Early Georgian InteriorsNK2043.A1 C67 2000 (Willis Library, 3rd floor)
Western Architecture: from Ancient Greece to the PresentNA200 .S88 1999
Twentieth-Century Style and Design NA680 .B346 1986(Willis Library, 3rd floor)
The Art Deco Style in Household Objects, Architecture, Sculpture, Graphics, JewelryN6494.A7 M44 (Willis Library, 3rd floor)
Greek Architecture NA270 .L36 1996(Willis Library, 3rd floor)
Etruscan and Roman ArchitectureNA295 .B6 (Willis Library, 3rd floor)
Principles of Roman ArchitectureNA310 .W55 2000, (Willis Library, 3rd floor)
Medieval ArchitectureNA350 .C65 2002, (Willis Library, 3rd floor)
Formal Design in Renaissance Architecture: from Brunelleschi to PalladioNA1115 .F87 1995, (Willis Library, 3rd floor)
Icons of Renaissance ArchitectureNA510 .M37 2003 (Willis Library, 3rd floor)
The Triumph of the Baroque: Architecture in Europe, 1600-1750NA590 .T75 1999, (Willis Library, 3rd floor)
The Architecture of the Classical InteriorNA2850 .S45 2004, (Willis Library , 3rd floor)
Classical Architecture: an Introduction to Its VocabularyNA260 .C87 1992, (Willis Library, 3rd floor)
Classical Architecture in Renaissance Europe, 1419-1585NA510 .M55 1987, (Willis Library, 3rd floor)
English Neo-Classical ArchitectureNA966.5.N4 S75 1988 vols. 1-2, (Willis Library, 3rd floor)
The Language of Post-Modern ArchitectureNA680 .J457, (Willis Library, 3rd floor)
Architectural Styles: Internet
ArtServe
(Australian National University) A collection of over 16,000 images including prints spanning the 15th to 19th Centuries as well as architecture and sculpture from the Mediterranean Basin.
DMOZ Open Directory Project-Architecture
Furniture Styles
Furniture Styles: Databases
History of Costume
While
this database contains visual images of clothing and hair styles from
Ancient Egypt to 1992, the images often include depictions of
architecture and furnishings in the background. Choose "browse this
collection" to look by stylistic period.
*If accessing off campus you will be asked for a username (EUID), and password (EUID password).
Furniture Styles: Books
*Located in General Reference, 1st floor, Willis Library (unless otherwise noted).
The Complete Guide to Furniture Styles NK2270 .B63 1997
Dictionary of Furniture NK2205 .D5 2000
Sotheby's Concise Encyclopedia of Furniture NK2235 .S68 1989
Furniture & Furnishings: a Visual Guide NK2230 .W48 1990
The Encyclopedia of Furniture NK2205 .A7 1965
A Short Dictionary of Furniture NK2205 .G55 1977
History of Interior Design and Furniture: from Ancient Egypt to Nineteenth-Century Europe NK1710 .B57 1997 (Willis Library, 3rd floor)
The
Encyclopedia of Furniture, an outline history of furniture design in
Egypt, Assyria, Persia, Greece, Rome, Italy, France, the Netherlands,
Germany, England, Scandinavia, Spain, Russia, and in the Near and Far
East up to the Middle of the Nineteenth Century NK2270 .S3 (Willis Library, 3rd floor)
Ancient Furniture; a History of Greek, Etruscan and Roman Furniture NK2280 .R5 (Willis Library, 3rd floor)
Furniture of Classical Greece NK2305 .R6 (Willis Library, 3rd floor)
French Furniture in the Middle Ages and Under Louis XIII 749 F334 (Willis Library, 3rd floor)
The Shorter Dictionary of English Furniture; from the Middle Ages to the Late Georgian Period NK2529 .M32 1954 (Willis Library, 3rd floor)
Furniture and Interior Decoration of the Italian Renaissance NK2052 .S3 (Willis Library, 3rd floor)
Antique Furniture: Baroque, Rococo, Neoclassical NK2350 .S76 1982 (Willis Library, 3rd floor)
Chinese Classical Furniture NK2668 .W8 1995 (Willis Library, 3rd floor)
Western Furniture: 1350 to the Present Day in the Victoria and Albert Museum NK2260 .V53 1996
The Dictionary of English Furniture, from the Middle Ages to the Late Georgian Period NK2529 .M32 1954, vols. 1-3
A History of English Furniture NK2529 .M3232 1972 vols. 1-4
Collector's Encyclopedia of American Furniture NK2405 .S894 1998
Contemporary Furniture: an International Review of Modern Furniture, 1950 to the present NK2395 .C67 (Willis Library, 3rd floor)
Furniture by Architects: Contemporary Chairs, Tables and Lamps NK2395 .F87 1981 (Willis Library, 3rd floor)
Identifying American Furniture: a Pictorial Guide to Styles and Terms, Colonial to Contemporary NK2405 .N28 (Willis, 3rd floor)
Art Deco Furniture: the French Designers NK2549 .D86 1984 (Willis Library, 3rd floor)
Sourcebook of Modern Furniture NK2395 .H34 1996 (Willis Library, 3rd floor)
Encyclopedia of Furniture Materials, Trades, and Techniques NK2205 .E34 2000
The Complete Book of Shaker Furniture NK2407 .R54 1993
Collector's Encyclopedia of American Furniture NK2405 .S894 1991
American Furniture & the British Tradition to 1830 NK2406 .K55 1982
American Painted Furniture 1660-1880 NK2406 .F3 1972