Books
Find Books on Interior Designers and Architects
How to Find Books on Interior Designers, Architects, Interior Design and Architecture in the UNT Libraries
To find books on architecture and design owned by UNT, search the UNT Online Catalog. Choose Keyword and type your keywords in the search box.
*Examples of a Keyword Search (Boolean): "space planning," interior design and lighting, postmodern and architecture. Subject search examples include: interior decoration, interior architecture, architectural design, architectural drawing, architecture and Gehry, Frank.
A sampling of books available at the UNT Libraries is included under each topic listed below.
Architects and Interior Designers: Biographical Source Books
*These books are located in General Reference, 1st floor, Willis Library (unless otherwise noted).
International Dictionary of Architects and ArchitectureNA40 .I48 1993 2 vols.
American Architects from the Civil War to the First World WarZ5944 .U5 W63
American Architects from the First World War To The PresentZ5944 .U5 W635
Biographical Dictionary of American ArchitectsNA36 .W5 1970
Contemporary ArchitectsNA680 .C625 and NA680 .C625 1987
MacMillan Encyclopedia of ArchitectsNA40 .M25 1982
Makers of 20th-Century Modern ArchitectureNA680 .J628 1997
Who's Who in Architecture: from 1400 to the PresentNA40 .W48
Contemporary DesignersNK116 .C66 1984a and NK1166 .C66 1990
Designers International Index(General Reference, 1st Floor, Willis Library)
International Women in DesignNK1154 .I58 1993
Who's Who in Interior DesignNK2004.2 .W46
American Furniture Craftsmen Working Prior to 1920Z5995.3 U6 S45 1984
How to Find Books available at other Universities
World CatalogUse the World Catalog to out what books have been published on your topic that are not owned by the UNT Libraries. The World Catalog contains more than 35 million records describing items owned by libraries around the world. Books not owned by the UNT Libraries may be requested to be borrowed through our borrowing program Inter-Library Loan.
Interior Designers and Architects-Biographical Sources: Internet
American Institute of Architects
Texas Society of Architects
American Society of Landscape Architects
American Society of Interior Designers
Texas Chapter of American Society of Interior Designers
Yahoo!: Arts: Design Arts
An excellent source to locate information on architects and designers.
Interior Design and Architecture Books
Interior Design and Architecture Books
Located in General Reference, 1st floor, Willis Library (unless otherwise noted).
Encyclopedia of 20th-Century ArchitectureNA680 .J628 1997
Interior Design of the United States of AmericaNK1705 .I58 1991
Dictionary of Building PreservationNA31. D55 1996
Dictionary of Architecture and ConstructionNA31 .H32 1993
The Design EncyclopediaNK1370 .B93 1994
Encyclopedia of American ArchitectureNA705 .H86
Encyclopedia of Architecture: Design, Engineering, and ConstructionNA31 .E59 1988
Encyclopedia of Interior DesignNK1165 .E48 1997 2 vols.
Landmarks of Twentieth-Century DesignNK1370 .H44 1994
Resort Design: Planning, Architecture, and InteriorsNA7820 .H84 2000, (Willis Library, 3rd floor)
Architectural Detailing in Residential InteriorsNA2718 .S7 1990, (Willis Library, 3rd floor)
Interior Design Standards
Interior Design Standards: Books
*Located in General Reference, 1st floor, Willis Library.
Interior Graphic & Design Standards NA2708. R49 1986
Time-Saver Standards for Interior Design and Space Planning NK2110 .T48 2001
Color Theory Books
Color Theory for Interiors: Books
*Located in General Reference, 1st floor, Willis Library (unless otherwise noted).
The Power of Color: Creating Healthy Interior SpacesNK2195.P8 M37 1995 (Willis Library, 3rd floor)
Color in Interior Design
NK2115.5.C6 P46 1997 (Willis Library, 3rd floor)
Color for Interior Architecture
QC495 .M47 1997 (Eagle Commons Library)
Interior Color by Design: a Design Tool for Architects, Interior Designers, and
Facility Managers
NK2115.5.C6 R34 1995, (Willis Library, 3rd floor)
Interior Color by Design: a Design Tool for Architects, Interior Designers, and
Homeowners
NK2110 .P667 1994 (Willis Library, 3rd floor)
Color in Interior Design and Architecture NK2115.5.C6 L34 1989 (Willis Library, 3rd floor)