Human Resources Management
HR Governmental Resources
-
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) Business Connection page
The ADA is a Federal civil rights law that prohibits discrimination against people with disabilities in everyday activities. To meet the goals of the ADA, the law established requirements for businesses of all sizes. These requirements went into effect on January 26, 1992. -
Career Guide to Industries (BLS Bureau of Labor Statistics)
This is a companion to the Occupational Outlook Handbook. For dozens of industries, this resource provides occupations in the industry; training and advancement; earnings; expected job prospects; working conditions, and links to information about the job market in each state and more. -
CareerOneStop (sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor)
A one-stop source for employment information, furnishing the tools to help job seekers, students, businesses, and career professionals. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor. Contents: Explore Careers; Salary and Benefits; Education and Training; Job Search (including job banks); Resumes and Interviews; People and Places; Browse Occupations. -
Government Job Sites (from CareerOneStop, sponsored by the U.S. Department of Labor)
This site includes DoD Military Transportal; HireVetsFirst; Key To Career Success; MilSpouse.Org; TurboTap; USAJobs; VetSuccess. Be sure to click "GOVERNMENT JOB SITES" at the left side of the screen. -
Job Seekers & Employees (Texas Workforce Commission)
Contents: Search for Jobs, Tips on Work Search, Interviews, and Resumes, Career Planning and Trends, training Providers and Programs, Job Trends, Wages, and Other Job Market Data, Employee Rights and Laws, Civil Rights and Discrimination, Employment Statistics. -
Leadership Library (Leadership Directories, Inc.) [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
Coverage: 14 Leadership Directories. The Leadership Library provides directory information for individuals in federal, state, and local government, corporations, financial institutions, nonprofit organizations, the news media, law firms, trade associations, interest groups, and more. Search or browse by name, job title, organization name, industry, alma mater, etc. -
Occupational Information Network 0*NET
O*NET is a comprehensive database of the U.S. Employment and Training Administration that identifies and describes occupations, worker skills, knowledge, abilities, and workplace requirements. -
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Powered by the Bureau of Labor Statistics, this site provides the employment outlook for more than 250 occupations. Topics included for each occupation are: nature of the work; working conditions; employment, training, other qualifications, and advancement; job outlook; and earnings. -
Office of Federal Contract Compliance Programs (OFCCP, U.S. Department of Labor)
This is part of the U.S. Department of Labor's Employment Standards Administration. OFCCP is responsible for ensuring that employers doing business with the Federal government comply with the laws and regulations requiring nondiscrimination and affirmative action in employment. -
Office of Occupational Statistics and Employment Projections (BLS Bureau of Labor Statistics)
This office develops information about the labor market for the Nation as a whole for 10 years in the future. Contents: Career Outlook Information; News Releases; Publications and Other Documentation; Detailed Employment Projections Statistics. -
Salary Information from the Bureau of Labor Statistics (bls.gov)
These BLS sites include:
- Current Employment Statistics: average hourly earnings for production workers by state and metropolitan area
- Employee Benefits Survey: employee benefits in private, small, medium, and large companies
- Employer Costs for Employee Compensation: Average cost of wages per hour for major occupational and industry group. Available on a national level.
- National Compensation Survey: wages for specific levels of work for 450 occupations on an hourly and annual basis available on national, state and metropolitan level.
- Occupational Employment Statistics: average earnings of employees on an hourly and annual basis for 750 occupations available by state and metropolitan areas.
- Wages by Area and Occupation: search BLS data by area or by occupation.
- State of Texas State Classification Office (HR)
This office is a unique team that is responsible for maintaining the State’s Compensation and Classification System and providing information on employee compensation issues to the Legislature. - Texas Workforce Commission
The TWC is the state government agency charged with overseeing and providing workforce development services to employers and job seekers of Texas. - Texas Department of Insurance / Worker's Comp
Texas law requires most insurers and insurance-related businesses to be licensed before selling their products or services. TDI licenses insurance companies, agents, third-party administrators, health maintenance organizations (HMOs), premium finance companies, continuing care retirement communities, insurance adjusters, and public insurance adjusters doing business in Texas. - Tools for America's Job Seekers Challenge (United States Department of Labor)
This site rates online career centers by topic (wages, unemployment insurance, health plans), by audience, by location, and furnishes employment laws and regulations. - United States Equal Employment Opportunity Commission
This agency enforces the federal employment discrimination laws including the EEOC enforcement litigation under Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 (Title VII), the Equal Pay Act (EPA), the Age Discrimination in Employment Act (ADEA), and the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA). - U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services
USCIS is responsible for the administration of immigration and naturalization adjudication functions and establishing immigration services policies and priorities. - U.S. Department of Labor / Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA)
OSHA aims to ensure employee safety and health in the United States by working with employers and employees to create better working environments. - U.S. Office of Personnel Management (OPM)
OPM Includes federal jobs listings, upcoming events, numerous humans resources reports, news releases and additional official information. Includes USAJOBS, Salaries and Wages, Health Insurance, Retirement Benefits, Forms, Publications, Veterans' Information. - WorkInTexas.com (Texas Workforce Commission)
Contents of WorkInTexas.com: log on as a Texas job seeker; register as job seeker; find state jobs; search jobs; access career tools (with links to other popular and helpful job and career websites).
Need Help?
The UNT Libraries Government Documents staff is happy to answer your questions! Visit us on the 3rd Floor of Willis Library Government Documents Department, or call us at (940) 565-2870, or email us!