Books
Dictionaries
Here are a list of recommended dictionaries you can use in the subject area of business. Some of these are available in print, electronically, or available through the Internet.
- Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Business Ethics HF5387.B55 [location: General Reference shelves and UNT Dallas
Library; also accessible as an ebook through eBooks on Ebscohost] - Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of International Management HD30.15.B456 [location: General Reference shelves and UNT Dallas Library; also accessible as an ebook through eBooks on Ebscohost]
- Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Managerial Economics HD30.22.B55 [location: General Reference shelves and UNT Dallas Library; also accessible as an ebook through eBooks on Ebscohost]
- Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Organizational Behavior HD58.7.B57 [location: General Reference shelves and UNT Dallas Library; also accessible as an ebook through eBooks on Ebscohost]
- Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Strategic Management HD30.28.B59 [location: General Reference shelves and UNT Dallas Library; also accessible as an ebook through eBooks on Ebscohost]
- For different practices or publishers such as marketing or Palgrave, consider using keyword search terms such as Accounting -- Dictionaries or New Palgrave Dictionaries to find more reference sources available to you.
Online Dictionaries
-
Business Dictionaries [Libraryspot.com] - This site provides glossaries of business, finance, investment, and economics.
-
Business Dictionaries and Encyclopedias [Answers.com]This site provides dictionaries and encyclopedias for Accounting, Banking, Business, Economics, Finance, Investment, Insurance, Marketing, Real Estate, Small Business.
-
Credo Reference [UNT Libraries' subscription]
Contains thousands of reference ebooks, including dictionaries and encyclopedias on a wide variety of topics. A great starting point for reference, supplying basic definitions and articles. -
New York Stock Exchange glossary of financial terms - Click GLOSSARY on the home page. A second window will open up. The financial glossary furnishes brief definitions.
-
Nolo.com [Everybody's Legal Dictionary] - This site furnishes definitions for over 1,000 legal terms. It also provides a legal encyclopedia with plain English articles about the most popular legal topics.
-
One Look Dictionaries: the faster finder - This site searches for words in over 600 web dictionaries.
-
Referenceforbusiness.com - Contents: Encyclopedia of Small Business, Encyclopedia of Business, Business Biographies, Business Plans, Encyclopedia of American Industries, Encyclopedia of Management, Company Histories, Leading American Businesses.
- Webopedia (internet.com) - Provides computer and Internet technology definitions.
Need Help?
The UNT Libraries Government Documents staff is happy to answer your questions! Visit us on the 3rd Floor of Willis Library Government Documents Department, or call us at (940) 565-2870, or email us!
Encyclopedias
Business Dictionaries, Encyclopedias, and Handbooks in the UNT Libraries--a selected list
- AMA Style Guide for Business Writing [accessible as an ebook through eBooks on Ebscohost]
- Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Business Ethics [accessible as an ebook through eBooks on Ebscohost]
- Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of International Management [accessible as an ebook through eBooks on Ebscohost]
- Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Managerial Economics [accessible as an ebook through eBooks on Ebscohost]
- Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Organizational Behavior [accessible as an ebook through eBooks on Ebscohost]
- Blackwell Encyclopedic Dictionary of Strategic Management [accessible as an ebook through eBooks on Ebscohost]
- Business & Company Resource Center [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
Contains the latest information drawn from the following databases:
American Wholesalers and Distributors Directory
Brands and Their Companies
Business Rankings Annual, 2000 through Present
Consultants and Consulting Organizations Directory
Encyclopedia of American Industries
Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S.
Encyclopedia of Associations: Regional, State, and Local Organizations
Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations
Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries
Encyclopedia of Global Industries
Graham and Whiteside Major Company Series
International Directory of Company Histories
Market Share Reporter
Notable Corporate Chronologies
Publishers Directory
Telecommunications Directory
Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies
Ward's Business Directory of Private and Public Companies in Canada and Mexico
World Market Share Reporter
Online Encyclopedias:
- Business Dictionaries and Encyclopedias (Answers.com) - This site provides dictionaries and encyclopedias for Accounting, Banking, Business, Economics, Finance, Investment, Insurance, Marketing, Real Estate, and Small Business.
- Credo Reference [UNT Libraries' subscription]
Contains thousands of reference ebooks, including dictionaries and encyclopedias on a wide variety of topics. A great starting point for reference, supplying basic definitions and articles. - Nolo.com [Everybody's Legal Dictionary] This site furnishes definitions for over 1,000 legal terms. It also provides a legal encyclopedia with plain English articles about the most popular legal topics.
- New York Stock Exchange glossary of financial terms
Click GLOSSARY on the home page. A second window will open up. The financial glossary furnishes brief definitions. - Referenceforbusiness.com - Contents: Encyclopedia of Small Business, Encyclopedia of Business, Business Biographies, Business Plans, Encyclopedia of American Industries, Encyclopedia of Management, Company Histories, Leading American Businesses.
- Webopedia (internet.com)
Provides computer and Internet technology definitions.
Need Help?
The UNT Libraries Government Documents staff is happy to answer your questions! Visit us on the 3rd Floor of Willis Library Government Documents Department, or call us at (940) 565-2870, or email us!
Guides and Handbooks
- AMA handbook of business letters
Available online through eBooks on EBSCOhost. - Business information handbook
Available online through Gale's Virtual Reference Library. - Business Writer's Handbook
HF5718.3 .A46 Location: Willis Library, 3rd floor, Business Reference. - Complete handbook of business meetings
Available online through eBooks on EBSCOhost. - Craighead's international business, travel, and relocation guide to ... countries
HF5549.5.E56 Location: Willis Library, 3rd floor Business Reference.
Covers up to 90 countries.
Country Orientation section contains geography, history, and climate. Relocation section includes passport and visa requirements, banking, currency, paying bills, educational and school system information, medical care and insurance, transportation, and restaurants. Business Practices section covers business clothes, business appointments, pace of business, work ethic, business negotiations. - Handbook for Memo Writing
Available online through eBooks on EBSCOhost. - Handbook for Technical Writing
Available online through NetLibrary. - Kiss, bow, or shake hands
Willis Library, 1st Floor, RESERVE DESK HF5389 .M67
This is the bestselling guide to doing business in more than 60 countries. - McGraw-Hill handbook of more business letters
Available online through eBooks on EBSCOhost.
Need Help?
The UNT Libraries Government Documents staff is happy to answer your questions! Visit us on the 3rd Floor of Willis Library Government Documents Department, or call us at (940) 565-2870, or email us!
eBooks on Ebscohost
Look for business books in eBooks on Ebscohost.
- You can access eBooks on Ebscohost 24 hours a days, seven days a week.
- eBooks on Ebscohost can be accessed as follows:
- From the UNT Libraries' Catalog.
- From the Electronic Resources menu:
Click on the letter "e" from the alpha bar and scroll down to eBooks on Ebscohost. You will need your EUID and password when you are off campus.
Personnel Mgmt books
Books on Personnel Management and related topics in the UNT Libraries
Wide topic coverage. Includes affirmative action programs, alcoholism, applications for positions, career development, compensation management, diversity in the workplace, employee assistance programs, employee morale, employee retention, grievance procedures, labor turnover, job analysis.
Click this link for a list of topics and books on the subject of personnel management located in the UNT Libraries' Online Catalog.