Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Document Actions

Articles

Online Articles - summary list

  • APA Style: The OWL site at Purdue University has prepared a basic guide to citing with the current APA style.

  • ABI Inform  [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
    Offers full text cover-to-cover journal coverage for journals in the business and management areas. Coverage is 1971 to present. NOTE: If you are unable to view results beyond the first page, Click on Tools-Internet Options--Delete Files. Click Settings to be sure "Automatically"" is checked.

  • Business Source Complete  [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
    Search by company name or industry for articles. Or, choose the Company Profiles, SWOT Analysis or Industry Profiles links on the left to view Datamonitor reports. For best remote access, use Internet Explorer or FireFox.

  • Emerald Fulltext  [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
    Emerald publishes the world's widest range of management and library & information services journals. Includes over 100 leading management titles.

  • Human Resources Abstracts [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
    Provides summaries of journal articles, book chapters, and papers covering human resource topics. Coverage is 1999-2008.

  • InfoTrac Custom Newspapers [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
    Provides full text access to 124 regional and national U.S. newspapers as well as international newspapers.  A GaleGroup database available through TexShare. Start dates vary, with some coverage going back to January 1996.

  • LexisNexis Academic  [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
    Start here when looking for Supreme Court decisions and Texas Cases. Also includes News, Business, and Legal Research sections. Business information includes financial statements, accounting, taxation, industries, international business, information systems. Legal Research includes law reviews, case law, codes, and statutes for all U.S. courts and all 50 states.

  • Predicast's PROMT  [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
    PROMT -- Predicast Overview of Markets and Technology. Use this database to research companies, the products and technologies they produce, and the markets in which they compete.

  • Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
    Provides full text coverage of 470 journals in the areas of psychology, and psychiatry.  An EBSCOhost database by way of TexShare.

  • PsycInfo via Ebscohost [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
    Provides abstracts and full text for journal articles, books, chapters of books, technical reports, and dissertations representing psychology, psychiatry, and related disciplines.  Ten percent of the journals cover business and business law.  Coverage is 1872 to current, with some coverage starting in 1987).

  • Regional Business News  [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
    This EBSCOhost database includes abstracts for 67 regional business publications with full text for 52 of those titles. Funded through TexShare.

  • World-Newspapers.com [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
    This is a 
    portal that connects the user with thousands of international and national newspapers, magazines, and news sites, all in English. Current issues are available; availability of older content varies by publication. The site allows searching by region and/or country, and searching by topic. Links connect directly to the content providers site. 


Need Help?

The UNT Libraries Government Documents staff  is happy to answer your questions! Visit us on the 3rd Floor of Willis Library Government Documents Department, or call us at (940) 565-2870, or email us!

ABI/Inform

Features full text, cover-to-cover business articles online.

Can't find solid information about your business project? 

Search Proquest's ABI/Inform for articles in a variety of formats including full text pdf, html, and image pages. 

ABI/Inform features top business publications. ABI/Inform has been consistently the gold standard for business information.

Search by publication, keyword, or topic.

Some of the titles you can find in ABI/Inform include:

  • Academy of Management Journal
  • Foreign Affairs
  • Nation’s Business
  • Thunderbird International Business Review
  • Journal of Marketing

.

THIS RESOURCE IS A UNT LIBRARIES' ELECTRONIC SUBSCRIPTION.

NOTE: If you are unable to view results beyond the first page, Click on Tools-Internet Options--Delete Files. Click Settings to be sure "Automatically"" is checked.


Need Help?

The UNT Libraries Government Documents staff  is happy to answer your questions! Visit us on the 3rd Floor of Willis Library Government Documents Department, or call us at (940) 565-2870, or email us!

Business & Co. Resource Center

Business & Company Resource Center  [UNT Libraries' subscription]

  • Provides company and industry information for over 300,000 companies.
  • Includes company profiles, industry rankings, & marketing information.
  • Includes products, brands, investment ratings, financial ratios, financial statements, market size, & industries by SIC.
  • Search by company name, industry, topic, or geography.

     

    A Company name or Industry search will pull the latest information drawn from the following databases:

    American Wholesalers and Distributors Directory
    Brands and Their Companies
    Business Rankings Annual, 2000 through Present
    Consultants and Consulting Organizations Directory
    Encyclopedia of American Industries
    Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S.
    Encyclopedia of Associations: Regional, State, and Local Organizations
    Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations
    Encyclopedia of Emerging Industries
    Encyclopedia of Global Industries
    Graham and Whiteside Major Company Series
    International Directory of Company Histories
    Market Share Reporter
    Notable Corporate Chronologies
    Publishers Directory
    Telecommunications Directory
    Ward's Business Directory of U.S. Private and Public Companies
    Ward's Business Directory of Private and Public Companies in Canada and Mexico
    World Market Share Reporter


    Need Help?

    The UNT Libraries Government Documents staff  is happy to answer your questions! Visit us on the 3rd Floor of Willis Library Government Documents Department, or call us at (940) 565-2870, or email us!

Business Source Complete

Business Source Complete via Ebscohost is a UNT Libraries' subscription.

For best remote access, use Internet Explorer or FireFox.

  • Covers marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance, and economics.
  • Provides Company Profiles, SWOT Analysis, Industry Profiles, Datamonitor reports.

Need Help?

The UNT Libraries Government Documents staff  is happy to answer your questions! Visit us on the 3rd Floor of Willis Library Government Documents Department, or call us at (940) 565-2870, or email us!

Hoover's Online

Hoover's Online [UNT Libraries' subscription]

  • Provides proprietary information on about 18,500 companies, 180,000 officers, and 600 industries.
  • Furnishes access to additional information on nearly 13 million companies from leading providers such as Dun & Bradstreet.
  • Use to create targeted contact lists and custom company reports.
  • Import data into spreadsheets.
  • Includes customizable news alerts and news coverage.


Need Help?

The UNT Libraries Government Documents staff  is happy to answer your questions! Visit us on the 3rd Floor of Willis Library Government Documents Department, or call us at (940) 565-2870, or email us!

How to search LexisNexis

How to search LexisNexis Academic News, Business, Legal Research

[UNT Libraries' Subscription] 

  • This is a full text database.
  • Once you log on to LexisNexis, you will see a menu containing:
    GENERAL
    NEWS
    LEGAL
    BUSINESS
    etc.
  • Search NEWS to find articles in newspapers and magazines.

  • Search BUSINESS to find business news, industry and market news, and company financial reports. Note that industry news and company news are also available via NEWS, described above.

  • Search LEGAL to find federal district, Supreme Court, or state cases. Study the LEGAL RESEARCH menu options carefully and choose the one you wish to search.  Legal searches can be tricky and they take time to learn.

  • Print, download, or email your search results.

  

How to do a keyword search in any of the LexisNexis search screens:

EXAMPLE: When you type a search into the Keyword box, type it in as follows:

contract law

This will search only for the phrase, contract law.

You can also type it in as: contract w/1 law

The w/1 means "within one word".

This will search for contract law as well as other phrases such as law of contracts.
 

 


Need Help?

The UNT Libraries Government Documents staff  is happy to answer your questions! Visit us on the 3rd Floor of Willis Library Government Documents Department, or call us at (940) 565-2870, or email us!

 

Human Resources Abstracts

Click this link to enter Human Resources Abstracts [UNT Libraries' Subscription]

Provides summaries of journal articles, book chapters, and papers covering human resource topics. Coverage is 1999-2008.

Reference USA

REFERENCE USA   [UNT Libraries' Subscription]

Provides directory information for more than 12 million U.S. organizations.

The information is compiled from the following public sources:

 - Yellow Pages and Business White pages
 - Annual reports
 - Chamber of Commerce information

  • Quick Search: search by company name, city, and state.

  • Custom Search: search by company name, yellow page heading, SIC number, geographic location, headquarters/branch, or by business sales volume.
  • You can compile lists of any organizations.

 

Suggested search strategy

Sample topic: hospitals in the DFW area.


  • First, under "select a database to search," choose "U.S. Businesses"
  • Next, click Custom Search and click the Business Type/Keyword SIC and NAICS and the Metro Area boxes
  • On the next screen, in the top SIC / NAICS box, type hospitals
  • In the LOOKUP box, click hospitals (the code will be 8062-02)
  • In the State box, select Texas
  • In the Metro Area box, select Dallas-Fort Worth-Arlington, Texas
  • Click View Results
  • You will pull up a list of hospitals in the DFW area
  • View either SUMMARY (list of hospitals) or DETAILS of particular hospitals
  • As of June, 2010 there were 182 hospitals (32 with email addresses)

.

Note that Reference USA allows only 50 downloads/prints per search.


Need Help?

The UNT Libraries Government Documents staff  is happy to answer your questions! Visit us on the 3rd Floor of Willis Library Government Documents Department, or call us at (940) 565-2870, or email us!

Texas Newspapers

Texas Newspaper Collection via Newsbank 

[UNT Libraries' Subscription]

Provides full text access to the Abilene Reporter-News, Amarillo Globe-News, Austin American-Statesman, Beaumont Enterprise, Corpus Christi Caller-Times, Dallas Morning News (including Arlington Morning News), El Paso Times, Fort Worth Star Telegram, Graham Leader, Houston Chronicle, Lubbock Avalanche-Journal, Midland Reporter-Telegram, Plainview Daily Herald, Quick DFW, San Antonio Express News, and Victoria Advocate. Coverage varies by title.

Vocational & Career Collection

The Vocational & Career Collection (EBSCOhost) [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
Designed to meet vocational and technical research needs. The database provides full text coverage for 400 trade and industry related periodicals such as American Machinist, Contemporary Longterm Care, Pediatric Nursing, Wireless Week, Drug Store News, Video Business, Reeves Journal, Hotel and Motel Management, Restaurant Business, Advertising Age, and many more.

Info

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Jeffrey Levy

Contact Info

Government Documents Department, Room 326, Willis Library
940-565-2013
Jeffrey.Levy@unt.edu

Email me!

Other pages by me

My subjects


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook