History
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, and Handbooks
A description of general resources available to provide researchers with basic background information on historical topics.
The following list is a list of all the sections included within this page.
To jump to a specific section, click on the section's title.
United States History, Multiple Decades
These sources provide information about historical events and people in the United States, over many years.
American Decades
General historical information about U.S. history, 1900-1999.
Located in the General Reference section of Willis Library, on the 1st Floor, shelved by call number.
E169.12.A419 1994
American Eras
General historical information about U.S. history, 1600s-1899.
Located in the General Reference section of Willis Library, on the 1st Floor, shelved by call number.
E169.1.A47197 1997
Dictionary of American History
General historical information about U.S. History.
Located in Remote Storage
E174.A43 1976
Encyclopedia of American Cultural and Intellectual History
General historical information about U.S. cultural and intellectual history.
Located in the General Reference section of Willis Library, on the 1st Floor, shelved by call number.
E169.1E624 2001
Encyclopedia of American Political History
General historical information about U.S. political history.
Located in Willis Library, on the 2nd Floor, shelved by call number.
E183.E5 1984
Encyclopedia of American Social History
General historical information about U.S. social history.
Located in Remote Storage
HN57.E58 1993
Encyclopedia of Battles in North America
General historical information about military history in the U.S., 1517-1916.
Located in the General Reference section of Willis Library, on the 1st Floor, shelved by call number.
E46.5.P87 2000
Encyclopedia of American Military
General historical information about U.S. military history.
Located in Willis Library, on the 2nd Floor, shelved by call number.
UA23.E56 1994
Encyclopedia of the United States in the 19th Century
General historical information about U.S. history.
Located in Willis Library, on the 2nd Floor, shelved by call number.
E169.1.E626 2001
History Behind the Headlines: The Origins of Conflict Worldwide
General historical information about Worldwide military history.
Located in the General Reference section of Willis Library, on the 1st Floor, shelved by call number.
D410.H57
New Handbook of Texas
General historical information about Texas history.
Located in Willis Library, on the 2nd Floor, shelved by call number.
F384.N48 1996
This resource is also available online.
Texas Historic Sites Atlas
An online resource about historic sites in the State, the Texas Historical Commission's Texas Historic Sites Atlas features nearly 300,000 site records, including data on Official Texas Historical Markers and National Register of Historic Places properties in Texas. Also included are courthouses, museums, and sawmills across the state. You can search by Historic Designation, Keyword, County, Address, or Site Name to get instant access to detailed textual descriptions, historic photographs, and interactive maps to help you discover what makes Texas and your areas of interest unique.
Wars of the Americas: A Chronology of Armed Conflict in the New World
General historical information about the U.S. military, 1492-present.
Located in Willis Library, on the 2nd Floor, shelved by call number.
E18.75.M374 1998
United States History, Beginnings to 1860
These sources address American history to 1860.
American Revolution, 1775-1783
General historical information about the American Revolution.
Located in Willis Library, on the 2nd Floor, shelved by call number.
E208.A433 1993
Colonial Wars of North America, 1512-1763
General information about U.S. Colonial military history.
Located in Willis Library, on the 2nd Floor, shelved by call number.
E46.5.C65 1996
Encyclopedia of the North American Colonies
General historical information about Colonial America.
Located in the General Reference section of Willis Library, on the 1st Floor, shelved by call number.
E45.E53 1993
Encyclopedia of the War of 1812
General information about the American War of 1912.
Located in Willis Library, on the 2nd Floor, shelved by call number.
E354.H46 1997
United States and Mexico at War
General historical information about the U.S. War
Located in Willis Library, on the 2nd Floor, shelved by call number.
E404.U66 1998
United States History, 1861-1900
These resources include general information about U.S. history between 1861 and 1900.
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War
General historical information about the U.S. war between the states.
Located in the General Reference section of Willis Library, on the 1st Floor, shelved by call number.
E468.H47 2000
Encyclopedia of the Confederacy
General historical information about the U.S. war between the states.
Located in Willis Library, on the 2nd Floor, shelved by call number.
E487.E55 1993
Encyclopedia of Southern Culture
General historical information about the culture of the U.S. South.
Located in the General Reference section of Willis Library, on the 1st Floor, shelved by call number.
F209 .N47 2006
United States History, 1900-1945
These resources provide general historical information about the U.S. from 1900-1945.
Encyclopedia of the Great Depression and the New Deal
General historical information about the Great Depression of the 1930s in the U.S., and the government's New Deal programs.
Located in Willis Library, on the 2nd Floor, shelved by call number.
E806.C543 2001
Encyclopedia of the Interwar Years: From 1919-1939
General historical information about the U.S. from 1919 to 1939.
Located in Remote Storage
D727.G745 2000
United States in the First World War
General historical information about the U.S. and World War I.
Located in Willis Library, on the 2nd Floor, shelved by call number.
D510.U65 1995
United States History, 1945-Present
These resources provide basic historical information about U.S. history from 1945-present.
The Cold War, 1945-1991
General historical information about the period of time after the end of World War II until 1991.
Located in Remote Storage
D839.5.C65 1992
Encyclopedia of Conflicts Since World War II
General historical information about military history since 1945.
Located in the General Reference section of Willis Library, on the 1st Floor, shelved by call number.
D843.E46 1999
Encyclopedia of the Korean War
General historical information about the Korean War.
Located in Willis Library, on the 2nd Floor, shelved by call number.
DS918.E53 2000
Encyclopedia of the Vietnam War
General historical information about the war in Vietnam.
Located in Remote Storage
DS557.7.E53 1998
United States History, Immigration and Ethnicity
These sources provide general information about immigration and ethnicity in the United States.
Encyclopedia of African-American culture and history. Supplement
General information about U.S. history and culture.
Located in the General Reference section of Willis Library, on the 1st Floor, shelved by call number.
E185.E54 1996
American Immigrant Cultures
General information about the various immigrant cultures in the U.S.
Located in Willis Library, on the 3rd Floor, shelved by call number.
E184.A1 A63448 1997
Dictionary of American Immigration History
General information about the history of immigration into America.
Located in Willis Library, on the 3rd Floor, shelved by call number.
JV6450.D53 1990
Encyclopedia of American Immigration
General historical information about immigration to America.
Located in the General Reference section of Willis Library, on the 1st Floor, shelved by call number.
JV6465.E53 2001
Encyclopedia of Japanese American History
General historical information about Japanese Americans.
Located in the General Reference section of Willis Library, on the 1st Floor, shelved by call number.
E184.J3 2001
Encyclopedia of Texas Indians
General historical information about Native Americans in Texas.
Located in the General Reference section of Willis Library, on the 1st Floor, shelved by call number.
E78.T4 E53 1999
Gale Encyclopedia of Multicultural America
General information about American cultures.
Located in the General Reference section of Willis Library, on the 1st Floor, shelved by call number.
E184.A1 G14 1995
Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes
General information about Native American tribes.
Located in the General Reference section of Willis Library, on the 1st Floor, shelved by call number.
E77.G15 1998
Japanese American History
General information about Japanese American history.
Located in the General Reference section of Willis Library, on the 1st Floor, shelved by call number.
E184.J3.J3355 1993
Ancient and Medieval History
These resources provide general information about ancient and medieval history.
Cambridge Ancient History
General information about ancient history.
Located in Remote Storage
D57.C252
Cambridge Medieval History
General information about the history of the Middle Ages.
Located in the General Reference section of Willis Library, on the 1st Floor, shelved by call number.
D117.A3C3 1964
Civilization of the Ancient Mediterranean: Greece and Rome
General information about Greek and Roman ancient history.
Located in Willis Library, on the 2nd Floor, shelved by call number.
DE59.C55 1988
Civilizations of the Ancient Near East
General historical information about the civilizations of the ancient Near East.
Located in the General Reference section of Willis Library, on the 1st Floor, shelved by call number.
DS57.C55 1995
Dictionary of the Middle Ages
General historical information about the Middle Ages.
Located in Willis Library, on the 2nd Floor, shelved by call number.
D114.D5 1982
Encyclopedia of Greece and the Hellenic Tradition
General information about ancient Greece.
Located in the General Reference section of Willis Library, on the 1st Floor, shelved by call number.
DF757.E53 2000
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance
General information about the history of the European Renaissance.
Located in the General Reference section of Willis Library, on the 1st Floor, shelved by call number.
CB361.E52 1999
Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt
General historical information about ancient Egypt.
Located in Willis Library, on the 2nd Floor, shelved by call number.
DT58.O94 2001
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
General historical information about the Reformation.
Located in Willis Library, on the 2nd Floor, shelved by call number.
BR302.8.093 1996
History of the Americas
These sources include general information about Mexico and Central and South America.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture
General information about the history and culture of Latin America.
Located in Remote Storage
F1406.E53 1996
Encyclopedia of Mexico: History, Society and Culture
General information on the history and culture of Mexico.
Located in Willis Library, on the 2nd Floor, shelved by call number.
F1210.E63 1997
Latino Encyclopedia
General historical information about Latin America.
Located in Willis Library, on the 2nd Floor, shelved by call number.
E184.S75L357
History of Asia
These resources have general historical information about Asia.
Cambridge Encyclopedia of China
General historical information about China.
Located in Willis Library, on the 2nd Floor, shelved by call number.
DS705.C35 1991
Encyclopedia of Asian History
General historical information about Asia.
Located in the General Reference section of Willis Library, on the 1st Floor, shelved by call number.
DS31.E53 1988
History of Europe and the United Kingdom
These sources provide general information about the history of Europe and the United Kingdom.
Cambridge Encyclopedia of Russia and the Former Soviet Union
General historical information about Russia and the U.S.S.R.
Located in Remote Storage
DK14.C35 1994
Encyclopedia of European Social History from 1300 to 2000
General historical information about European social history.
Located in Willis Library, on the 2nd Floor, shelved by call number.
HN373.E63 2001
Longman Handbook of Modern British History
General information about British history.
Located in Willis Library, on the 2nd Floor, shelved by call number.
DA470.C65 1996
Medieval France
General historical information about France.
Located in Willis Library, on the 2nd Floor, shelved by call number.
DC33.2M44 1995