Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides History Reference Sources Biographical Sources
Document Actions

History

Biographical Sources

These resources provide basic information about people and books written about people.

Electronic Resources

These online databases provide citations for biographic works (materials written about specific people)

Biography and Genealogy Master Index

Biography and Genealogy Master Index provides indexing for current and historical reference sources that cover individuals, both living and deceased, in every field of activity and from all areas of the world. BGMI indexes over 13.6 million biographical sketches. Search by name or in extended mode. A GaleGroup database.

URL: http://irservices.library.unt.edu/resource.cfm?ai_id=9

Biography Index via FirstSearch

Biography Index via FirstSearch (Biography Index via First Search) contains biographical information from more than 2,700 English-language periodicals for all subject areas covered by H.W. Wilson indexes. Indexes articles and books, autobiographies, bibliographies, biographies, critical studies, fiction, drama, pictorial works, poetry, juvenile literature, obituaries, journals, collections of letters, book reviews, and interviews. Coverage begins with 1984.

URL: http://irservices.library.unt.edu/resource.cfm?ai_id=11

 

Electronic Resources are only available to UNT students, staff, and faculty. Access for guests is on-campus only.

How to Access Electronic Resources


Print Resources

These print resources provide citations for biographical works (materials written about specific people)

Biography Index, 1946-1997

Index of biographical material

Located in Remote Storage

People in History

Biographical history index

Located in Remote Storage

People in World History

World-wide biographical resources

Located in Remote Storage

American National Biography (ANB)

Index of biographical information about Americans

Located in General Reference, 1st Floor, Willis Library, shelved by call number.

CT213.A68 1999

Current Biography, 1940-Current

Index of biographical resources

Located in Remote Storage

CT100.C8

Dictionary of American Biography (DAB)

Short biographies of Americans

Located in General Reference, 2nd Floor, Willis Library, shelved by call number.

E176.D566

Dictionary of Canadian Biography

Short biographies of Canadians

Located in Remote Storage

F1005.D49

Dictionary of National Biography (DNB)

Short biographies

Located in General Reference, 2nd Floor, Willis Library, shelved by call number.

DA28.D47

Historic World Leaders

Biographical information about world leaders

Located in General Reference, 2nd Floor, Willis Library, shelved by call number.

D412.H57 1994

New York Biographical Service

Biographical information in the New York Times

Located in Remote Storage

CT120.N45

Who Was Who, 1897-1980

Short biographies

Located in Remote Storage

DA28.W65

Who Was Who in America

Short biographies of Americans

Located in General Reference, 1st Floor, Willis Library, shelved by call number.

E176.W64

Who's Who in British History

Short biographies of British persons

Located in Remote Storage

DA28.W616 1998

Dictionnaire de biographie francaise

Short biographies about French persons

Located in General Reference, 2nd Floor, Willis Library, shelved by call number.

CT143.D5

National Cyclopaedia of American Biography

Biographical material about Americans

Located in Remote Storage

E176.N28

Neue deutsche biographie

Short biographies of German persons

Located in General Reference, 2nd Floor, Willis Library, shelved by call number.

DD85.N4

American Military Leaders

Biographical information on American military leaders

This subject-specific biographical reference is located on the 2nd Floor of Willis Library, shelved by call number.

E181.F84 1999

Blackwell Dictionary of Historians

Biographical information

This subject-specific biographical reference is located on the 2nd Floor of Willis Library, shelved by call number.

D14.B58 1988

Dictionary of Hispanic Biography

Biographic information about Hispanic persons

This subject-specific biographical reference is located  on the 2nd Floor of Willis Library, shelved by call number.

CT1343.D53 1996

Encyclopedia of Historians and Historical Writing

Biographical information

This subject-specific biographical reference is located in Remote Storage

D14.E58 1999

Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture Biographical information about Latin Americans

This subject-specific biographical reference is located on the 2nd Floor of Willis Library, shelved by call number.

CT502.E542 1998

Mexican American Biographies

Biographical information about Mexican Americans

This subject-specific biographical reference is located on the 2nd Floor of Willis Library, shelved by call number.

E184.M5 M454 1988

Notable Asian Americans

Biographical information about Asian Americans

This subject-specific biographical reference is located in Remote Storage

E184.O6N67 1995

Notable Native Americans

Biographical information about Native Americans

This subject-specific biographical reference is located in the General Reference area on the 1st Floor of Willis Library, shelved by call number.

E89.N67 1995

Texas Biographical Dictionary

Biographical information about Texans

This subject-specific biographical reference is located on the 2nd Floor of Willis Library, shelved by call number.

CT262.T47 1996

Women in World History

Biographical information about women

This subject-specific biographical reference is located in the General Reference area on the 1st Floor of Willis Library, shelved by call number.

HQ1115.W6 1999

This page is maintained by Douglas Campbell last modified Thursday, July 28, 2011. 04:39 PM
Info

The UNT Libraries will be closed Saturday, May 26 through Monday, May 28 for the Memorial Day weekend. The Libraries will reopen during regular building hours on Tuesday, May 29.

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Doug Campbell

Contact Info

Willis Library, Room 155
(940) 369-7815
Douglas.campbell@unt.edu

Email me!

Other pages by me


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook