Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides History Articles Electronic Resources
Document Actions

History

Electronic Resources

List of abstracts, indexes, bibliographies that are available electronically.

Electronic Resources are only available to UNT students, staff, and faculty. Access for guests is on-campus only.

How to Access Electronic Resources

Academic Source Complete

Academic Search Complete is a scholarly collection providing full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies, etc. Full text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, coverage dating back to 1975. EBSCOhost database by way of TexShare.

URL: http://irservices.library.unt.edu/resource.cfm?ai_id=88

America: History and Life

America: History and Life provides searchable access to abstracts of journal articles and citations to book/media reviews and dissertations gleaned from over 1700 journal titles dealing with the history of the United States and Canada. Writings in over 40 languages are included. All abstracts, however, are written in English. Links to full-text journal articles in JSTOR and ProjectMuse are available from some abstracts. Coverage begins with 1954.

URL: http://irservices.library.unt.edu/resource.cfm?ai_id=161

ArchivesUSA

ArchivesUSA (Archives USA) is a current directory of over 5,400 repositories and over 124,400 collections of primary source materials across the United States. Included are the National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (1959 to current), the contents from National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the United States, and collection descriptions submitted directly from repositories as well as links to online finding aids. This resource could be useful for researchers from many fields as the included collections can deal with any individual or organization for which primary materials were saved--including authors, scientists, businesses, societies, etc. Alternate spellings/keywords: archives, archival, catalogue, history, historical, political science, documents, document.

URL: http://irservices.library.unt.edu/resource.cfm?ai_id=134

Book Review Digest via FirstSearch

Book Review Digest via FirstSearch (First Search) abstracts reviews of English-language fiction and non-fiction from approximately 100 U.S., Canadian, and British periodicals; may include reviews of the same book; includes children's books. Coverage begins with 1983.

URL: http://irservices.library.unt.edu/resource.cfm?ai_id=13

Digital Dissertations (Dissertation Abstracts)

Dissertation Abstracts (new name: Digital Dissertations via Proquest) includes bibliographic citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. Citations for dissertations published from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts written by the author. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. To overcome problems getting beyond 1st page of results, click Tools-Internet Options-Delete Files and then click Settings to make sure "Automatically"" is checked. "

URL: http://irservices.library.unt.edu/resource.cfm?ai_id=159

Heritage Quest Online

HeritageQuest Online (formerly Genealogy and Local History Online) is a collection of genealogies, local histories, primary source materials, and the United States federal censuses, 1790-1930. Searchable name indexes are availabe for the 1790 through 1820, 1860, 1870, and 1900 through 1930 censuses. Search other publications (books, serials, city directories, etc.) by name, places, or other keywords. Search PERSI for local history and genealogical journal articles. This collection is not yet complete. Funded through TexShare.

URL: http://irservices.library.unt.edu/resource.cfm?ai_id=96

Historical Abstracts

Historical Abstracts provides searchable access to abstracts of journal articles and citations to book titles and dissertations gleaned from over 1700 journal titles dealing with the history of the world (excluding North America) from 1450 to the present. Writings in over 50 languages are included. All abstracts, however, are written in English. Links to full-text journal articles in JSTOR and ProjectMuse are available from some abstracts. Indexes publications from 1954 to the present.

URL: http://irservices.library.unt.edu/resource.cfm?ai_id=162

Humanities Abstracts via Ebscohost

Humanities Abstracts cites articles from over 500 periodicals, including some of the best-known scholarly journals and numerous specialized magazines covering archaeology, classical studies, dance, journalism, linguistics, philosophy, theology and more. Indexing goes back to 1984, and abstracts start in 1994.

URL: http://irservices.library.unt.edu/resource.cfm?ai_id=83

JSTOR

JSTOR provides access to archived backfiles of journals in Arts & Sciences, Language & Literature, General Science, Ecology & Botany, and Music. The full-text of journals is provided for each title beginning with Volume 1. Recent volumes may or may not be included, depending on the agreement between JSTOR and the publishers. Some titles may be from 2 to 5 years behind current publishing. Journals may be browsed or searched.

URL: http://irservices.library.unt.edu/resource.cfm?ai_id=37

PAIS International via FirstSearch

The Public Affairs Information Service, or PAIS International, is a bibliographic index to the literature of public policy, social policy, and the social sciences in general. It indexes journal articles, books, government documents, statistical compilations, committee reports, directories, and reports from all over the world. Coverage is 1972 to present.

URL: http://irservices.library.unt.edu/resource.cfm?ai_id=321

Research library (Periodical Abstracts Research II)

Research Library via ProQuest (formerly Periodical Abstracts Research II) provides abstracts, indexing, and full text articles from academic journals and magazines. Formats include full text, text + graphics, and page image. If search results do not show beyond first page, you should click Tools-Internet Options-Delete Files and then click on Settings to make sure "Automatically"" is checked. "

URL: http://irservices.library.unt.edu/resource.cfm?ai_id=168

Readers Guide Retrospective

Readers' Guide Retrospective, produced by the H.W. Wilson Company, indexes the most popular general-interest periodicals published within the United States. Current coverage is from 1890 through 1982. Reader's Guide Retrospective automatically provides links to other open-URL compliant UNT databases where the full-text journal article can be found.

URL: http://irservices.library.unt.edu/resource.cfm?ai_id=212

Social Sciences Abstracts via Ebscohost

Social Sciences Abstracts via Ebscohost is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles of at least one column in length from English-language periodicals. Coverage includes a wide range of interdisciplinary fields covered in a broad array of social sciences journals. Subjects covered include: addiction studies, anthropology, community health and medical care, corrections, criminal justice, criminology, economics, environmental studies, ethics, family studies, gender studies, geography, gerontolgy, international relations, law, minority studies, planning, and public administration.) Coverage is February 1983 to present.

URL: http://irservices.library.unt.edu/resource.cfm?ai_id=86

Texas Digital Sanborn Maps

Texas Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 provides digital access to large-scale, historical maps of Texas towns and cities. Available through TexShare.

URL: http://irservices.library.unt.edu/resource.cfm?ai_id=117

Web of Science

Web of Science service provides web access to the following citation indexes from 1995 to the present: Science Citation Index; Social Sciences Citation Index; and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. These resources enable the user to identify related writings (periodical articles, reviews, etc.) by indicating sources in which a known article by a given author has been cited. The older indexes are available from the Electronic Resources page by their titles. This resource is limited to 5 simultaneous users.

URL: http://irservices.library.unt.edu/resource.cfm?ai_id=194

WorldCat via FirstSearch

WorldCat via FirstSearch is the OCLC Online Union Catalog and contains more than 35 million records describing items owned by your library or libraries around the world. Each record contains library holdings. WorldCat does not include individual articles, stories in journals, magazines, newspapers, or book chapters. Funded through TexShare.

URL: http://irservices.library.unt.edu/resource.cfm?ai_id=157

 

Electronic Resources are only available to UNT students, staff, and faculty. Access for guests is on-campus only.

How to Access Electronic Resources

This page is maintained by Douglas Campbell last modified Thursday, July 28, 2011. 04:38 PM
Info

The UNT Libraries will be closed Saturday, May 26 through Monday, May 28 for the Memorial Day weekend. The Libraries will reopen during regular building hours on Tuesday, May 29.

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Doug Campbell

Contact Info

Willis Library, Room 155
(940) 369-7815
Douglas.campbell@unt.edu

Email me!

Other pages by me


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook