Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Geography Reference Sources
Document Actions

Reference Sources

Almanacs and Yearbooks

Please note: All of the print items below are available for Library Use Only. Click on the hyperlink to find out a book's location.



Book of the States  JK2403 .B6

 

Europa World Year Book  JN1.E851

 

Municipal Year Book  JS342.A2 I52

 

Statesman's Yearbook  JA51 .S7

 

Texas Almanac  AY311.D3 T5

 

Texas Fact Book  TxD L1300.8 F119  or online

 

World Almanac and Book of Facts  AY67.N5 W7 or online 

 

World Factbook  PREX 3.15:date or online

Atlases

Please note: Print items are available for Library Use Only. Click on the hyperlink to find out an atlas's location.

 

Atlas of the World  G1021 .A7545 2004 

 

Goode's World Atlas  G1021 .G6 2000

 

National Atlas of the United States  http://www-atlas.usgs.gov/index.html

Create customized maps for viewing or printing from federal agency maps, or download datasets to use in your own GIS application.

 

National Atlas of the United States of America  I 19.127:082-97 

 

National Geographic Atlas of the World  G1021 .N38 2005


North American Environmental Atlas  http://www.cec.org/naatlas/

Released by the Commission for Environmental Cooperation, the atlas is intended to help scientists and the public visualize environmental issues in North America.

 

Times Concise Atlas of the World  G1021 .T573 2005

Dictionaries

Please note: Some items are available for Library Use Only. Click on the hyperlink to find out the book's location and status.

 

A dictionary of geography G63 .M39 2004 or online via Oxford Reference Online.

 

Dictionary of Physical Geography  GB10 .D53 2000

 

The Houghton Mifflin Dictionary of Geography: Places and Peoples of the World  G63 .H68 1997 or online via netLibrary.

 

Merriam-Webster's Geographical Dictionary  G103 .5 .W42 1997

 

The Penguin Dictionary of Geography  G63 .C562 2003

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Please note: Some of these items are available for Library Use Only. Click on the hyperlink to find out a book's location and status.

 

Area Handbooks and Country Studies  (Look for individual titles by geographic designation.)  D101.22:550

 

Columbia Gazetteer of the World, 3 Vols.  G103 .5 .C645 1998

 

Companion Encyclopedia of Geography: the Environment and Humankind  G116 .C645 1996

 

The Encyclopedia of the World's Nations  G63 .K874 2002

 

Maps

Google Maps (Google)

 

Maps and GIS INFOMINE (University of California, Riverside) 

Links to satellite images, photographs, software and data/image bases, and other resources related to maps and geographic information systems. Can be searched and browsed by title or by Library of Congress subject headings, keywords, and authors.

 

Oddens' bookmarks. The Fascinating World of Maps and Mapping
(Utrecht University)

Links to thousands of maps and other cartographic resources on the Internet. Can be searched by country, keyword, and category, or browsed by category.

 

Perry-CastaƱeda Library Map Collection (University of Texas at Austin)

Extensive collection of scanned images of outline maps, as well as links to numerous other maps available on the Internet.

 

USGS Geography Information (U.S. Geological Survey)

Links to numerous online products and services, information on partnership opportunities, and resources for teachers and students.

 

Further information about maps is located on the Government Documents Department website.

Reference Collections

Credo Reference

An online collection of hundreds of reference works. Go to Find a Book and then pick the subject, Geography, to find dictionaries, encyclopedias and maps of physical and human geography.

Gale Virtual Reference Library

A collection of more than 50 electronic reference works. Go to Basic Search, and then select Environment, Nation and World, and Science to find geography-related titles.

 

Statistics

The best source for statistical resources at the UNT Libraries is this list compiled by the Government Documents Department. Please contact the Gov Docs service desk if you have questions about the resources. Selected major statistical resources are listed below.

 

American FactFinder, US Census Bureau
http://factfinder.census.gov/home/saff/main.html?_lang=en

This tool allows the user to search census datasets and create customized tables of national, state, county and city statistics.


Statistical Abstract of the United States - Current
http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/

Search the most current edition of the Statistical Abstract, which compiles data from the Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, and many other Federal agencies and private organizations.


Statistical Abstract of the United States - Historical 
http://www.census.gov/compendia/statab/past_years.html

This webpage provides access to the historical editions of the Statistical Abstracts from 1900 to present, and to the Bicentennial Edition: Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970.

 

World Factbook, CIA 
https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/

The Factbook is published by the US Central Intelligence Agency and provides profiles of countries and territories around the world. The profiles include geographic, demographic, and economic statistics. The data is updated every two weeks.

Info

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Erin O'Toole

Contact Info

Sycamore Hall
Room 106
Eagle Commons Library
940-891-6750
erin.otoole@unt.edu

Email me!

Other pages by me


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook