Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Genealogy Web Sites
Document Actions

Genealogy

Web Sites

10 Steps for Finding Your Family Tree Online A Blueprint for Genealogy Research on the Internet

Kimberly Powell, About.com Guide

<http://genealogy.about.com>

A basic guide to searching for information.  See also other specific aids under http://genealogy.about.com/od/basics/a/internet.htm

Portals

Cyndi’s List

One of the largest providers of genealogy information links on the web.

http://www.cyndislist.com/

National Archives Genealogist/Family Historians

A web portal from the National Archives of the US Government.  General  information and some links to online information.  After exploring click on the Genealogy Links on the left side bar.
http://www.archives.gov/research/genealogy/index.html

Family Genealogy and History Internet Education Directory

Professional, worldwide humanities and social sciences mega portal, connected directly to numerously related sub-sets, with billions of primary or secondary database family history and genealogy records. Copyright © 1997-2010  By: V. Chris & Thomas M. Tinney, Sr. http://www.academic-genealogy.com/

 WorldGenWeb Project

The WorldGenWeb Project was created in 1996 by Dale Schneider in an effort to answer the growing needs of genealogists world-wide who were trying to research their ancestors online. Dale's original goal (as is ours today) was to have every country in the world represented by an online website and hosted by researchers who either live in their own country or who are familiar with their country's resources. http://www.worldgenweb.org/

RootsWeb®

Rootsweb® is the oldest and largest free online community dedicated to family history. You'll find millions of members communicating on thousands of message boards in this expansive environment for learning, collaborating and sharing with others.  Now supported in part by Ancestry.com one of the largest paid sites.
http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/

FamilySearch.Org

FamilySearch has been actively gathering, preserving, and sharing genealogical records worldwide. Patrons may freely access our resources and service online at FamilySearch.org, or through over 4,500 family history centers in 70 countries. This is offered by the Church of Jesus Christ  of Latter Day Saints.http://www.familysearch.org/

USA

U. S. GenWeb Project

We are a group of volunteers working together to provide free genealogy websites for genealogical research in every county and every state of the United States. This Project is non-commercial and fully committed to free genealogy access for everyone. http://usgenweb.org/

American Memory Project Collection

American Memory is a gateway to the Library of Congress’s vast resources of digitized American historical materials. Comprising more than 9 million items that document U.S. history and culture, American Memory is organized into more than 100 thematic collections based on their original format, their subject matter, or who first created, assembled, or donated them to the Library. http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html

Ellis Island Records Database

Ellis Island/Port of New York immigration database and ships records. http://www.ellisisland.org/

Documenting the American South (DocSouth)

A digital publishing initiative sponsored by the University Library at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, provides access to digitized primary materials that offer Southern perspectives on American history and culture. It supplies teachers, students, and researchers at every educational level with a wide array of titles they can use for reference, studying, teaching, and research. http://docsouth.unc.edu/

Afrigeneas: African Ancestored Genealogy

A site devoted to African American genealogy, to researching African Ancestry in the Americas in particular and to genealogical research and resources in general. It is also an African Ancestry research community featuring the AfriGeneas mail list, the AfriGeneas message boards and daily and weekly genealogy chats. http://www.afrigeneas.com/

Christine’s Genealogy Web site

Links and information on searching  for African American genealogy. http://ccharity.com/

The Freedmen's Bureau Online

A source for African American history online. http://www.freedmensbureau.com/

Our Black Heritage: An African-American Tribute & Resource

Launched to be an African-American tribute and resource, this website displays rare and unique
images and documents of significant inspirational, historical and educational value.  This website reflects our commitment to the celebration of African-American culture and intellectual spirit for everyone. http://www.ourblackheritage.com/

Database of Servitude and Emancipation Records (1722–1863)

This database includes approximately 3,400 names found in governmental records involving the servitude and emancipation of Africans and, occasionally, Indians in the French and English eras of colonial Illinois (1722–1790) and African-Americans in the American period of Illinois (1790–1863). http://www.cyberdriveillinois.com/departments/archives/servant.html

Additional Links

JewishGen

A  free, easy-to-use genealogy website features thousands of databases, research tools, and other resources to help those with Jewish ancestry research and find family members.  http://www.jewishgen.org/

Geneasearch.com

Links and help in looking for family history. Some links provide access to paid sites for a trial period.   http://www.geneasearch.com/

GenSource.com

A  free resource of information offered by other genealogists.  Possibilities for finding other people with related family trees. http://www.gensource.com/

Genealogy Home Page

 A useful page for links to free and trial sites.

  http://www.archives.com/resources/free-resources/the-genealogy-home-page/

 

Available from UNT site

Heritage Quest Online

A subscription site available to UNT staff and students. U.S. Federal Census, books, PERSI, Revolutionary War, Freedman s Bank, and the U.S. Serial Set. Search other publications (books, serials, city directories, etc.) by name, places, or other keywords. Search PERSI for local history and genealogical journal articles. http://irservices.library.unt.edu/resource.cfm?ai_id=96

 

This page is maintained by Patricia E. Reese last modified Saturday, May 14, 2011. 01:26 PM
Info

The UNT Libraries will be closed Saturday, May 26 through Monday, May 28 for the Memorial Day weekend. The Libraries will reopen during regular building hours on Tuesday, May 29.

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Pat

Contact Info

Willis Library
940-369-6426

Email me!

Other pages by me


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook