Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Genealogy Military Records
Document Actions

Military Records

General - Pre-1900

Military Resources for years prior to 1900.

Located in General Reference, 1st floor, Willis Library

Encyclopedia of Battles in North America, 1517 to 1916 E46.5 P87 2000
Entries describe nearly every military and naval battle that's occurred in North America.

Located in the general stacks, Willis Library

List of Officers of the Army of the United States from 1779 to 1900
"Embracing a Register of All Appointments by the President of the United States in the Volunteer Service During the Civil War and of Volunteer Officers in the Service of the United States June 1, 1900"
U11 .U5 P7 1967
"Compiled from official records" information includes a list of Union army and state militia officers commissioned in 1861 through 1865.

The New American State Papers: Naval Affairs E182 .N47 10 vols.
Contains material from the original Gales and Seaton American State Papers, the congressional serial set, and previously unpublished documents located at the National Archives.

Colonial Wars of North America, 1512-1763 E46.5 .C65 1996
Essays on wars, battles, and treaties as well as the diplomatic and military history of over 50 Native America groups, Dutch, French, English, Spanish, and Swiss colonies.

Wars of the Americas: A Chronology of Armed Conflict in the New World, 1492 to the Present E18.75 M374 1998
"An annotated chronology of armed conflict in the New World, 1492 to the present."

Located in Government Documents, 3rd floor, Willis Library

Dictionary of American Naval Fighting Ships D207.10:
Brief histories of all ships commissioned by the U.S. Navy since the American Revolution.

Located in Remote Storage (Advanced Arrangement Must Be Made)

Resources can be requested through the Library Materials Delivery Service. Requests are processed Monday - Friday and require at least 24 hours to be filled out and delivered.

Register of Graduates and Former Cadets United States Military Academy, West Point, N.Y. 1802-1946 378.7 Un3r
Roster of graduates includes brief biographical and service information.

Revolutionary War

Military resources specifically relating to the USAs Revolutionary War.

Located in the General Stacks, Willis Library

Historical Register of Officers of the Continental Army During the War of the Revolution, April, 1775, to December, 1783 (Heitman) E255 .H48 1967
"Standard reference work on the officers of the Revolutionary War." Alphabetical list with service records of 14,000 officers of the Continental Army including many Militia and State troops officers.

Encyclopedia of Continental Army Units - Battalions, Regiments and Independent Corps E259 .B47
Unit level history.

The American Revolution, 1775-1783: An Encyclopedia E208 .A433 1993 2 vols.
Over 800 entries on battles, raids, skirmishes, massacres, military people, Loyalists, frontiersmen, Indian chiefs, statesmen and diplomats.

Colonial America to 1763 E188 P86 1999
"Coverage of the economy, politics, culture, society, art, and other elements that defined colonial life." Includes 430 tables detailing weather, live stock, plows, furnaces, etc.

Located in Government Documents, 3rd floor, Willis Library

Naval Documents of the American Revolution D 207.12: 10 vols.
Provides edited American, British, and foreign documents related to naval aspects of the war including correspondence, ships' logs, muster rolls, orders, and newspaper accounts.

General - 1900-Current

General US military resources from since 1900.

Located in the general stacks, Willis Library

Warbirds: An Illustrated Guide to U.S. Military Aircraft, 1915-2000 UG1240 .F74 1999
Information includes photo of each aircraft and service dates, manufacturer, engineering and performance history, and operational problems.

The Naval Institute Guide to the Ships and Aircraft of the U.S. Fleet VA61 .F3 1997
Describes ships, aircraft, weapons, size, composition, structure and manpower.

Located on the Internet

This is a free resource available to any one on any computer with access to the Internet.

Military Service Records: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications

https://eservices.archives.gov/orderonline/start.swe?SWECmd=GotoView&SWEScreen=GPEA+Microfilm+MIF&SWEView=GPEA+Microfilm+Landing+Page+View+MIF

A catalog of the military records microfilmed by NARA, organized by type of record and chronologically. Brief descriptions are followed by a roll-by-roll listing of the contents. Coverage is primarily before 1900. Includes information on how to order the microfilm.

 

Located in Remote Storage (Advanced Arrangement Must Be Made)

Resources can be requested through the Library Materials Delivery Service. Requests are processed Monday - Friday and require at least 24 hours to be filled out and delivered.

Register of Graduates and Former Cadets United States Military Academy, West Point, N.Y. 1802-1946 378.7 Un3r
Roster of graduates includes brief biographical and service information.

 

War of 1812

Information from the War of 1812

Located in General Reference, 2nd floor, Willis Library

Encyclopedia of the War of 1812 E354 .H46 1997
Alphabetical entries include naval battles, forts, battles, individuals, primary documents, and a chronology of the war.

Located in the Government Documents, 3rd floor, Willis Library

The Naval War of 1812: A Documentary History D 207.10:H 62 2 vols.
Contains original documents on the Navy's role in the War.



Republic of Texas

Records of the Republic of Texas.

Located on General Reference, 2nd floor, Willis Library

Encyclopedia of the Alamo and the Texan Revolution F390 .H33 1999
Covers people, places, events, and issues covering the pre-Revolution period and settlement of Texas to the forming of the Republic in 1863.

Located on the Internet

This is a free resource available to any one on any computer with access to the Internet.

Texas Adjutant General's Service Records, 1836 - 1935  <http://www.tsl.state.tx.us/arc/service/>
Indexes both official service record files from the Adjutant General's Office and alphabetical files created by other agencies related to an individual's military service.

Located in Rare Books, 4th floor, Willis Library

Indian Wars and Pioneers of Texas [1822 - 1874] Texana F385 .B87
Biographical sketches of over 536 individuals and their family histories.

American Civil War

Resources for Civil War Research sometimes referred to as the War Between the States.

Located in General Reference, 1st floor, Willis Library

 Encyclopedia of the American Civil War E468 .H47 2000 5 vols.
"A political, social, and military history." Includes illustrations, photographs, maps, and primary source documents.

Located in Rare Books, 4th floor, Willis Library

1890 Texas Census Index of Civil War Veterans or Their Widows Ref E494 .D585 1992
Indexes UNION Civil War veterans/widows living in Texas in 1890. NOTE: The UNT Library does not own the actual 1890 census.

Texas Batteries, Battalions, Regiments, Commanders, and Field Officers, Confederate States Army, 1861-1865 E580.3 .F5

Located in Microforms, lower level, Willis Library

Index to Compiled Service Records of Confederate Soldiers who Served in Organizations from the State of Texas Film K176 index  M227, reels 1-41. Roll list available in Military Service Records GovDocs AE 1.102:M54, pg. 92 and in the Index section of the Microforms Department.

Compiled Service Records of Confederate Soldiers who Served in Organizations from the State of Texas Film K176
M323, reels 1-445. Roll list available in Military Service Records GovDocs AE 1.102:M54, pg. 138-143. Reproduces individual soldiers' service records; there is not usually much genealogical information found in compiled military service records.

Compiled Records Showing Service of Military Units in Confederate Organizations Film M706
M861, reels 56-61
(of 74). Roll list available in Military Service Records GovDocs AE 1.102:M54, pg. 163-164.

Compiled Service Records of Volunteer Union Soldiers Who Served in Organizations from the State of Texas Film K174
M402, reels 1-13. Roll list available in Military Service Records GovDocs AE 1.102:M54, pg. 71.

Confederate Veteran Shelved by title v.1 (1893) - v.40 (1932)
"Published monthly in the interest of Confederate veterans and kindred topics."

Located in Government Documents, 3rd floor, Willis Library

 The War of the Rebellion: A Compilation of the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies ("Official Records") (OR) W 45.5: Series [#]
The War of the Rebellion is also known as the "Official Records," or the OR. It is a primary source for the study of the Civil War. It contains a wide variety of documents including battle assessments, memos and reports, orders, correspondence, and even court proceedings. There is a caveat when using the OR - the information was not edited for accuracy, contains contradictory information, and much of the information is excerpted for space considerations. The eyewitness information may have been recorded days, weeks, or even months after the fact. Nevertheless, it was one of the first compilations of eyewitness accounts of the Civil War to be published, and is an important resource. There is a separate published index and atlas for use with the OR. See Aiomone and Irvine below for more adequate indexing. The OR is also available on the Internet at Cornell's Making of America digital imaging project. The URL for this is <http://cdl.library.cornell.edu/moa/moa_browse.html>.

There are four series in the OR. The first (I) series has 53 volumes and focuses on Union and Confederate military operations and battle reports. The second (II) series has 8 volumes and focuses on Union and Confederate correspondence, orders, reports, and returns regarding prisoners of war. Series three (III) has 5 volumes and contains miscellaneous Union orders and reports including logistics reports. Series four (IV) has 3 volumes and contains miscellaneous Confederate orders and reports. 

User's Guide to the Official Records of the American Civil War (Aiomone) GovDocs Ref E464 .A35 1993
Guide about more than just the OR as it also lists and annotates primary sources, reference sources, and other official war documents.

Military Operations of the Civil War: A Guide-Index to the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies, 1861-1865 (Irvine) GovDocs A&I GS4.21:
Guide to the OR with a broad outline of contents and tables to facilitate the indexes that accompany the OR.

Supplement to the Official Records of the Union and Confederate Armies W45.5:Supp
Names and information on soldiers, places, records of events and other remaining official reports left out of the OR.

Official Records of the Union and Confederate Navies in the War of the Rebellion N16.6:1/3
Same as the OR but for naval information.

Located at Remote Storage (Advanced Arrangements Must Be Made)

Resources can be requested through the Library Materials Delivery Service. Requests are processed Monday - Friday and require at least 24 hours to be filled out and delivered.

Biographical Dictionary of the Confederacy E467 .W2
Biographical sketches of military leaders, politicians, women, editors, clergymen, lawyers, educators, etc. with many appendices.

Located on the Internet

These are free resources available to any one on any computer with access to the Internet.

The Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System (CWSS)
<http://www.itd.nps.gov/cwss>
The Civil War Soldiers and Sailors System is a computerized database containing very basic facts about servicemen who served on both sides during the Civil War. The CWSS database currently contains over 5 million soldier names from over 30 states and territories. Sailors names are not complete. The site currently includes regimental histories of units from 35 states and territories. The unit histories are linked to histories of the 364 most significant Civil War battles already on the Internet from the NPS' American Battlefield Protection Program. CWSS also includes information on approximately 1,500 Civil War soldiers and sailors who received the Congressional Medal of Honor. Currently the CWSS also includes prisoner records of Union prisoners at Andersonville and Confederate prisoners at Fort McHenry.

Texas Confederate Pension Applications  <http://www.tsl.state.tx.us/arc/pensions/>
Provides names, county of residence, and pension number for the approximately 54,634 approved, rejected, and home pensions issued by the Texas government between 1899 and 1975.

Confederate Indigent Families Lists (1863-1865)  <http://www.tsl.state.tx.us/arc/cif/index.html>
Lists of servicemen and the number of their dependents eligible for relief, on or before March 1 in 1864 and 1865, under an act that set aside $1,000,000 annually to be paid the "families, widows, and dependents of soldiers currently serving in State or Confederate forces, or of soldiers killed or disabled in service." Information varies county by county.

The United States Civil War Center <http://www.cwc.lsu.edu>
Index of Civil War information available on the Internet.

The American Memory Collections (Library of Congress) <http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/amtitle.html>
Collections related to the Civil War include band music, images, maps, and photographs.

Located in the general stacks, Willis Library

Index to Texas CSA Pension Files (White) E548 .W46 1989
Index to pension files submitted to the Texas government. (1989)

Index to Applications for Texas Confederate Pensions E494 .T48
Index to pension files submitted to the Texas government; prepared by the Archives staff. (1975)

Confederate Staff Officers, 1861-1865 E548 .C83 1982
Alphabetical listing with basic vital and service information.

A Calendar of Confederate Papers: With a Bibliography of Some Confederate Publications E483.75 .A24 1969
Contains muster rolls, returns and rosters

Southern Historical Society Papers 975 So88p 52 vols.
Gathers together papers and history of the Confederacy.

Civil War High Commands E467 .E35 2001
Info on generals who served as well as 275 officers nominated who never served; name and place index.

Roster of the Courts-Martial in the Confederate States Armies E548 .B86 2001
List of courts-martial with information on the crime and subsequent punishment, if available.

North Carolina Troops, 1861-1865: A Roster E573.3 M3 v.5

Brief biographical sketches with detailed information service in the War;

UNT owns volume 5 (infantry, 11th-15th regiments) only.

Military Order of the Loyal Legion of the United States (MOLLUS) E462.2 A65 1991
UNT owns volumes 1-66; first-hand accounts and personal narratives of officers and soldiers originally published between 1887 and 1915.

Confederate Military History: A Library of Confederate States History E484 .E93 1987 17 vols. Confederate Military History: Cumulative Index E484 .E93 C66 1987
Military history of each Confederate state; includes eyewitness battle accounts, first-hand narratives, maps, military organizational charts, and thousands of biographical sketches.

The Appomattox Paroles, April 9-15, 1865 E548 .N56 1989
List of Confederate soldiers paroled at Appomattox Court House.

Tennessee Civil War Veterans Questionnaires E494 .T46 1985 5 vols.
Results of an effort to record Tennessee veterans' experiences before, during, and after the Civil War. Also available online at < http://www.tennessee.gov/tsla/history/military/quest.htm>.

Smithsonian's Great Battles and Battlefields of the Civil War E641 .W48 1997
Descriptions of battles organized by state with color maps and photos.

Virginia Regimental Histories Series 
E581.5 [...] Infantry
E581.6 [...] Calvary
Various regiments available.

Texas Confederate Soldiers, 1861-1865 E580.3 .T48 1997 2 vols.
Name roster and unit roster; also located in Rare Books.

Encyclopedia of the Confederacy E487 .E55 1993 4 vols.
Covers campaigns and battles, biographical sketches, the economic system, and the political system of the Confederacy.

The Union Army, 1861-1865: Organizations and Operations (Welcher) E491 .W43 1989 2 vols.
Complete account of the organization of Union military divisions, departments, armies, army corps, brigades, and other special commands in the Eastern and Western theaters.

A Compendium of the War of the Rebellion (Dyer) E491 .D99 1959 3 vols.
Primarily a guide to Union army units, their activities, and organizations.

Compendium of the Confederate Armies: Texas E580 .S54 1995
Regimental histories of Confederate troops from Texas.

Compendium of the Confederate Armies: Virginia E581.4 .S55 1992
Regimental histories of Confederate troops from Virginia.

The Confederacy (Beers) CD3047 .B4 1986
"A guide to the archives of the Government of the Confederate States of America."

The Union (Beers and Munden) GovDocs Ref CD3047 .M8 1986
"A guide to federal archives relating to the Civil War."

Located on the Lower Level in the Periodical area

Southern Bivouac v.1 and v.2 (1882-1883)
"'A Monthly Literary and Historical Magazine' was published in Louisville between 1882 and 1887 by the Kentucky branch of the Southern Historical Society.  The publication included historical papers read before the association, short stories about the Civil War, sketches of soldiers distinguished in the war, poetry, and miscellaneous articles related to Southern life.  The magazine was directed at the Confederate soldier, his family, and friends of the South . . . . "

Info

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook