Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Genealogy Maps etc.
Document Actions

Genealogy

Maps etc.

Useful aids in genealogy research. Where did this happen? Where did it get its name?

Maps

How to find information with maps.

Note: The information below is taken directly from the UNT Government Documents Department's web page on maps and mapping. 

"The UNT Libraries' Map Collection, which contains some of the Libraries' maps, atlases, and posters, is housed in the Government Documents Department on the 3rd Floor of Willis Library. A few maps are listed in the UNT Library Catalog, but many are not. If you want to know if we have a map, or if you want someone to retrieve a map for you, ask for assistance at the Government Documents Service Desk on the 3rd Floor of Willis Library. Always check the publication date when you use a map or atlas. The world's borders change often these days, so the maps we have are not always up to date."

See also "Texas Land Grant Maps" under Land Acquisition above.

Maps are also located in the Rare Books and Texana Collections in the Rare Book Room. A finding aid for this collection A Finding Aid to Texas Maps Located in the Texana Collection is available on the Internet.

 

Located on the Electronic Resources database.

Note: If you are not currently affiliated with UNT, you must be on campus to access this database.

Texas Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970
Digital access to large-scale, historical fire insurance maps of Texas towns and cities.

Located on the Internet

These are free resources available to any one on any computer with access to the Internet.

Map Collections: 1500-2002 (Library of Congress) <http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/gmdhtml/gmdhome.html>
Digital images of a small fraction of the more than 4.5 million items held by the Geography and Map Division of the Library of Congress.

Perry-CastaƱeda Library Map Collection (University of Texas) <http://www.lib.utexas.edu/maps/index.html>
Online maps of general interest.

Atlases 

Where to find atlases.

In addition to those listed below, atlases may be found behind the General Reference Desk, in the call number range G1046 through G2081, and in the oversize area on the second floor of the Library. See also Ethnic and Minority Groups for atlases dealing with specific ethnic groups.

Located in General Stacks, 2nd floor, Willis Library

Rand McNally Commercial Atlas and Marketing Guide G1019 .R22 (GenRefDesk)
One of the best atlases for finding which county a city or town is located in.

Texas Atlas and Gazetteer G1370 .D4 1998 (GenRefDesk)
"Detailed maps of the entire state, back roads, city streets."

Historical Atlas of Texas F386 .S86 1989
Illustrates particular topics in Texas history with maps; includes mail routes, expeditions, land grants, and military stations. Also available in other areas of the Library.

Historical Atlas of the American West G1381 .S1 B4 1989
Includes maps of Indian tribes, reservations, trails, cattle drives, wagon roads, and railroads; includes very detailed information on Spanish and Mexican land grants in Texas and other states.

Atlas of American Migration G1201 .E27 F5 1998
Maps depicting various external and internal migrations to and within the United States from prehistory through the 1990's.

County name origins of the United States E155 .B33 2001

Gazetteers

How to find information about places.

Located in General Reference, 1st floor, Willis Library

State Names, Seals, Flags, and Symbols: A Historical Guide E155 .S44 2002
State and territory names and nicknames, mottoes, seals, flags, flowers, trees, birds, songs, holidays, fairs and festivals, and universities; with color plates.

Located in General Stacks, Willis Library

The Columbia Gazetteer of the World G103.5 .C645 1998 3 vols.
Information on locations throughout the United States and the world.

Texas Gazetteer F384 .T39 1985
Brief information on geographic places that have or still exist in Texas (primarily counties, towns and cities).

Dictionary of Texas Historic Places F387 .D52 1996 2 vols.
Information on buildings, historical sites, houses, archeological sites, etc. in Texas.

The New Handbook of Texas F384 .N48 1996 4 vols.
Also available online at <http://www.tshaonline.org/handbook>.
Though not really a gazetteer, this encyclopedia provides a great deal of information on Texas places. This resource is also available at Remote Storage.

Located at Remote Storage (Advanced Arrangements Must Be Made)

Resources can be requested through the Library Materials Delivery Service. Requests are processed Monday - Friday and require at least 24 hours to be filled out and delivered.

Dead Countries of the Nineteenth and Twentieth Centuries HE6182 .H34 1998
Subtitle: "Aden to Zululand". Guide to countries, colonies, protectorates, princely states, etc. that have existed since 1800 but ceased to exist by 1998 or those that have changed names.

The Cambridge Gazetteer of the United States and Canada: A Dictionary of Places E154 .C36 1995
Only includes places in or affiliated with the United States and Canada.

Denton City Directories

Historical archive of City of Denton directories.

Located in the general stacks, Willis Library

Actual name varies from year to year

1913, 1916, 1936 F394 .D4 P6 
1959-60 F394 .D4 D46
1961 F394 .D4 G64
1966, 1969, 1971, 1973 F394 .D4 P61
1975. 1977 through 1983 F394 .D4 P611
1985 through 1992, 1994 through 1996 F394 .D4 P612
1998 F394 .D4 P613
1999 F394 .D4 P614
2000 through 2002 F394 .D4 P6141

Located in the Lower Level, Willis Library

1929 F394 .D4 P6

Located in Rare Books, 4th floor, Willis Library

1939 F394 .D4 M84

 

This page is maintained by Patricia E. Reese last modified Saturday, May 14, 2011. 12:54 PM
Info

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Pat

Contact Info

Willis Library
940-369-6426

Email me!

Other pages by me


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook