Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Genealogy Libraries
Document Actions

Genealogy

Libraries

Libraries that also have genealogical materials available.

Denton and Metroplex

Libraries in the North Texas area with genealogical resources.

Denton Public Library <http://www.cityofdenton.com/index.aspx?page=284>
Resources include a genealogy collection and a Texana room. Web site includes an index for the Denton Record Chronicle from 1991 through 2002. The index DOES NOT include obituaries, birth announcements, and marriage announcements.

Dallas Public Library - Genealogy Collection <http://dallaslibrary.org/CHS/cgc.htm>
One of the largest genealogical libraries in the United States. National in scope with all states and counties represented, as well as collections about Germany, the British Isles, and Canada. One of the most complete military service record collections in the nation.

Dallas Public Library - Texas/Dallas History and Archives <http://dallaslibrary.org/CTX/ctx.htm>
Materials related to the history and culture of the City of Dallas and the State of Texas. Resources include comprehensive runs of the Dallas Morning News and the Dallas Times Herald as well as other newspapers, Texas county tax lists, Texas Sanborn maps, Dallas and Texas high school and college yearbooks, and Texas city and phone directories.

Fort Worth Public Library - Genealogy, Local History, and Archives  http://www.fortworthgov.org/library/info/default.aspx?id=24852>
National in scope with emphasis on the southern and midwestern states and the thirteen original colonies. Resources include City of Fort Worth and Tarrant County newspapers, city and phone directories, maps, and extensive local history archival collections. Web site includes instructions on how to use the online database of obituaries from the Ft. Worth Star Telegram (1966-1993) and the Ft. Worth Press (1966-1976).

National Archives  - Southwest Regional Branch <http://www.archives.gov/facilities/tx/fort_worth.html>
This facility is one of the 11 branch depositories of the National Archives and Records Administration. It has microfilm copies of all federal census from 1790 to 1920, extensive records on the Five Civilized Tribes and other Indian nations in Oklahoma, indexes to military service records from the Revolutionary War to the Civil War, and immigration/naturalization records.

Grapevine Public Library - Genealogy Resources <http://www.grapevinetexas.gov/IndividualDepartments/Library/Genealogy/tabid/303/Default.aspx>
Collection focuses on Texas and the southwestern states; holdings include books, census microfilm, census indexes, Filby's Passenger and Immigration List Index, the Grapevine Sun Genealogical Index, and PERSI.

  • LDS Family History Center

3000 Old North Road, Denton, Texas
Phone: 940-387-3065

A "branch facility[y] of the Family History Library in Salt Lake City, Utah.  Centers provide access to most of the microfilms and microfiche in the Family History Library to help patrons identify their ancestors.  Everyone is welcome to come to the centers and use Family History Center resources."

Texas

Texas State Library and Archives - Genealogy Resources <http://www.tsl.state.tx.us/arc/genfirst.html>
"Collections include microfilm of the federal census schedules for all states through 1910, selected states from the 1920 and 1930 censuses; printed family and county histories; and a variety of Texas government records." Resources are located throughout several collections and locations. Web site includes access to locally produced indexes to military service and pension records, Republic of Texas claims, and Confederate Families Indigent lists.

Houston Public Library's Clayton Library Center for Genealogical Research <http://www.hpl.lib.tx.us/clayton/>
One of the top genealogy research libraries in the United States. Resources include an "extensive collection of U.S. and foreign books, CD-ROMs, and microfilm, and ... over 5,000 family histories."

This page is maintained by Patricia E. Reese last modified Saturday, May 14, 2011. 01:17 PM
Info

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Pat

Contact Info

Willis Library
940-369-6426

Email me!

Other pages by me


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook