Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Genealogy Ethnic Canadian
Document Actions

Genealogy

Canadian

Genealogy resources for Canada.

Located at Remote Storage (Advanced Arrangement Must Be Made)

Resources can be requested through the Library Materials Delivery Service. Requests are processed Monday - Friday and require at least 24 hours to be filled out and delivered.

Dictionary of Canadian Biography F1005 .D49 14 vols. 
Major and minor people from all walks of life and ethnic groups who lived in or visited Canada. Coverage currently from 1000 CE through 1920.

Located on the Internet

These are free resources available to any one on any computer with access to the Internet.

Canadian Genealogy Resources <http://www.genealogy.com/links/c/c-places-geographic,canada.html>
Links to helpful Canadian genealogical websites, arranged geographically.

inGeneas Database <http://www.ingeneas.com/ingeneas/index.html>
Free to search database of Canadian passenger lists, a variety of other immigration records, Ontario marriage records, and 1901 census records. A fee is charged to get a copy of the records themselves.

1881 Canadian Census Index (Family History Library) <http://www.familysearch.org>
Members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and others volunteered to do the indexing for the1 the 1881 Canadian Census, which took four years. Previously only available on CD-Rom.

Tracing Your Ancestors in Canada <http://www.archives.ca/04/0420_e.html>
A 30-page booklet about tracing your ancestors available as a PDF document. Published by the National Archives of Canada in 2001.

Archivia Net <http://www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/index-e.html>
"The National Archives of Canada's online research and consultation tool, provides access to a variety of information resources related to the actual archival holdings." Genealogical-related databases include the 1871 Ontario Census, the 1901 Canadian Census, Home Children, immigration records, Western Land Grants, and Soldiers of the First World War.

This page is maintained by Patricia E. Reese last modified Saturday, May 14, 2011. 01:03 PM
Info

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Pat

Contact Info

Willis Library
940-369-6426

Email me!

Other pages by me


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook