Ethnic
General Research
General research on different minorities and ethnicities.
Located in General Reference, 1st floor, Willis Library
Encyclopedia of American Immigration JV6465 .E53 2001
Covers immigration history, immigration issues, immigrant groups in America (vol. 3), and immigration documents.
Located in the General Stacks, Willis Library
Ethnic Genealogy: A Research Guide CS49.E83 1983
Introduction to problems that confront those who do genealogical research of Native Americans, Asian Americans, and African Americans.
American Immigrant Cultures E184 .A1 A63448 1997
Essays on 161 non-indigenous cultural groups who came and stayed in the United States.Dictionary of American Immigration History JV6450 .D53 1990
Includes information on most American ethnic groups, individuals important in American immigration history, immigrant historical socials, mutual aid societies, help groups, legislation and concepts in immigration history.
Located at Remote Storage (Advance Arrangement Must Be Made)
Resources can be requested through the Library Materials Delivery Service. Requests are processed Monday - Friday and require at least 24 hours to be filled out and delivered.
Harvard Encyclopedia of American Ethnic Groups E184 .A1 H35
Lengthy entries describing history of over 100 racial and ethnic groups in the U.S.
African-American
Resources for research on African-American families.
Located in General Reference, 1st floor, Willis Library
Organizing Black America: An Encyclopedia of African American Associations E185.5 .O74 2001
Essays on religious, professional, business, political, social, educational, secret, cultural, recreations and mutual aid associations established by and for African Americans; also includes biographical sketches of leaders of such organizations.
Located the general stacks, Willis Library
African American Genealogical Sourcebook E185.96 .A444 1995
Black Genealogy CS21.B55
Black History: A Guide to Civilian Records in the National Archives Z1361 .N39 N576 1984
Guide to records concerned with black Americans in the National Archives arranged by record group number; covers the colonial period to the 1970s.Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History E185 .E54 1996
Entries include biographical sketches, historical eras, legal battles, cultural achievements, professions, sports, and places.
Located on the Internet
These are free resources available to any one on any computer with access to the Internet.
Black Studies: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications <http://www.archives.gov/publications/microfilm-catalogs.html#black>
A catalog of the records microfilmed by NARA that pertain to African Americans in the U.S. Brief descriptions of the publication, the office that created the records, and the scope and organization of the records are generally followed by a roll-by-roll listing of the contents. Freedmen's Bureau records make up much of the catalog. Includes information on how to order the microfilm.Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938 <http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/snhtml/snhome.html>
"More than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves. These narratives were collected in the 1930s as part of the Federal Writers' Project of the Works Progress Administration (WPA) and assembled and microfilmed in 1941 as the seventeen-volume Slave Narratives: A Folk History of Slavery in the United States from Interviews with Former Slaves."Afrigeneas <http://www.afrigeneas.com/>
"A site devoted to African American genealogy, to researching African Ancestry in the Americas in particular and to genealogical research and resources in general."
Native American
Resources to assist in Native American research.
The best resources for Native American research on the Five Tribes of Oklahoma (Cherokee, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Creek, and Seminole) in the Metroplex are located at the National Archives - Southwest Regional Branch in Fort Worth. Their resources include the Dawes census cards and enrollment jackets for the Five Tribes of Oklahoma. Additionally many of the National Archives Native American records are becoming available digitally in NARA's Archival Research Catalog (ARC). Currently available are the Index to the Applications Submitted for the Eastern Cherokee Roll of 1909 (Guion Miller Roll), the Index to the Final Rolls of Citizens and Freedmen of the Five Civilized Tribes in Indian Territory (Dawes), the Wallace Rolls of Cherokee Freedmen in Indian Territory, 1890, and the Kern-Clifton Roll of Cherokee Freedman among many others.
Located in Government Documents, 3rd floor, Willis Library.
Guide to Records in the National Archives of the United States Relating to American Indians GS4.6/2:Am3
Located in the General Reference, 1st floor, Willis Library
Gale Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes E77 .G15 1998
"Historical, cultural, and current information on nearly 400 Native groups within 13 geographic regions."Atlas of the North American Indian E77 .W195 2000
Maps and extensive essays arranged by subject chronologically ; contains useful appendices and timelines.Encyclopedia of Texas Indians E78 .T4 E53 1999
Information on general Texas Indian history, individual tribes, biographical sketches, photographs, treaties, and maps.Biographical Dictionary of American Indian History to 1900 E89 .W35 2001
Biographical sketches of Indians and non-Indians who impacted Native groups (positively and negatively) in what is now the United States and Canada before 1900.
Located in the General Stacks, 2nd floor, Willis Library
The Dawes Commission and the Allotment of the Five Civilized Tribes, 1893-1914 E78 .I5 C37 1999
Introduction to the records of the Dawes Commission written by the director of the National Archives - Southwest Regional Branch.
Located at Remote Storage (Advanced Arrangement Must Be Made)
Resources can be requested through the Library Materials Delivery Service. Requests are processed Monday - Friday and require at least 24 hours to be filled out and delivered.
Biographical and Historical Index of American Indians and Persons Involved in Indian Affairs Z1209 .U5
Lists names of Indian agents, historical prominent Indians, and other personnel of the Bureau of Indian Affairs from materials in journals, books, and other documents in other libraries and the BIA's personnel collection
Located on the Internet
These are free resources available to any one on any computer with access to the Internet.
American Indians: A Select Catalog of National Archives Microfilm Publications
http://www.archives.gov/publications/genealogy/microfilm-catalogs.html#indianWWW Virtual Library - American Indians <http://www.hanksville.org/NAresources/
Index of Native American resources on the Internet.
Asian-American
Research on Asian migrations in the US.
Located in the General Reference, 1st floor, Willis Library
Atlas of Asian American History E184 .O6 .A89 2002
Illustrates the history of immigration, migration, and acculturation of the Chinese, Japanese, Korean, Asian-Indian, Filipino, and Southeast Asians in the United States.Encyclopedia of Japanese American History: An A to Z Reference from 1868 to the Present E184 .J3 E53 2001
Presents a narrative historical overview, a chronological of Japanese American history, and entries pertaining to the history of Japanese American individuals.
Located on the Internet
This is a free resource available to any one on any computer with access to the Internet.
Early Arrivals Records Search (EARS)
http://casefiles.berkeley.edu/
Case Files for Early Immigrants to San Francisco and Hawaii; indexes case files providing the case file number and some basic identifying information
Canadian
Genealogy resources for Canada.
Located at Remote Storage (Advanced Arrangement Must Be Made)
Resources can be requested through the Library Materials Delivery Service. Requests are processed Monday - Friday and require at least 24 hours to be filled out and delivered.
Dictionary of Canadian Biography F1005 .D49 14 vols.
Major and minor people from all walks of life and ethnic groups who lived in or visited Canada. Coverage currently from 1000 CE through 1920.
Located on the Internet
These are free resources available to any one on any computer with access to the Internet.
Canadian Genealogy Resources <http://www.genealogy.com/links/c/c-places-geographic,canada.html>
Links to helpful Canadian genealogical websites, arranged geographically.inGeneas Database <http://www.ingeneas.com/ingeneas/index.html>
Free to search database of Canadian passenger lists, a variety of other immigration records, Ontario marriage records, and 1901 census records. A fee is charged to get a copy of the records themselves.1881 Canadian Census Index (Family History Library) <http://www.familysearch.org>
Members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and others volunteered to do the indexing for the1 the 1881 Canadian Census, which took four years. Previously only available on CD-Rom.Tracing Your Ancestors in Canada <http://www.archives.ca/04/0420_e.html>
A 30-page booklet about tracing your ancestors available as a PDF document. Published by the National Archives of Canada in 2001.Archivia Net <http://www.collectionscanada.gc.ca/index-e.html>
"The National Archives of Canada's online research and consultation tool, provides access to a variety of information resources related to the actual archival holdings." Genealogical-related databases include the 1871 Ontario Census, the 1901 Canadian Census, Home Children, immigration records, Western Land Grants, and Soldiers of the First World War.
Texas
Ethnic migrations into Texas.
New Homes in a New Land: German Immigration to Texas 1846-1861 F395.G3G39
List of 5,600 German immigrants compiled from 105 passenger lists; information includes age, family, residence in Europe, name of ship, date of departure from Germany, arrival in Texas, and name of county where settled.A New Land Beckoned: German Immigration to Texas, 1844 - 1847 F395 .G3 G4
Lists over 4,000 immigrants compiled form German and Texan ship passenger lists which include age, family, place of residence in Europe, name of ship, and dates of departure and arrival.The First Polish Colonies of America in Texas: Containing Also the General History of the Polish People in Texas F395 .P7 D9 1969
Identifies early Polish Catholic settlements in Texas.