Genealogy
Land Acquisition
Land records can be found in a variety of
sources. In addition to the resources listed below, land records may be
found in state, county, and local genealogical and historical society
publications including journals.
Texas
Texas land documents. Abstracts and GrantsLocated in Government Documents, 3rd floor, Willis Library
Abstract of All Original Texas Land Titles Comprising Grants and Locations to August 31, 1941 GovDocs Ref TxD L600.8 Ab89
The major guide to land records in Texas.Abstract of All Original Texas Land Titles...: Supplement GovDocs Ref TxD L600.8 Ab89 Suppl
UNT owns supplements A - E and I.Texas Land Grant Maps.
Search under the title "Land Grant Maps Tex" to locate all 271 county maps in the online catalog. These maps may be used with Abstracts of All Original Grants and Locations Comprising Texas Land Titles and its supplements.Guide to Spanish and Mexican Land Grants in South Texas. TxD L600.5 G941s 1988
Revision of V. Taylor's Index to Spanish and Mexican Land Grants; includes an index to grants by family and ranch names.Texas Family Land Heritage Registry. TxD A900.5 F21 12 vols.
Documents histories of farms and ranches that have been in continuous agricultural operation by the same family for at least 100 years.
Located in Rare Books, 4th floor, Willis Library
Bounty and Donation Land Grants of Texas, 1835 - 1888 Ref UB374 .T4 M5
Name index to military bound and donation land grants of Texas. Those from 1835 through 1846 are available online at <http://www.mindspring.com/~dmaxey/home.htm>.
Located on the Internet
This is a free resource available to any one on any computer with access to the Internet.
Texas Land Grants
<http://www.glo.state.tx.us/archives/landgrant.html>
Comprehensive information about the types of land grants offered by Texas throughout history.
Located in the general stacks, Willis Library
The Public Lands of Texas, 1519-1970 HD243 .T4 M55
Background information on the public lands in Texas.They Also Served: Texas Service Records From Headright Certificates F385 .T53 1991
Texas veterans eligible for First Class Land Grants in 1838.Other States
Located in the general stacks, Willis Library
The New American State Papers: Public Lands HD171 .A222 1973 8 vols.Drawn together from the original American State Papers published between 1832 and 1861, the serial volumes of the official documents of the U.S. Congress, and the Legislative Records Section of the National Archives and Records Administration.
Federal Land Series KF5675 .A73 S6 4 vols.
"A Calendar of Archival Materials on the Land Patents issued by the United States Government, with subject, tract, and name indexes." Catalogs and describes over 14,000 documents created between 1788 and 1835 and indexes over 35,000 individuals named in those records. Primarily covers Ohio but also includes patents for settlers in Alabama, Illinois, Indiana, Louisiana, and Tennessee.The Susquehanna Company Papers F157 .W9 S97 10 vols.
The Company dealt with Connecticut's distribution of land in Pennsylvania to over 5,000 settlers; documents are drawn form public and private sources and each volume is individually indexed.
Spanish and Mexican Land Grants in California HD211 .C2 A93 1973
Spanish and Mexican Land Grants in New Mexico and Colorado HD211 .N6 S67
The Promised Land: The History of the South Carolina Land Commission, 1869-1890 F266 .T7 no.1
Explanation of records produced by this commission that assisted approximately 14,000 black families settle in South Carolina.HD211 English Crown Grants for Parishes of St. David, St. Patrick, St. Thomas [and] St. Mary in Georgia, 1755-1775 .G4 H45
The Preston and Virginia Papers of the Draper Collection of Manuscripts 977.5 W753pc v.1
Taken from a calendar from the Draper Manuscripts Collection; frequently notes land records.English Duplicates of Lost Virginia Records 975.5 D455e
Lists the 1704 quitrents of Virginia among other records.The Vestry Book of the Upper Parish, Nansemond County, Virginia,1743-1793 975.5 Up6v
First Settlers of South Carolina, 1670-1680 F266 .S6 no.1
Table of names taken from a variety of sources; when available, the information includes names, family members, occupation and title, servants and slaves, and plaice of origin and date of arrival.Located in Government Documents, 3rd floor, Willis Library
The Territorial Papers of the United States S 1.36:4 and S 1.36:5
Official records of various Federal territories that eventually became states. The types of items of interest to genealogists include letters, maps, postal schedules, muster rolls, appointments, voter lists, jury lists, and petitions to Congress. The Territorial Papers cover areas that had a sparse population and where there may be no local records. Additionally, they cover a time period before federal census records. Texas is not covered in this series, but territories covered that may be of interest include Mississippi, Arkansas, Louisiana, and Missouri, as well as many others.Located on the Internet
This is a free resource available to any one on any computer with access to the Internet.
The Official Federal Land Patents Records Site (General Land Office Records at the Bureau of Land Management)
<http://www.glorecords.blm.gov/>
Access to Federal land conveyance records for the Public Land States with image access to more than two million Federal land title records for Eastern Public Land States, issued between 1820 and 1908. Images of Serial patents (land titles issued between 1908 and the mid-1960's) are currently being added to this web site. Due to organization of documents in the GLO collection, this site does not currently contain every Federal title record issued for the Public Land States. A source of information on the initial transfer of land titles from the Federal government to individuals. In addition to verifying title transfer, this information will allow the researcher to associate an individual (Patentee, Assignee, Warrantee, Widow, or Heir) with a specific location (Legal Land Description) and time (Issue Date).