Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Genealogy Census Census Records and Indexes
Document Actions

Genealogy

Census Records and Indexes

Information on how to find and what is in census records

Printed and online indexes - Texas

1820 - 1839

These are not true census indexes in that they don't actually index an official census, but rather primary and secondary sources where individual people are named or stated to be in Texas at a particular time period. The sources indexed are listed in the books.

Located in the general stacks, Willis Library

Texas 1820 - 1829 Census Index F385 .T4812 1981
Texas 1830 - 1839 Census Index
F385 .J15 1982
Texas 1840 - 1849 Census Records, Volume
1 F385 .T4814 1981 v.1

1840 - 1920

The following printed indexes for the Texas censuses are available for the years 1850 through 1880 at the Microforms Reference Desk, Lower Level, Willis Library.

Texas 1850 Census Index Microforms RefDesk F385 .T4815 1984
Texas 1860 Census Index
Microforms RefDesk F385 .T482 1985
Texas 1870
Microforms RefDesk F385 .J17 1987
Texas 1880 Federal Census Index
Microforms RefDesk F385 .T4828 1989

Located on the Internet

This is a free resource available to any one on any computer with access the Internet.

Family History Library's 1880 U.S. Census Index  <http://www.familysearch.org>
"Members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and others volunteered to do the indexing for the1880 U.S. Census, which took 17 years" and was previously only available on CD-Rom.

Located in Rare Books, 4th floor, Willis Library.

1890 Texas Census Index of Civil War Veterans or Their Widows Rare Books Ref E494 .D585 1992
Note: The UNT Libraries do not own the actual 1890 census, just this index.

Soundex - Texas

Where to find the Soundex for Texas What is the Soundex:

For the years 1880 through 1920, a special index was created called the Soundex - a system that groups surnames by sound rather than by spelling. All Soundex codes have an initial letter followed by three numbers. The 1880 Soundex includes only families with children under 10 years of age. In 1910, some states use a Miracode index rather than the Soundex. The Miracode is just a modified version of the Soundex with the difference being that the Miracode shows visitation numbers of the household rather than the line and page number shown on the Soundex. Note: All Soundex and Miracode indexes are only available on microfilm.

The Soundex for the 1900 and 1910 Texas census is available in the Microforms area of Willis Library, located on the Lower Level. Note: The UNT Libraries only owns the partial 1920 Soundex for Texas. There is no Soundex for the 1930 Texas census.

Soundex Guides and Conversion Programs

How to decipher the Soundex

Located in Government Documents, 3rd floor, Willis Library Using the Census Soundex GovDocs Ref AE 1.113:55/997

Located on the Internet

These are free resources available to any one on any computer with access to the Internet

RootsWeb's Soundex Converter  http://resources.rootsweb.com/cgi-bin/soundexconverter

Yet Another Soundex Converter (YASC)
  http://www.bradandkathy.com/genealogy/yasc.html

Texas Census Records available at UNT

Texas related census type records available here.

1790 - 1840

Though the federal decennial census began in 1790, there are no federal censuses available for Texas before 1850 because Texas didn't become a state until 1845. No censuses were taken under the Republic of Texas (1836-45) although tax rolls can serve as a substitute for those years. Consult Ancestry's Red Book Ref CS49 .A55 1991 for a discussion of the various censuses taken under the Spanish and Mexican governments. These volumes also serve as substitutes for these years. Much like the indexes for this time period, these volumes take names from primary and secondary sources other than actual census records.

Published records for this period

Located in Rare Books, 4th floor, Willis Library

1830 Citizens of Texas Rare Books Ref F385 .W52 1983
1840 Census of the Republic of Texas
Texana F390 .W59
Stephen F. Austin's Register of Families: From the Originals in the General Land Office, Austin, Texas
Rare Books Ref F385 .A895 1996

Located in General Stacks, 2nd floor, Willis Library

Citizens of the Republic of Texas Ref F385 .C57 1979

1850 - 1930

Available on microfilm in the Microforms department, lower level, Willis Library.

1850, Free Schedules, M432, Rolls 908 - 916
1860, Free Schedules,
M653, Rolls 1287 - 1308
1870,
M593
1880,
T9
1900, T623; Soundex,
T1073
1910, T624; Soundex,
T1277
1920, T625; Soundex,
M1589
1930, T626

Slave schedules

1850, M432, Rolls 917 - 918
1860,
M653, Rolls 1309 - 1312

Accessible from the Electronic Resources database
Note: If you are not currently affiliated with UNT, you must be on campus to use this database.

HeritageQuest Online
Currently HeritageQuest Online has the census images for the state of Texas for the years 1860, 1870, 1880, 1890 (fragments), 1910, 1920, and 1930. Not all censuses are available for searching but all are available for browsing.

 Non-Population Census Schedules for Texas, 1850 - 1880

"Non-population census schedules consist of agricultural, mortality, industry/manufactures, and defective, dependent, and delinquent classes schedules as well as social statistics. The Bureau of the Census did not take all of these censuses in all years. All but social statistics include names." The UNT Library does not own any of the 1850 - 1880 mortality schedules for the state of Texas.

Agricultural

Data about farms that met certain dollar value production; includes the name of the owner, agent or tenant along with information about acreage, livestock, and produce

1850, T1134, Rolls 2 - 3 No Roll 1 exists for microfilm publication T1134
1860, T1134, Rolls 3 - 7
1870, T1134, Rolls 7 - 12
1880, T1134, Rolls 13 - 44

Defective, Dependent, and Delinquent Classes

Data collected only in 1880 about the insane, "idiots", deaf-mutes, the blind, homeless children in institutions, prisoners, and paupers and indigents.

1880, T1134, Rolls 49 - 52 UNT does not own roll 53 which completes the series

Industry/Manufacturers

Data about various manufacturing, mining, fishers and other mercantile, commercial and trading businesses; type of institutions enumerated and information collected varied from year to year.

1850, T1134, Roll 45
1860, T1134, Rolls 45 - 46
1870, T1134, Rolls 47 - 49

Social Statistics

Generally provide data on crime, real estate, wages, churches, schools, newspapers, libraries, and public debt. No names are included.

1850, T1134, Roll 44
1860, T1134, Rolls 44 - 45
1870, T1134, Roll 45

Other State's Census Records available at UNT

Other states microfilmed census records available and Electronic resources access.

The UNT Libraries own some census records for other states for the years 1790 – 1820 only. The Microfilm may be found in the Microforms deparment, lower level, Willis Library and the print resources may be found in the Government Documents department Location, 3rd floor, Willis Library, GovDocs Reference C.311: Additionally other states' census records may be found through HeritageQuest Online.

Connecticut (1790 – 1820 Microfilm; 1790 Print)
Delaware (1800 – 1820 Microfilm)
District of Columbia (1800, 1820 Microfilm)
Georgia (1820 Microfilm)
Illinois (1820 Microfilm)
Indiana (1820 Microfilm)
Kentucky (1810 – 1820 Microfilm)
Louisiana (1810 – 1820 Microfilm)
Maine (1790 – 1820; Microfilm; 1790 Print)
Maryland (1790 – 1820 Microfilm; 1790 Print)
Massachusetts (1790 – 1820 Microfilm; 1790 Print)
Mississippi (1820 Microfilm)
New Hampshire (1790 – 1820 Microfilm)
New York (1790 – 1820 Microfilm; 1790 Print)
North Carolina (1790 – 1820; Microfilm; 1790 Print)
Ohio (1820 Microfilm)
Pennsylvania (1790 – 1820 Microfilm; 1790 Print)
Rhode Island (1790 – 1820 Microfilm; 1790 Print)
South Carolina (1790 – 1820 Microfilm; 1790 Print)
Tennessee (1810 – 1820 Microfilm)
Vermont (1790 – 1820 Microfilm; 1790 Print)
Virginia (1810 – 1820 Microfilm; 1790 Print)

This page is maintained by Patricia E. Reese last modified Saturday, May 14, 2011. 12:39 PM
Info

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Pat

Contact Info

Willis Library
940-369-6426

Email me!

Other pages by me


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook