Genealogy
Archives and Libraries
How to find Libraries and Archives for Genealogical research.
Located in General Reference, 1st floor, Willis Library
Guide to Genealogical Research in the National Archives Z5313 .U5 U54 2000
Published and written by staff at the National Archives, this book includes descriptions of record group series, research strategies, and extensive tables showing specific NARA holdings.
Located in the General Stacks, Willis Library
The University of Texas Archives: A Guide to the Historical Manuscripts Collections in the University of Texas Library CD3539 .A8 T4
Comprehensive guide to collections located in the UT Library. (1967)Guide to the National Archives of the United States CD3023 .U53 1987
Detailed description of record groups accessioned by the National Archives.A Bibliography of American County Histories Z1250 .F54 1985
Compilation of "all county histories of any consequence up to the present time"; excludes "Biographies of Prominent Men..." and "Portrait and Biographical Histories...".
Located in Government Documents, 3rd floor, Willis Library.
Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States. GovDocs Ref AE 1.108:G 94/
Detailed description of record groups accessioned by the National Archives includes agency history, record location, finding aids, security classification, and related records. Also available online at <http://www.archives.gov/research_room/federal_records_guide/>.The Archives: A Guide to the National Archives Field Branches GovDocs Ref CD3026 1988
Detailed inventories of the holdings at regional branches of the National Archives including the Southwest Regional branch in Fort Worth.Genealogical Research at the Library of Congress LC 1.2:G 28/2001; also available online at <http://lcweb.loc.gov/rr/genealogy/bib_guid/guide0.html>
Guide to genealogical resources available at the Library of CongressGuide to Genealogical Resources in the Texas State Archives Ref TxD L1900.5 G941g 1984
Genealogical Records in Texas Ref F386 .K46 1987
Includes helpful Texas history and county information; includes county records availability and location.Directory of Archives and Manuscript Repositories in the United States Ref CD3020 .D49 1988
Descriptions of about 1,400 repositories in the United States. (1988). Also see ArchivesUSA
Located in the Rare Book Room, 4th floor, Willis Library.
Directory of American Libraries with Genealogy and Local History Collections Ref Z675 .G44 F56 1988
Brief descriptions of genealogy collections at over 1,500 public and university libraries, state archives, historical societies, and other libraries.
Located in Reference, Discovery Park Library
The Library: A Guide to the LDS Family History Library Z733 .C55 L53 1988
"Separate chapters are devoted to records for each region of the U.S. and countries abroad."
Located at Remote Storage (Advanced Arrangements Must Be Made)
Resources can be requested through the Library Materials Delivery Service. Requests are processed Monday - Friday and require at least 24 hours to be filled out and delivered.
A Guide to Archives and Manuscripts in the United States CD3022 .A45
Dated but still useful guide to holdings of about 1,300 depositories in the United States, District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the Panama Zone. (1961)U.S. Local Histories in the Library of Congress: A Bibliography Z1250 .U59 1975 4 vols.
List of local histories in the Library of Congress as of 1976.
Accessible from the Electronic Resources database
Note: If you are not currently affiliated with UNT, you must be on campus to access this database.
Archives USA
A current directory of over 5,400 repositories and over 124,400 collections of primary source materials across the United States. Included are the National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (1959 to current), the contents from National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the United States, and collection descriptions submitted directly from repositories as well as links to online finding aids.
Located on the Internet
This is a free resource available to any one on any computer with access to the Internet.
National Archives and Records Administration's Genealogy Page <http://www.archives.gov/research/genealogy/index.html>
Provides approaches to genealogical research, information about records available from NARA, and online essays about a large variety of research topics.