Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Genealogy Books and Guides
Document Actions

Books and Guides

Locating Books

Tips for locating books for genealogical research.

Locating Genealogy books in the UNT Libraries

How to find genealogy books in the library
For books on genealogy, including "how-to's", guides, published genealogies, and town and county histories, first consult the online catalog. The online catalog contains materials added to the collection since 1979. For some older materials, you may want to also consult the card catalog located on the first floor of the library. It is possible to search by subject, author, or title in either catalog. Additionally it is possible to search by keyword in the online catalog. Subject headings can be found in the Library of Congress Subject Headings (the red books) located near the reference desk. Entries in the online catalog include basic information about the book (bibliographic information) and a call number that identifies the book's physical location within the library.

If you know the author or title of the book, you should search by the author or title fields.

If you want to find published family histories, you should search the subject field using the last name followed by the word "family" (example: Adams Family). Note: Subject headings usually only list the most prominent names in the book. Other surnames may certainly be found within the book's content.

To locate local histories, you should search the subject field using the name of the locality (town, city, county, or state) followed by the word "history" (example: Denton County Tex history). A list of city and county histories available in the Texana Collection  and at the general reference desk in a notebook.

Books available electronically

Family history related works available on the Web.

UNT also provides access to ProQuest's HeritageQuest Online, (formerly Genealogy and Local History Online), a collection of genealogies, local histories, and genealogical periodicals from all 50 states, Canada, and the British Isles. This collection is often found in microfiche at other libraries. The digitization is not  complete at this time (06/2004) and new content is being added. The images of all available U.S. federal censuses 1790 through 1890 (fragments) and 1900 through 1930 are also available. Only some of the censuses can be searched at this time. Note: If you are not currently affiliated with UNT, you must be on campus to access this database.

The Making of America (MoA) projects at the University of Michigan and Cornell University provide full-text access to books and periodicals that are genealogy and/or history related. Note: The collections at each university are different. The Official Records is available through the Cornell site. These are free Internet resources available to any one on any computer with access to the Internet.

The Library of Congress' American Memory Project also contains many digitized collections that provide access to books and periodicals that are genealogy and/or history related. This is a free Internet resource available to any one on any computer with access to the Internet.

Locating books in other libraries

How can I find out what other libraries have?

There are a variety of ways to locate books and journals in other libraries. If you would like to search a particular library in Texas, there is a list of links to other online catalogs and library home pages. You can also search the WorldCat database. WorldCat catalogs and describes items owned by libraries across the country. It does not include individual articles in journals. Note: If you are not currently affiliated with UNT, you must be on campus to access this database.

General Research

Guides on where to find general information for family history research.

Located in General Reference, 1st floor, Willis Library

The Genealogist's Companion and Sourcebook CS47 .C75 2003
How-to book explains and details collection and libraries in the United States and their records.

International Vital Records Handbook CS42.7 .K46 2000
Application forms and ordering information for vital records.

Genealogical Encyclopedia of the Colonial Americas CS49 .S32 1998
Shows where most important records of the Western hemisphere during the colonial period are located and how to access them.

American Census Handbook CS49 .K4 2001
Guide to published census indexes available in print, online, and in other formats.

The Great War: A Guide to the Service Records of All the World's Fighting Men and Volunteers Z6207 .E8 S29 1998
Guide to locating World War I service records of soldiers from all participating countries in the war.

Guide to Naturalization Records of the United States CS49 .S28 1997
Essential tool for identifying the location and availability of naturalization records at the state and county level.

Located in the General Stacks, Willis Library

The Source: A Guidebook of American Genealogy CS49 .S65 1997Most comprehensive guide to all aspects of genealogical research including where to find records and how to use them.

Ancestry's Red Book: American State, County, and Town Sources CS49 .A55 1991
Guide to the most useful genealogical resources in each state; essential for learning when various records began in various counties.

Virtual Roots: A Guide to Genealogy and Local History on the World Wide Web
CS21 .K46 1997
Lists web sites of archives, libraries, genealogical and historical societies, and family associations along with other sites that collect and provide meaningful genealogical data.

The Librarian's Genealogy Notebook CS9 .M66 1998
Designed to locate resources in all types of libraries that can help genealogists; has helpful classification schedules and date lists.

Compendium of Historical Sources CS49 .B74 1997
Collection of information on a variety of genealogy and history-related resources including some unusual lists and charts.

The Genealogists' Virtual Library Z5311 .K46 2000
Bibliography of full-text books and journals available on the Internet.

Located in Government Documents, 3rd floor, Willis Library

Researcher's Guide to American Genealogy GovDocs Ref CS47 .G79 2000
Discusses what information records contain, how to find them, and how to use them.

The Handy Book for Genealogists GovDocs Ref CS47 .H36 2002
Genealogical guide to every state and county in the U.S. with information about county creation and information about archives, libraries, and societies, and print resources.

Where to Write for Vital Records HE 20.6210/2: ;also located online at <http://www.cdc.gov/nchs/howto/w2w/w2welcom.htm>
Up-to-date information about prices and where to write for vital records.

Located at Remote Storage (Advanced Arrangements Must Be Made)

Resources can be requested through the Library Materials Delivery Service. Requests are processed Monday - Friday and require at least 24 hours to be filled out and delivered.

Printed Sources: A Guide to Published Genealogical Records Z5311 .P75 1998
Guide to locating records and indexes that have been published in print and electronic formats.

Located on the Internet

These are free resources available to any one on any computer with access to the Internet.

Cyndi's List
<http://www.cyndislist.com>
The Internet's best-known genealogy portal and categorized and cross-referenced index to genealogical and family history-related Web pages. Boasts more than 170,000 links in 150 categories; it's been visited by 27 million-plus genealogists. 

The U.S. Gen Web Project
<http://www.usgenweb.com>
Web sites developed by a "group of volunteers working together to provide Internet websites for genealogical research in every county and every state of the United States. This Project is non-commercial and fully committed to free access for everyone." 

Family History Library  <www.familysearch.org>
Search for ancestors in the Family History Library's Ancestral File, International Genealogical Index (IGI), Pedigree Resource File, and Vital Records Index as well as the 1880 census and Social Security Death Index. Discover what resources the FHL has available on microfilm and in-print through the Library's online catalog, and get help with detailed research guides to locations in the United States and worldwide (excellent when beginning research in a new location).

Rootsweb.com <http://www.rootsweb.com>
"The oldest and largest FREE genealogy site, supported by Ancestry.com." Search user contributed databases, family trees, and family surnames.

Ancestry.com <http://search.ancestry.com/>
Fee-based site with many free resources including how-to articles and genealogical columns.

Federation of Genealogical Societies <http://www.fgs.org>
Source of information about FGS' national conference for genealogists of all skill levels. Also a place to purchase conference syllabi from past years' conferences.

Association of Professional Genealogists <http://www.apgen.org>
Information not only on how to become a professional genealogist but how to hire a professional genealogist; includes the professional genealogists' code of ethics.

National Genealogical Society <http://www.ngsgenealogy.org>
Learn about the organization's research services, membership opportunities, conferences for genealogists of all skill levels, and publications available for sale including conference syllabi from past years' conferences.

Archives and Libraries

How to find Libraries and Archives for Genealogical research.

Located in General Reference, 1st floor, Willis Library

Guide to Genealogical Research in the National Archives Z5313 .U5 U54 2000
Published and written by staff at the National Archives, this book includes descriptions of record group series, research strategies, and extensive tables showing specific NARA holdings.

Located in the General Stacks, Willis Library

The University of Texas Archives: A Guide to the Historical Manuscripts Collections in the University of Texas Library CD3539 .A8 T4
Comprehensive guide to collections located in the UT Library. (1967)

Guide to the National Archives of the United States CD3023 .U53 1987
Detailed description of record groups accessioned by the National Archives.

A Bibliography of American County Histories Z1250 .F54 1985
Compilation of "all county histories of any consequence up to the present time"; excludes "Biographies of Prominent Men..." and "Portrait and Biographical Histories...".

Located in Government Documents, 3rd floor, Willis Library.

Guide to Federal Records in the National Archives of the United States. GovDocs Ref AE 1.108:G 94/ 
Detailed description of record groups accessioned by the National Archives includes agency history, record location, finding aids, security classification, and related records. Also available online at <http://www.archives.gov/research_room/federal_records_guide/>.

The Archives: A Guide to the National Archives Field Branches GovDocs Ref CD3026 1988
Detailed inventories of the holdings at regional branches of the National Archives including the Southwest Regional branch in Fort Worth.

Genealogical Research at the Library of Congress LC 1.2:G 28/2001; also available online at <http://lcweb.loc.gov/rr/genealogy/bib_guid/guide0.html>
Guide to genealogical resources available at the Library of Congress

Guide to Genealogical Resources in the Texas State Archives Ref TxD L1900.5 G941g 1984

Genealogical Records in Texas Ref F386 .K46 1987
Includes helpful Texas history and county information; includes county records availability and location.

Directory of Archives and Manuscript Repositories in the United States Ref CD3020 .D49 1988
Descriptions of about 1,400 repositories in the United States. (1988). Also see ArchivesUSA

Located in the Rare Book Room, 4th floor, Willis Library.

Directory of American Libraries with Genealogy and Local History Collections Ref Z675 .G44 F56 1988
Brief descriptions of genealogy collections at over 1,500 public and university libraries, state archives, historical societies, and other libraries.

Located in Reference, Discovery Park Library

The Library: A Guide to the LDS Family History Library Z733 .C55 L53 1988
"Separate chapters are devoted to records for each region of the U.S. and countries abroad."

Located at Remote Storage (Advanced Arrangements Must Be Made)

Resources can be requested through the Library Materials Delivery Service. Requests are processed Monday - Friday and require at least 24 hours to be filled out and delivered.

A Guide to Archives and Manuscripts in the United States CD3022 .A45
Dated but still useful guide to holdings of about 1,300 depositories in the United States, District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and the Panama Zone. (1961)

U.S. Local Histories in the Library of Congress: A Bibliography Z1250 .U59 1975 4 vols.
List of local histories in the Library of Congress as of 1976.

Accessible from the Electronic Resources database

Note: If you are not currently affiliated with UNT, you must be on campus to access this database.

Archives USA
A current directory of over 5,400 repositories and over 124,400 collections of primary source materials across the United States. Included are the National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections (1959 to current), the contents from National Inventory of Documentary Sources in the United States, and collection descriptions submitted directly from repositories as well as links to online finding aids.

Located on the Internet

This is a free resource available to any one on any computer with access to the Internet.

National Archives and Records Administration's Genealogy Page <http://www.archives.gov/research/genealogy/index.html>
Provides approaches to genealogical research, information about records available from NARA, and online essays about a large variety of research topics.

Info

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Pat

Contact Info

Willis Library
940-369-6426

Email me!

Other pages by me


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook