Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Genealogy Biography National Biographical Encyclopedias
Document Actions

Genealogy

National Biographical Encyclopedias

Located in General Reference, 1st floor, Willis Library

American National Biography CT213 .A68 1999
About 175,000 biographies of men and women who have shaped the U.S.; subjects have died before 1996.

Dictionary of American Biography E176 .D56 20 vols.
Descriptive biographies of prominent people in the U.S.

Located in the General Stacks, Willis Library

Dictionary of National Biography DA28 .D47 1967
About 30,000 articles on citizens of the British Commonwealth and British subjects.

Who's Who in America E663 .W56
Brief biographical sketches of notable people in the U.S.

Sibley's Harvard Graduates LD2139 .S5
Biographical sketches of every student who attended Harvard College.
UNT only owns vols. 11 - 13 (1741-1755) of the 17 volume set.

Appleton's Cyclopedia of American Biography 920 Ap53 6 vols.
Biographical sketches published between 1887 and 1889; may have nearly 200 fictitious entries.

The National Cyclopaedia of American Biography - Current Series. E176 .N2812  
UNT owns v.1, 3-13.

Biographical Sketches of the Graduates of Yale College: With Annals of the College History 920 Ya12d
6 volumes. Covers period 1701-1815. Supplemented by Biographical Notices of Yale College Graduates (below).

Biographical Notices of Graduates of Yale College: Including Those Graduated in Classes Later Than 1815, Who Are Not Commemorated in the Annual Obituary Records 920 Ya12de
Covers period from 1815 through 1860.

Located at Remote Storage (Advanced Arrangements Must Be Made)

Resources can be requested through the Library Materials Delivery Service. Requests are processed Monday - Friday and require at least 24 hours to be filled out and delivered.

Current Biography (1940 - current) CT100 .C8
Received annually. Provides biographical sketches of living (when published) persons in a variety of professions and fields.

Encyclopedia of Frontier Biography F596 .T487 1990
About 4,500 entries on people of any race or sex who were significant or of interest in connection with the American frontier.

Dictionary of Canadian Biography F1005 .D49
Arranged chronologically by death date.

Who Was Who in America E176 .W64
Sketches of individuals somehow related to the history of the U.S.

The National Cyclopaedia of American Biography - Permanent Series E176 .N28
63 vols.
Very comprehensive.

This page is maintained by Patricia E. Reese last modified Wednesday, September 02, 2009. 04:27 PM
Info

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Pat

Contact Info

Willis Library
940-369-6426

Email me!

Other pages by me


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook