Biography
National Indexes
For book-length biographies of individuals, consult the online catalog. Also see the Books section, above. One suggested subject heading to search under is Last name, first name - biography.
Accessible from the Electronic Resources database.
Note: If you are not currently affiliated with UNT, you must be on campus to access these databases.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
Indexes current and retrospective biographical sources.Biography Index
Contains biographical information from more than 2,700 English-language periodicals and books for all subject areas; also available in print (see below)
Located in Remote Storage (Advanced Arrangements Must Be Made)
Resources can be requested through the Library Materials Delivery Service. Requests are processed Monday - Friday and require at least 24 hours to be filled out and delivered.
Biography Index Z5301 .B5 v.1 (1946/49) - v.23 (1996/97)
See electronic resource above.People in History CT210 .P5 v. 1 - 2
"An index to U.S. and Canadian biographies in History journals and dissertations."People in World History Z5301 .P51 v. 1 - 2
"An index to biographies in History journals and dissertations covering all countries of the world except Canada and the U.S."
Located in the General Stacks, 2nd floor, Willis Library
New York Times Obituaries Index (1858 - 1978) CT 213 .N47
Lists citations for obituaries published in the New York Times.
Located in Microforms, Lower level, Willis Library.
BIO-BASE Microfiche MicF 333Index on microfiche to biographical information in over 600 sources.
National Bibliographies
Located in the General Stacks, 3rd floor, Willis Library
A Bibliography of American Autobiographies Z1224 .K3
Lists over 6,000 autobiographies published before 1945.
Located in Remote Storage (Advanced Arrangements Must Be Made)
Resources can be requested through the Library Materials Delivery Service. Requests are processed Monday - Friday and require at least 24 hours to be filled out and delivered.
Platte River Road Narratives: A Descriptive Bibliography of Travel Over the Great Central Overland Route to Oregon, California, Utah, Colorado, Montana, and Other Western States and Territories, 1812-1866 Z 1251 .W5 M37 1988
Annotated bibliography of thousands of accounts by emigrants who traveled over the Platte River Road between 1812 and 1866.
Black Americans in Autobiography Z1361 .N39 B67
"An Annotated Bibliography of Autobiographies and Autobiographical Books Written Since the Civil War."Biographical Dictionaries and Related Works Z5301 .S55 1986
"An International Bibliography of Approximately 16,000 Collective Biographies."
American Biographical Dictionaries
Located in General Reference, 1st floor, Willis Library
Dictionary of American Portraits N7593 .C53
Portraits of over 4,000 important Americans from earliest times to 1905.Located in the General Stacks, Willis Library
Who's Who Among Black Americans E185.96 .W52
UNT owns various years.A Woman of the Century E176 .W691 1967
"Fourteen Hundred-Seventy Biographical Sketches Accompanied by Portraits of Leading American Women in All Walks of Life."On the Trail of the Buffalo Soldier U52 .O5 1995
"Biographies of African Americans in the U.S. Army, 1866-1917."Biographical Cyclopaedia of American Women 920 B52
Sketches of prominent American women. (1924)The Founders 920 B639
"Portraits of Persons Born Abroad Who Came to the Colonies in North America Before the Year 1701."The Mountain Men and the Fur Trade of the Far West 920 H119m
"Biographical sketches of the participants."American Biographies 920 P9262
Brief biographical sketches of prominent Americans. (1940)
Biographical Resources - Texas
Located in the General Stacks, Willis Library
- Citizens of the Republic of Texas F385 .C57 1979
Census substitution lists families living in the Republic of Texas; gives contact information for source for each family.
- History and Reminiscences of Denton County F392 .D4 B3
Includes many, many names include those of the first settlers, early taxpayers, Denton County officers, faculty members, etc. (1918)
- Texas Women of Distinction F385 .M19
Individual sketches listed under both the maiden and married name; also available in Rare Books.
- The Peters Colony of Texas: A History and Biographical Sketches of the Early Settlers F390 .C73
Individual sketches include land information; also available in Rare Books.
- Prominent Women of Texas 920 B791
Lengthy sketches of notable women in Texas. (1896)
- The Bench and Bar of Texas 976.4 L991
Biographical sketches of lawyers and judges in Texas. (1885)
- Texian Who's Who: A Biographical Dictionary of the State of Texas 920 T313
Brief biographical sketches of "notable" Texans, living and and deceased. (1937) UNT owns volume 1.
Located in Government Documents, 3rd floor, Willis Library.
- Historical Review of South-East Texas GovDocs Ref F386. H26
History of towns, communities, institutions, and people. Volume 2 is biographical sketches.
- A History of Central And Western Texas (Paddock) GovDocs Ref F386. P22
History of towns, communities, institutions, and people. Volume 2 is biographical sketches.
- A History of Greater Dallas and Vicinity GovDocs Ref F394. D2 L7
History of communities, institutions, and people. Volume 2 is biographical sketches.
- Members of the Texas Legislature, 1846-1980 GovDocs Ref JK4830. A2 1846-1980
Arranged by legislature with an alphabetical name index. Information includes member's name, district number, home town, and district description.
- Compiled Index to Elected and Appointed Officials of the Republic of Texas: 1835-1846 GovDocs Ref JK4851. C6
Transcriptions from the two registers of Elected and Appointed Officials for the Republic. Information includes name of office, date of election or appointment, date of confirmation or commissioning, county, and volume and page number.
Located in Rare Books/Texana Collection, 4th floor, Willis Library
- History of Texas World War Heroes Texana 920 H629
Brief biographical sketches of World War One soldiers with birth, education, parental, service, and death information; most sketches are accompanied by a photograph.
- History of Denton, Texas: From Its Beginning to 1960 Texana F394 .D4 B74
- The Heroes of San Jacinto Texana 976.4 D646
Biographical sketches of the men who fought at the battle of San Jacinto.
- History of Texas (Paddock) Texana 976.4 P131h 4 vols.
- History of Texas: Together with a Biographical History of Tarrant and Parker Counties Texana 976.4 H6292
- A History of Texas and Texans. Texana 976.4 J63
Volumes 2 - 5 are also available in the general stacks. Volumes 4 and 5 are biographical.
- (Austin, Stephen F.) Register of Families Ref F385 .A895 1996
- Debrett's Texas Peerage Ref F385 .B46 1983
Photos and biographies of the well-to-do in Texas.
- Early Settlers and Indian Fighters of Southwest Texas Texana 917.64 So92
Pioneer recollections from southwest Texas.
- Peters Colonists: Their Descendants and Others Who Settled North Texas F385 .Y6
Compilation of cemetery records, census data, indexes, genealogies, and miscellaneous family information.
- Biographical Gazetteer of Texas F385.B56 1985
Index of biographical sketches of prominent Texans.
- Who's Who in Texas Today F385 .W55 1968
National Biographical Encyclopedias
Located in General Reference, 1st floor, Willis Library
American National Biography CT213 .A68 1999
About 175,000 biographies of men and women who have shaped the U.S.; subjects have died before 1996.Dictionary of American Biography E176 .D56 20 vols.
Descriptive biographies of prominent people in the U.S.Located in the General Stacks, Willis Library
Dictionary of National Biography DA28 .D47 1967
About 30,000 articles on citizens of the British Commonwealth and British subjects.Who's Who in America E663 .W56
Brief biographical sketches of notable people in the U.S.Sibley's Harvard Graduates LD2139 .S5
Biographical sketches of every student who attended Harvard College.
UNT only owns vols. 11 - 13 (1741-1755) of the 17 volume set.Appleton's Cyclopedia of American Biography 920 Ap53 6 vols.
Biographical sketches published between 1887 and 1889; may have nearly 200 fictitious entries.The National Cyclopaedia of American Biography - Current Series. E176 .N2812
UNT owns v.1, 3-13.Biographical Sketches of the Graduates of Yale College: With Annals of the College History 920 Ya12d
6 volumes. Covers period 1701-1815. Supplemented by Biographical Notices of Yale College Graduates (below).Biographical Notices of Graduates of Yale College: Including Those Graduated in Classes Later Than 1815, Who Are Not Commemorated in the Annual Obituary Records 920 Ya12de
Covers period from 1815 through 1860.
Located at Remote Storage (Advanced Arrangements Must Be Made)
Resources can be requested through the Library Materials Delivery Service. Requests are processed Monday - Friday and require at least 24 hours to be filled out and delivered.
Current Biography (1940 - current) CT100 .C8
Received annually. Provides biographical sketches of living (when published) persons in a variety of professions and fields.Encyclopedia of Frontier Biography F596 .T487 1990
About 4,500 entries on people of any race or sex who were significant or of interest in connection with the American frontier.Dictionary of Canadian Biography F1005 .D49
Arranged chronologically by death date.Who Was Who in America E176 .W64
Sketches of individuals somehow related to the history of the U.S.The National Cyclopaedia of American Biography - Permanent Series E176 .N28
63 vols.
Very comprehensive.