Websites
Finance Websites
American Stock Exchange
Includes profiles of Amex-listed companies, with delayed stock quotes, stock price charts, and links to company news and EDGAR filings.
URL: http://www.amex.com/
BizRefdesk
Provides statistics, surveys, trends, other blogs, alphabetical by industry.
URL: http://www.bizrefdesk.blogspot.com/
CNBC.com
Stock market news, earnings, financial, world market news and information. CNBC's official site.
URL: http://www.cnbc.com/
CNN Money
This site provides breaking news, stock quotes, government resources, and CNN reference desk.
Chicago Board of Trade
The Chicago Board of Trade is the world’s oldest derivatives (futures and futures-options) exchange. Find price quotes, charts, and other data. Most prices are 10 minute delayed snapshots, however, equity product quotes are virtually "live" with a few second delayed reporting.
URL: http://www.cbot.com/
Chicago Mercantile Exchange
Chicago Mercantile Exchange is an international marketplace enabling institutions and businesses to manage their financial risk and allocate their assets. Futures and options contracts traded at the CME include currencies, interest rates, stock indexes and agricultural commodities.
URL: http://www.cme.com/
Entrepreneur.com
Includes Business Blog, Slideshows, Podcasts, Business Forms, Special Listings, Resource Centers, Startup Guides, Business Bookstore, Opportunity Finder, Franchise Consultation, Classifieds, Special Offers, Products & Services, Magazine. Click on Tools and Services for a wide range of business startup topics.
URL: http://www.entrepreneur.com/
http://www.entrepreneur.com/formnet/startingabusinessforms.html
Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas
Provides useful, timely information about the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas, the Federal Reserve System, and the regional, national and global economies
URL: http://dallasfed.org/index.cfm
Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED)
FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data), is one of the nation's largest databases of economic time series. FRED provides Federal Reserve Board statistical releases, the Beige Book, working papers, historical data file series (monthly monetary data, interest rates, reserves, CPI, exchange rates).
Location: via URL
URL: http://www.stls.frb.org/fred/
Finance Commission of Texas
The Finance Commission is responsible for overseeing and coordinating the Texas Department of Banking, the Department of Savings and Mortgage Lending, and the Office of the Consumer Credit Commissioner and serves as the primary point of accountability for ensuring that state depository and lending institutions function as a system, considering the broad scope of the financial services industry.
URL: http://www.fc.state.tx.us/
Financial Data Finder (Ohio State University)
This is a site of financial and economic data available on the Web and elsewhere.
URL: http://fisher.osu.edu/fin/osudata.htm
Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA -- formerly NASD)
The Financial Industry Regulatory Authority (FINRA), is the largest non-governmental regulator for all securities firms doing business in the United States (Formerly National Association of Securities Dealers, NASD). FINRA was created in July 2007 through the consolidation of NASD and the member regulation, enforcement and arbitration functions of the New York Stock Exchange.
URL: http://www.finra.org/index.htm
Futures and Options Resources on the Web (via the Office for Futures and Options Research, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
Contains a large number of web sites in the following areas: U. S. and world stock & options exchanges; commodity prices and outlook; research in commodities; government resources (including Federal Reserve Bank websites); other futures, options, and related sites.
International Monetary Fund
The IMF is an organization of 184 countries, working to foster global monetary cooperation, secure financial stability, facilitate international trade, promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty
URL: http://www.imf.org/
Internet Resources for Finance (Georgia State University)
Extensive site. Contents: general financial sites, analysis, bonds, corporate financials, earnings estimates, exchange rates, exchanges (stock and commodity exchanges), indices, mergers and acquisitions, mutual funds, personal finance.
URL: http://www.library.gsu.edu/research/resources.asp?ldID=20&guideID=0&resourceID=1
Georgia State University Research Guides are located at the following home page:
http://www.library.gsu.edu/research/
Morningstar.com
Morningstar, Inc. is a leading provider of independent investment research in the United States and in major international markets. Morningstar provides information on stocks, mutual funds, variable annuities, closed-end funds, exchange-traded funds, separate accounts, hedge funds, and 529 college savings plans. With operations in 16 countries, Morningstar currently provides data on more than 250,000 investment offerings worldwide.
URL: http://www.morningstar.com/hp.html
MSN Money
This site provides a market report, breaking news, IPO Center, up/downgrades, top 10 lists, stock research, quotes, charts & news, analyst ratings, advisor FYI, stock screener, mutual fund research, fund directory, 401(k) planner, fund screener, and Research Wizards. Other searchable categories include: investor, banking & bills, retirement & wills, taxes, insurance, saving & spending, family & college, and mortgages & loans.
URL: http://moneycentral.msn.com/home.asp
NASDAQ Web Site
Quotes, intraday and historical daily close and volume charts going back 72 months, news, and company facts on all NASDAQ companies.
New York Stock Exchange
Daily market summary, links to listed companies' Web pages, and summary statistical information of NYSE trading activity.
URL: http://www.nyse.com/
Office for Futures and Options Research (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign)
Contents: Working Papers, OFOR Publications, Web Resources, Simulations (HedgeSim; TradeSim).
URL: http://www.ace.illinois.edu/OFOR/
Quote.com
Includes delayed stock and bond quotes, charts, mutual fund data market updates, analysts' changes, and news from CBS MarketWatch.
Reuters.com Business
Business news, international business, and financial news. Includes banking, consumer products, retail, health, technology, media, telecom, transportation, and other industries.
URL: http://www.reuters.com/business
Reuters.com/Finance
Breaking news, business, financial and investing news, including personal finance and stocks.
http://www.reuters.com/finance
Reuters.com Stocks Information
This site provides financial ratios of industries in addition to market news and company and industry figures. To find industry ratios, enter the stock symbol of a public company. You will then go to a summary page about that company. If you then select (on the left side) "Comparison," you will get comparisons of some of the company's financial performance ratios against the industry. Registration is required to use the site but registration is free.
URL: http://www.investor.reuters.com/StockEntry.aspx?target=/stocks
SEC EDGAR Database
SEC EDGAR provides searchable US Securities and Exchange filings for public companies.
The SEC makes quarterly and annual reports from public companies available to the public via the EDGAR system (Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval).
URL: http://www.sec.gov/edgar.shtml
Securities Investor Protection Corporation
The Securities Investor Protection Corporation either acts as trustee or works with an independent court-appointed trustee in a missing asset case to recover funds. Funds from the SIPC reserve are available to satisfy the remaining claims of each customer up to a maximum of $500,000. This figure includes a maximum of $100,000 on claims for cash.
URL: http://www.sipc.org/
Texas Department of Savings and Mortgage Lending
Regulating State Chartered Savings Banks with combined assets of over $9 billion. Regulating over 24,000 Mortgage Brokers and Loan Officers throughout Texas. Regulating over 400 Mortgage Banking Companies.
URL: http://www.sml.state.tx.us/
Texas Department of Banking
Regulates in Texas: banks and holding companies, foreign banks, trust companies, money services businesses, prepaid funeral contracts, perpetual care cemeteries, and private child support enforcement agencies.
URL: http://www.banking.state.tx.us/
Texas State Securities Board
The State Securities Board is responsible for regulating the securities industry in Texas. The Board registers securities offered or sold in Texas and oversees the firms and individuals selling securities or providing investment advice to Texans. The Board also provides the Investor Education initiative.
URL: http://www.ssb.state.tx.us/
University of Michigan Survey Research Center
Includes the Consumer Sentiment Survey. The Center provides interdisciplinary social science research involving the collection or analysis of data from scientific sample surveys, including economic behavior and family & demography. Covers the Survey of Consumer Attitudes, the Panel Study of Income Dynamics, the Health and Retirement Study, and the Retirement Research Center.
URL: http://www.isr.umich.edu/src/
Yahoo! Finance
Has Open, High, Low, Close and Volume going back 20 years or more for most of the major exchanges. Furnishes quotes, financial news, stock market statistics, bond market statistics, industry statistics, and personal financial planning information.
URL: http://finance.yahoo.com/
Associations
American Association of Individual Investors
Educational Web site for the individual investor. Includes FAQ's, glossaries, and information about various types of investments, as well as articles from association publications.
URL: http://www.aaii.org/
American Bankers Association
Founded in 1875 and now based in Washington, DC, the American Bankers Association represents banks of all sizes on issues of national importance for financial institutions and their customers. Its membership -- which includes community, regional and money center banks and holding companies, as well as savings associations, trust companies and savings banks -- makes ABA the largest banking trade association in the country.
URL: http://www.aba.com/default.htm
Mortgage Bankers Association
The Mortgage Bankers Association (MBA) is the national association representing the real estate finance industry, an industry that employs more than 500,000 people in virtually every community in the country.
URL: http://mortgagebankers.org/
National Association of Mortgage Brokers (NAMB)
Description: Mortgage brokers seeking to increase professionalism and to foster business relationships among members. Offers three levels of professional certification. Focuses on education and government affairs. Committees: Education; Legislative; Political Action. Divisions: Certified Mortgage Consultant. Formed by Merger of: American Institute of Mortgage Brokers, Society of Mortgage Consultants.
URL: http://www.namb.org
How to Research an Old Stock Certificate
1. Websites
2. Researching old stock certificates in the UNT Libraries
Websites: researching old stock certificates
OldCompany.com
http://www.oldcompany.com/
Prudential American Securities Pricing
http://www.securities-pricing.com/
Scripophily.com http://www.scripophily.com/
SEC.gov -- Old Stock Certificates
http://www.sec.gov/answers/oldcer.htm
An old stock or bond certificate may still be valuable even if it no longer trades under the name printed on the certificate. The company may have merged with another company or simply changed its name. You can use the resources on this site if an old stock or bond certificate has value. Even if you learn that a certificate has no value, you may find that the certificate itself has value as a collectable.
What to do with an old stock certificate (Enoch Pratt Free Library)
http://www.prattlibrary.org/locations/bst/index.aspx?id=3030&mark=old+stock+certificate
This site covers getting started, company histories, corporate records, what is Scripophily, and fee-based services.
Researching old stock certificates in the UNT Libraries:
Security owner's stock guide (Standard and Poor's Corporation) HG4915 .S67
CURRENT UNBOUND ISSUES IN WILLIS 1ST FL GEN REFERENCE; for bound copies, click this link to the UNT Libraries' Online Catalog to get a complete list of years and locations.
Moody's industrial manual [microform].
Moody's Investors Service. UNT Library Has MICROFICHE: 1954-2000
Click this link to the UNT Libaries' Online Catalog to get a complete list of years and locations.
The Value line investment survey.
UNT Library Microforms Department has on Microfiche in WILLIS LOWER LEVEL the years 1980-current.
The Microfilms Department, WILLIS LOWER LEVEL, also has v.24(1969)-v.35(1979), CALL NUMBER: Film J1128.
Remote Storage has the years 1966 - 1982. For a complete list of years and locations, please click this link to the UNT Libraries' Online Catalog.
Standard & Poor's register of corporations, directors and executives. Standard & Poor's Corp., c1973-
The current edition is located in Willis Library General Reference Desk and at the UNT Dallas Library.
The Previous editions start in 1973. For a complete list of years and locations, click this link to the UNT Libraries' Online Catalog.
Predicasts F & S index of corporate change 1979-1992.
UNT Libraries has in REMOTE STORAGE: v.15(1979)-v.28(1992).
Click this link to the UNT Libraries Online Catalog for a complete list of years and locations.
Walker's manual of unlisted stocks, 1996 - current.
The latest edition is in Willis Library GENERAL REFERENCE, call number HG4501 .W26. For a complete list of years and locations, click this link to the UNT Libraries' Online Catalog.