Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Finance Reference Sources Financial Research Databases in COB
Document Actions

Finance

Financial Research Databases in COB

 

These products are accessible in the COB labs.

For more information, see the COB website:

Research Databases

 http://www.cob.unt.edu/firel/data/index.htm

 

The University of North Texas Libraries provide substantial financial support for research databases that are made available through the College of Business. The databases include CRSP, Compustat, Research Insight, TAQ, EVENTUS, IBES, ORS/ROS, WRDS.

College of Business Labs

COB Tutor Labs
http://www.cob.unt.edu/lab/tutor.php

COB Computer Labs / Find a Lab
http://www.cob.unt.edu/lab/

COB Virtual Lab / Lab Hours & Closings
http://www.cob.unt.edu/lab/virtuallab.php

COB Information & Technologies Learning Center
http://www.cob.unt.edu/ciltc/

.

WRDS Wharton Research Data Service

COB/WRDS information page:
http://www.cob.unt.edu/ciltc/wrds.php

"Objective and authoritative financial and market data on more than 13,000 international companies in more than 80 countries around the world."

"Includes multi-year income statement, balance sheet and cash flow data. Up to 12 years of annual history. Monthly prices and dividends. WRDS hosts the major numeric data sets used by academic researchers." 

The University Libraries and the College of Business worked together to fund the Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)

WRDS-related titles in the COB:

- Standard and Poor’s Compustat

- CRSP/Compustat Merged Database

- Center for Research in Security Prices (CRSP)

- New York Stock Exchange TAQ

- Thomson Financial (SDC Platinum)

. 

Standard and Poor’s Compustat
is a database of financial, statistical, and market information. It provides more than 340 annual and 120 quarterly Income Statement, Balance Sheet, Flow of Funds, and supplemental data items on more than 10,000 active and 9,700 inactive companies. 

Compustat-related titles in the COB:

- Bank Compustat

- Compustat Full University Subscription

- Compustat North American Data

- CRSP/COMPUSTAT merged database

.

Audit Analytics
"Audit Analytics provides detailed research on over 20,000 public companies and more than 1,500 accounting firms. Audit Analytics data includes detailed categorizations of issues and is considered by many professionals to be the best primary data source for tracking and analysis of public company disclosures related to the audit, compliance, governance, corporate actions and federal litigation."

At UNT, Audit Analytics data are available using the WRDS account. 

CRSP
The Center for Research in Security Prices (CRSP) is a financial research center at the University of Chicago Graduate School of Business. CRSP creates and maintains premier historical US databases for stock (NYSE, AMEX, NASDAQ), indices, bond, and mutual fund securities. For research use to calculate long-run or short-run stock market analysis, we recommend using the WRDS account to access their CRSP/COMPUSTAT/EVENTUS tools. 

EVENTUS
This product allows CRSP data access and provides additional capability to do event study estimation using the CRSP data files. The version of Eventus installed on sol is 7.0.  

EXECUCOMP
"Standard & Poor's ExecuComp database provides annual data on executive compensation. With ExecuComp, you can readily identify trends within a company or among peers within an industry. The database includes over 80 different compensation, executive, director, and company related items; coverage of each company's top five executive officers; over 35 measures of company financial performance taken from the COMPUSTAT database; and more." 

FDIC CALL REPORT DATA
FDIC Call Report Data are available via the FDIC web site. For research use of the FDIC data, we recommend using the WRDS account to access their versions of the "Bank Regulatory Database" and FDIC data so that you can access the data with their nice data handling tools. 

TAQ
"The New York Stock Exchange Trade and Quote (TAQ) database contains intraday transactions data (trades and quotes) for all securities listed on the New York Stock Exchange (NYSE) and American Stock Exchange (AMEX), as well as Nasdaq National Market System (NMS) and Small Cap issues. It now includes the Daily NBBO file and the Regulation SHO Data for all CTA Participating Markets and the NYSE."

Research Insight

COB Research Insight Documentation
http://www.cob.unt.edu/firel/data/researchinsight.htm

COB/Standard & Poor's Research Insight Primer for Getting Started
http://www.cob.unt.edu/firel/data/RIprimna76.pdf

"Standard & Poor's Research Insight is a powerful yet easy-to-use Windows-based graphical interface to the Compustat databases. The database provides extensive coverage of the annual and quarterly financial statements and the supplemental data of publicly held companies and is designed for financial analysis. Contains 20 years of annual, 12 years of quarterly, seven years of business and geographic information." 

ORS/ROS

The Ownership Reporting System (ORS) has records of computerized insider security transactions and holdings. ORS data are from the following SEC documents: SEC Form 3, Form 4, and Form 5.  The system is designed to verify share balances, and is programmed to detect liabilities for short-swing profits. Currently, UNT has data from 1978-2000.  The Ownership Reporting file is updated monthly.

Thomson One Banker related products:

Thomson One Banker (Thomson Analytics)
This product provides multiple databases for immediate access to news, quotes, earnings estimates, key financials, ratios, and growth rates for over 65,000 active and inactive global companies. The data is drawn from IBES, Worldscope, SDC, other Thomson databases, and Edgar filings. 

Thomson SDC Platinum
At UNT, Thomson Reuters Financial SDC Platinum database is available locally via web access from a faculty member's desktop.

"SDC Platinum is the industry standard for information on new issues, M&A, syndicated loans, private equity, project finance, poison pills, and other activities in the global financial marketplace.  SDC Platinum provides users with a robust database for analyzing investment banking and deal trends, identifying comparable deals, monitoring deal activity, and generating industry-leading league tables and market-share analysis." 

DATASTREAM
"Thomson Reuters Financial DATASTREAM is the world's largest and most respected financial statistics database." Our subscription is the source of public and private company financial ratios, stocks and dividends for many nations in addition to the U.S. and Canada (which are covered well in CRSP and COMPUSTAT). Our Datastream data is ONLY accessible via the Thomson ONE Banker Product, which is best accessed using the UNT Libraries Electronic Resources with the Thomson One Banker shortcut using Internet Explorer (no other browsers work). 

I/B/E/S
"I/B/E/S provides powerful insight into the depth of the IBES quality database of historical estimates, which has been the proving ground for new, innovative investment strategies for 30 years.  The database has a superior reputation for historical data, and is especially known for its unparalleled quality and depth among both practitioners and academicians." 

FIRST CALL
Thomson Reuters Financial First Call is described as “the gold standard for real-time broker-sourced research and earnings estimates for quick insight into analysts' expectations. The First Call network includes more than 6.5 million research documents from more than 700 brokerage firms, investment banks and other sources - making it the industry's leading link to more than 50,000 institutional investors and brokerage firms around the world. First Call delivers timely earnings forecast data across nine critical data measures, covering more than 21,500 firms." 

WORLDSCOPE
Thomson Reuters Financial Worldscope Fundamentals is described as “fundamental data on the world’s leading public and private companies representing over 95% of global market value. Worldscope provides annual and interim/quarterly data, detailed historical financial statement content, per share data, calculated ratios, pricing and textual information. Standardized formats make for easy analysis of 57,000 companies with up to 20 years of historical data available."

UNT's access to Thomsom Reuters Worldscope data is ONLY through using the Thomson ONE Banker Product via the UNT Libraries Electronic Resources at Thomson One Banker shortcut using Internet Explorer (no other browsers work). 

FAMA-FRENCH PORTFOLIOS AND FACTORS
Fama-French ("Research") Portfolios and Factors are available via French's web site. For research use to calculate long-run or short-run stock market analysis, we recommend using the WRDS account to access their CRSP/COMPUSTAT/EVENTUS tools.

.

For additional information, see:

COB Research Databases page:

http://www.cob.unt.edu/firel/data/index.htm 
 

General Research Resources at UNT:

The research resources of the academic computing service are at http://www.unt.edu/ACS/,
http://www.unt.edu/rss, and the Linux cluster for high performance computing are at
http://www.unt.edu/ACSUNIX/cluster/

 

This page is maintained by Jeffrey Levy last modified Monday, November 07, 2011. 07:08 PM
Info

The UNT Libraries will be closed Saturday, May 26 through Monday, May 28 for the Memorial Day weekend. The Libraries will reopen during regular building hours on Tuesday, May 29.

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Jeffrey Levy

Contact Info

Government Documents Department, Room 326, Willis Library
940-565-2013
Jeffrey.Levy@unt.edu

Email me!

Other pages by me

My subjects


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook