Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Finance Reference Sources Finance Databases
Document Actions

Finance

Finance Databases

Business Research Databases (COBA access only)

The Libraries provide substantial financial support for research databases that are made available through the College of Business Administration. This link leads to information about those databases and how to access them. The databases include CRSP, Compustat, Research Insight, TAQ, WRDS. If you have questions about WRDS access, please see Cengiz Capan, Department of ITDS.

Million Dollar Directory / Dun & Bradstreet

Included in this five-volume directory are approximately 160,000 leading U.S. public and private companies. Also included are domestic subsidiaries of foreign corporations. Vols. 1-3 list these businesses alphabetically. Entries include D-U-N-S number, headquarters address, telephone number, annual sales, number of employees, standard industrial classification (SIC) code(s), names and titles of top officers, and year started. Vol. 4 is a cross-reference index by location (arranged geographically) and Vol. 5 is a cross-reference index by industry (arranged by SIC code numbers).

HF5035.M531 [location: General Reference shelves and at the Dallas Campus Library]

URL: http://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b2360655

Also located at the UNT DALLAS LIBRARY

NBER Working Papers

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) Working Papers: Nearly 500 are published each year, and many appear in scholarly journals. NBER researchers initially report their findings in scientific papers aimed at other professional economists in academic institutions, business, government, and the business media around the world. Topics: Economics, Finance, Labor Studies, Stocks and Bonds, Management, Industrial Organization, International Finance, International Trade, Productivity and Technological Change, Taxation.

NOTE: Only available to UNT students, staff, and faculty. Access for guests is on-campus only.

How to Access Electronic Resources

NetAdvantage - Standard and Poor's

Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage is a comprehensive source of business and investment information, offering on-line access to Standard & Poor's research products such as Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, The Outlook, and Mutual Fund Reports. NetAdvantage provides searching and screening tools to facilitate academic research, job searches, case studies, competitive intelligence, strategic planning, due diligence and M&A activities. Included is private company information on over 85,000 companies that are not publicly traded. NAICS code searching is available to identify potential customers, vendors, and strategic partners. The database includes biographies of thousands of corporate executives and directors. Export tools allow researchers to download data into spreadsheet programs for further analysis.

NOTE: Only available to UNT students, staff, and faculty. Access for guests is on-campus only.

How to Access Electronic Resources

Plunkett Research Online

Provides in depth industry information on 29 industries ranging from Advertising to Wi-Fi. Analyzes trends, technologies, and statistics supplemented with market data and glossary.

URL: http://www.plunkettresearchonline.com/

Listings of approximately 55,000 corporations with address, officers, stock exchange(s) on which company is traded, annual sales, number of employees, description of principal products and more. Also listing of about 70,000 individuals.

NOTE: Only available to UNT students, staff, and faculty. Access for guests is on-campus only
How to Access Electronic Resources

Hint:  To find this publication on Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage, use the pull-down menu under "Publication Search" on the right side of the screen.

This is also available as a book: call number HG4057 .A41 [Location: Willis Library General Reference and the Dallas Campus Library]

Book URL: http://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b1240010 

Also located at the UNT DALLAS LIBRARY

Book URL: http://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b2063598

Thomson One Banker conducts powerful searches against data from multiple databases and displays detailed reports and charts. Search across multiple databases for immediate access to news, quotes, earnings estimates, key financials, ratios, and growth rates for over 65,000 active and inactive global companies. The data is drawn from IBES, Worldscope, SDC, other Thomson databases, and Edgar filings. Save search criteria and results for quick reference. Analyze the performance of companies individually or in the context of peers and industry averages. Obtain more than 200 pre-formatted presentation-ready reports and charts containing financials, earnings ratios, and stock data. View and update graphs and reports as you work, and create custom price charts. You can download (export) fixed fields into Excel, or use the Excel Add-In to pull data from "live"" Thomson Analytics databases directly into your Excel spreadsheets.

This Resource will not work on Mozilla Firefox.

URL: http://irservices.library.unt.edu/resource.cfm?ai_id=216

NOTE: Only available to UNT students, staff, and faculty. Access for guests is on-campus only.

How to Access Electronic Resources

Value Line Research Center

Make sure you are "logged on" at the top right of the Value Line home page. Once logged in, click "Subscriber Index" at the top left of the Value Line home page. This permits access to the following Value Line products: The Ratings & Reports section contains one-page reports on approximately 1,700 companies and more than 90 industries. Each company report contains, among other things, Value Line's Timeliness, Safety, and Technical ranks, financial and stock price forecasts for the coming 3 to 5 years, an analyst's written commentary, and much more. The Summary & Index contains an index of all stocks in the publication as well as many up-to-date statistics about the latest company results. It also contains a variety of stock "screens" designed to help investors identify companies with various characteristics. The Selection & Opinion section contains Value Line's latest economic and stock market forecasts, one-page write-ups of interesting and attractive stocks, model portfolios, and financial and stock market statistics. Please remember to log out when finished.

NOTE: Only available to UNT students, staff, and faculty. Access for guests is on-campus only.

How to Access Electronic Resources

Value Line Investment Survey - older issues on microfiche

The Microforms Department, located in the Willis Library lower level, has the Value Line microfiche from 1969 to current.

Ask at the Microforms desk, Willis Library Lower Level.

WDI World Development Indicators Online

The Web version of World Development Indicators, WDI Online contains data on over 500 indicators from over 200 countries. Indicator subject areas include: economics & finance, environment, health, agriculture, communications, labor, and education. Please note: coverage varies by country.

NOTE: Only available to UNT students, staff, and faculty. Access for guests is on-campus only.

How to Access Electronic Resources

WRDS Wharton Research Data Service

For more information, please see Cengiz Capan (ITDS), the COBA faculty representative for WRDS. The University Libraries and the College of Business Administration worked together to fund the Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) license for UNT. The COBA now has access to WRDS. Individual WRDS accounts are offered to UNT faculty, full-time UNT research staff, and currently-enrolled UNT Ph.D. students.  This is the WRDS website's FAQ page: http://wrds.wharton.upenn.edu/demo/faqsheet.shtml When you receive your account, you will also receive a list of the terms of our agreement. However, the most important term is that your use of the WRDS services is for academic and non-commercial research purposes only. You may not use data downloaded from the WRDS databases for any non-academic purpose or any commercial endeavor.

This page is maintained by Jeffrey Levy last modified Tuesday, September 01, 2009. 12:21 PM
Contributors: Created by Jeffrey Levy (2009)
Info
iSearch

iSearch

Search multiple databases for articles, all from one location

Jeffrey Levy

Contact Info

Willis Library, room 155
940-565-2013
Jeffrey.Levy@unt.edu

Email me!

Other pages by me


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection