Reference Sources
Finance Databases
Business Research Databases (COBA access only)
The Libraries provide substantial financial support for research databases that are made available through the College of Business Administration. This link leads to information about those databases and how to access them. The databases include CRSP, Compustat, Research Insight, TAQ, WRDS. If you have questions about WRDS access, please see Cengiz Capan, Department of ITDS.
Million Dollar Directory / Dun & Bradstreet
Included in this five-volume directory are approximately 160,000 leading U.S. public and private companies. Also included are domestic subsidiaries of foreign corporations. Vols. 1-3 list these businesses alphabetically. Entries include D-U-N-S number, headquarters address, telephone number, annual sales, number of employees, standard industrial classification (SIC) code(s), names and titles of top officers, and year started. Vol. 4 is a cross-reference index by location (arranged geographically) and Vol. 5 is a cross-reference index by industry (arranged by SIC code numbers).
HF5035.M531 [location: General Reference shelves and at the Dallas Campus Library]
URL: http://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b2360655
Also located at the UNT DALLAS LIBRARY
NBER Working Papers
National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) Working Papers: Nearly 500 are published each year, and many appear in scholarly journals. NBER researchers initially report their findings in scientific papers aimed at other professional economists in academic institutions, business, government, and the business media around the world. Topics: Economics, Finance, Labor Studies, Stocks and Bonds, Management, Industrial Organization, International Finance, International Trade, Productivity and Technological Change, Taxation.
NOTE: Only available to UNT students, staff, and faculty. Access for guests is on-campus only.
How to Access Electronic Resources
NetAdvantage - Standard and Poor's
Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage is a comprehensive source of business and investment information, offering on-line access to Standard & Poor's research products such as Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, The Outlook, and Mutual Fund Reports. NetAdvantage provides searching and screening tools to facilitate academic research, job searches, case studies, competitive intelligence, strategic planning, due diligence and M&A activities. Included is private company information on over 85,000 companies that are not publicly traded. NAICS code searching is available to identify potential customers, vendors, and strategic partners. The database includes biographies of thousands of corporate executives and directors. Export tools allow researchers to download data into spreadsheet programs for further analysis.
NOTE: Only available to UNT students, staff, and faculty. Access for guests is on-campus only.
Plunkett Research Online
Provides in depth industry information on 29 industries ranging from Advertising to Wi-Fi. Analyzes trends, technologies, and statistics supplemented with market data and glossary.
URL: http://www.plunkettresearchonline.com/
Listings of approximately 55,000 corporations with address, officers, stock exchange(s) on which company is traded, annual sales, number of employees, description of principal products and more. Also listing of about 70,000 individuals.
NOTE: Only available to UNT students, staff, and faculty. Access for guests is on-campus only
How to Access Electronic Resources
Hint: To find this publication on Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage, use the pull-down menu under "Publication Search" on the right side of the screen.
This is also available as a book: call number HG4057 .A41 [Location: Willis Library General Reference and the Dallas Campus Library]
Book URL: http://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b1240010
Also located at the UNT DALLAS LIBRARY
Book URL: http://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b2063598
Thomson One Banker conducts powerful searches against data from multiple databases and displays detailed reports and charts. Search across multiple databases for immediate access to news, quotes, earnings estimates, key financials, ratios, and growth rates for over 65,000 active and inactive global companies. The data is drawn from IBES, Worldscope, SDC, other Thomson databases, and Edgar filings. Save search criteria and results for quick reference. Analyze the performance of companies individually or in the context of peers and industry averages. Obtain more than 200 pre-formatted presentation-ready reports and charts containing financials, earnings ratios, and stock data. View and update graphs and reports as you work, and create custom price charts. You can download (export) fixed fields into Excel, or use the Excel Add-In to pull data from "live"" Thomson Analytics databases directly into your Excel spreadsheets.
This Resource will not work on Mozilla Firefox.
URL: http://irservices.library.unt.edu/resource.cfm?ai_id=216
NOTE: Only available to UNT students, staff, and faculty. Access for guests is on-campus only.
Value Line Research Center
Make sure you are "logged on" at the top right of the Value Line home page. Once logged in, click "Subscriber Index" at the top left of the Value Line home page. This permits access to the following Value Line products: The Ratings & Reports section contains one-page reports on approximately 1,700 companies and more than 90 industries. Each company report contains, among other things, Value Line's Timeliness, Safety, and Technical ranks, financial and stock price forecasts for the coming 3 to 5 years, an analyst's written commentary, and much more. The Summary & Index contains an index of all stocks in the publication as well as many up-to-date statistics about the latest company results. It also contains a variety of stock "screens" designed to help investors identify companies with various characteristics. The Selection & Opinion section contains Value Line's latest economic and stock market forecasts, one-page write-ups of interesting and attractive stocks, model portfolios, and financial and stock market statistics. Please remember to log out when finished.
NOTE: Only available to UNT students, staff, and faculty. Access for guests is on-campus only.
Value Line Investment Survey - older issues on microfiche
The Microforms Department, located in the Willis Library lower level, has the Value Line microfiche from 1969 to current.
Ask at the Microforms desk, Willis Library Lower Level.
WDI World Development Indicators Online
The Web version of World Development Indicators, WDI Online contains data on over 500 indicators from over 200 countries. Indicator subject areas include: economics & finance, environment, health, agriculture, communications, labor, and education. Please note: coverage varies by country.
NOTE: Only available to UNT students, staff, and faculty. Access for guests is on-campus only.
How to Access Electronic Resources
WRDS Wharton Research Data Service
For more information, please see Cengiz Capan (ITDS), the COBA faculty representative for WRDS. The University Libraries and the College of Business Administration worked together to fund the Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) license for UNT. The COBA now has access to WRDS. Individual WRDS accounts are offered to UNT faculty, full-time UNT research staff, and currently-enrolled UNT Ph.D. students. This is the WRDS website's FAQ page: http://wrds.wharton.upenn.edu/demo/faqsheet.shtml When you receive your account, you will also receive a list of the terms of our agreement. However, the most important term is that your use of the WRDS services is for academic and non-commercial research purposes only. You may not use data downloaded from the WRDS databases for any non-academic purpose or any commercial endeavor.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Finance Dictionaries in the UNT Libraries
Publishers: AMACOM, Barrons Educational Series, Wiley, Blackwell Business, Oxford University Press, and Fabozzi Associates.
Click this link to find finance dictionaries listed in the UNT Libraries' Online Catalog
.
Finance Encyclopedias in the UNT Libraries
Publishers include Macmillan Reference, Gale Group, Knowledge Exchange.
Click the following link to find finance encyclopedias listed in the UNT Libraries' Online Catalog
.
Online Finance Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
Business Dictionaries and Encyclopedias (Answers.com) - This site provides dictionaries and encyclopedias for Accounting, Banking, Business, Economics, Finance, Investment, Insurance, Marketing, Real Estate, and Small Business.
New York Stock Exchange glossary of financial terms
Click GLOSSARY on the home page. A second window will open up. The financial glossary furnishes brief definitions.
Guides, handbooks, and manuals
A. M. Best publications
Best's Aggregates & Averages: Property-Casualty; Best's Insurance Reports: Life-Health Best's Insurance Reports: Property-Casualty
Best's Aggregates & Averages: Property-Casualty HG8945. B481; Best's Insurance Reports: Life-Health HG8943.B3; Best's Insurance Reports: Property-Casualty HG9655.B51
URL: http://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b1008194
Bond Guide (Standard and Poor's Corporation)
Statistical guide on over 5,900 corporate bonds and convertibles, with the S & P bond rating for each.
HG4921. S618 [Location: General Reference shelves]
URL: http://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b1130146
Cost of Capital Yearbook
Covers data through March of the year published. It compiles data from Standard & Poor's Compustat Data, organized by industries based on Standard Industry Classification (SIC) codes. The yearbook contains critical statistics needed to analyze U.S. corporations and industries. It provides industry financial information including five separate measures of cost of equity. Also included are weighted average cost of capital; detailed statistics for sales, profitability, and capitalization; beta, multiples, ratios, equity returns and capital structure.
HC110.C3 C67 [location: General Reference Desk]
URL: http://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b2368130
CRB Commodity Yearbook
Comprehensive source of commodity and futures market information. It provides critical information on more than 100 domestic and international commodities and includes seasonal patterns and historical data from the past ten years as well as current (as of the last three months) pricing and trading patterns on a monthly and annual basis.
HG6046.K651 current issue [Location: General Reference shelves]
URL: http://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b1007740
Daily Graphs: New York Stock Exchange
Published weekly by Daily Graphs. Features of the Daily Graphs include: Top Performing Industry Group Charts; Leading American Exchange Stocks; Timeliness Rating on Each Stock; Quarterly Sales & Earnings with Percent Changes; Institutional Ownership of Each Stock; Earnings Estimates and Quarterly Dividends; and Accumulation/Distribution Ratings.
HG4572. D3 [Location: General Reference shelves]
URL: http://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b2873610
Mergent bond record
Formerly known as Moody's annual bond record, this annual provides a history of a year's corporate and municipal bond rating activity, including preferred stock ratings, with a guide to bond ratings, new issues, ratings upgrades, downgrades and withdrawals during the year, issues matured, maturing or redeemed in the year, new preferred stock, and upgraded and downgraded municipal bond ratings for the year.
HG4905. M781 [Location: General Reference shelves]
URL: http://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b2153134
Mergent corporate news reports monthly
Monthly cumulations of Moody's Bank & finance news reports ; Moody's Industrial news reports ; Moody's OTC news reports ; Moody's OTC unlisted news reports ; Moody's public utility news reports ; Moody's transportation news reports--weekly publications.
HG4961.M65 [Location: General Reference shelves]
URL: http://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b2153598
Mergent Dividend Record
Formerly Moody's Dividend Record. Covers dividend statistics such as stock splits, stockholders rights, tax status of dividends. Updated annually.
HG4028. D5M61 [Location: General Reference shelves]
URL: http://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b2153133
Mergent Industry Review
Formerly Moody's Industry Review, this is a comprehensive statistical reference containing key financial information, operating data, and key business ratios for approximately 3,500 companies arranged in 137 industry groups. The information is arranged by industry group so that the companies may be compared with each other, and may be measured against certain averages for that industry. Also included are per share data and industry ranking by 8 standard criteria. The operating statistics are updated twice each year.
HG4961.M68 [Location: General Reference shelves]
URL: http://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b2153132
Mergent Manuals
Mergent manuals contain brief historical information and financial information listed on U.S. stock exchanges. Other items of information include lists of subsidiaries, businesses, properties, officers, and directors. Moody's also furnishes the balance sheet, financial and operating statistics, and sometimes "Management Discussion and Analysis."
Bank and Finance HG4961. M6922; Corporate News Reports (Monthly) HG4961.M65; Industrial HG4961. M72; International HG4009 .M6615; Municipal and Government HG4931. M582; OTC Industrial HG 4905. M862; OTC Unlisted HG4551. M771; Public Utility & Transportation HG4961. M733
URL: http://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b2325172
Mergent municipal news reports monthly
Provides monthly compilations of the weekly News Reports to the Mergent Municipal and Government Manual.
HG4931.M5821 [Location: General Reference shelves]
URL: http://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b2153585
Mergent's handbook of common stocks
One page descriptions of more than 900 companies. Each listing includes a 10 year summary of financials and outlines the company's recent developments and prospects.
HG4905. M816 [Location: General Reference shelves]
URL: http://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b3194326
Notable Corporate Chronologies
Provides chronologies (timelines) for over 1,800 of the most significant corporations currently operating in the U.S. and abroad. Includes key dates, major product introductions, tenures of key officers, mergers and acquisitions, and major stock offerings.
HG4009.N68 [location: General Reference shelves]
URL: http://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b1854364
Security owner's stock guide (Standard & Poor's)
Data covered includes common and convertible preferred stock price range, dividend, capitalization and earnings. Mutual fund summaries are also available.
HG4915. S67 [Location: General Reference shelves]
URL: http://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b1000376
Standard & Poor's stock reports. American Stock Exchange, New York Stock Exchange, Nasdaq and regional exchanges
Quarterly stock reports: business summary, short balance sheet, stock beta, analysis and forecasts for 3,000 companies on NYSE, ASE, and NASDAQ.
NOTE: Only available to UNT students, staff, and faculty. Access for guests is on-campus only
How to Access Electronic Resources
Hint: To find this publication on Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage, use the pull-down menu under "Publication Search" on the right side of the screen.
Hardcopy for 2001 through January/February 2006 is located on the 2nd floor of Willis Library, call number HG4907 .S72:
Book URL: http://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b2063598
Stocks, bonds, bills and inflation yearbook (SBBI yearbook)
Also known as the SBBI Yearbook, this publication by Ibbotson Associates provides a comprehensive, historical view of the performance of capital markets dating back to 1926. It contains total returns and index values for large and small company stocks, long-term corporate bonds, long- and intermediate-term government bonds, and Treasury bills and inflation.
[Location: General Reference shelves]
URL: http://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b1351895
Who's Who in Finance and Industry
HF3023.A2W53
current edition [location: Willis library General Reference shelves]