Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Document Actions

Web Sites

Biodiversity

Algaebase

An algea database that includes information on marine, freshwater and terrrestrial organisms. An aid to taxanomic studies.

URL: http://www.algaebase.org

Biodiversity Hotspots

Information on the most threatened and fertile reservoirs of plant and animal life in the world.

URL: http://www.biodiversityhotspots.org/xp/Hotspots/Pages/default.aspx

Animal Diversity Web

An "online database of animal natural history, distribution, classification, and conservation biology at the University of Michigan."

URL: http://animaldiversity.ummz.umich.edu/site/index.html

Government Reference Websites

Environmental Protection Agency

URL: http://www.epa.gov/

Envirofacts Data Warehouse

URL: http://www.epa.gov/enviro/

EPA Terms of Environment: Glossary, Abbreviations, Acronyms...

URL: http://www.epa.gov/OCEPATERMS/

National Council for Science and the Environment

Mission is to improve the scientific basis for decision-making. "The Council specializes in programs that bring together diverse individuals, institutions and communities to collaborate.

URL: http://ncseonline.org/

U.S. Department of Energy

URL: http://www.energy.gov/

U.S. Department of the Interior

URL: http://www.doi.gov/

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

URL: http://www.fws.gov/

U.S. Geological Survey

URL: http://www.usgs.gov/

Water Resources of the United States

URL: http://water.usgs.gov/

Book Announcements & Reviews

New York Review of Books

New York Review of Books is free of charge to browse reviews from 1967 to present, although viewing the text online requires a subscription.

URL: http://www.nybooks.com

Science

Science Journal

 URL: http://www.sciencemag.org/content/current/#books

Springer (New Environmental Science Books)

Springer (New Environmental Science Books). A List of new books from Springer publishers. May have reviews or just a description. Can search entire catalog from this site.

 URL: http://www.springer.com/environment?SGWID=0-198-12-70962-0

Wiley-VCH

Wiley-VCH Forthcoming titles. Provides links to "just published" items by month.

URL: http://www.wiley-vch.de/publish/en/books/bySubjectEN00/?sID=0bf816cffab480fe32a82e50ffa3cdb2

News

Environmental News Network

Mission: "information that will help people understand and communicate the environmental issues and solutions that face us."

URL: http://www.enn.com/

Environment News Service

Provides up-to-date environmental news over a variety of environmental topics

URL: http://www.ens-newswire.com/

Grants, Scholarships and Funding Sources

College Scholarship.org

URL: http://www.collegescholarships.org/grants/environment.htm

Community of Science

Community of Science Database for funding sources allows searching by geographical location, sponsor name, and more.

URL: http://fundingopps.cos.com/

EPA National Center for Environmental Research

EPA funding opportunities.

URL: http://es.epa.gov/ncer/rfa/

FastWeb Scholarship Search

FastWeb Scholarship Search Extensive database providing numerous criteria for effective limiting.

URL: http://www.fastweb.com/fastweb/register/start?ref=finaid-21f--

GrantsNet

GrantsNet specializing in grants and funds for biomedical sciences and undergraduate sciences

URL: http://sciencecareers.sciencemag.org/funding?CFID=1190293&CFTOKEN=67580404

National Science Foundation

Grants available from the National Science Foundation. Search NSF's database of funding opportunities.

URL: http://www.nsf.gov/funding/

NIH Grants and Contracts

NIH Grants & Contracts: The National Institutes of Health's searchable databse of funding opportunities.

URL: http://grants.nih.gov/grants/guide/index.html

Scholarship Search

Collegeboard.com's Scholarship Search locates scholarships, as well as internships and financial aid offers.

URL: http://apps.collegeboard.com/cbsearch_ss/welcome.jsp

Employment

Environmental Jobs.com

The website contains multiple lists of environmental jobs separated by multiple categories. Contains links to other environmental job listing sites.

URL: http://www.environmentaljobs.com/environmental-science-jobs.htm

Green Careers Center

The website contains job lists and news for environmental science. Green Careers Center also offers a newsletter containing more job and news information.

URL: http://www.environmentalcareer.com/

Science's

Science's career links. Offers job search, resume posting, salary guides, satisfaction surveys and more.

URL: http://sciencecareers.sciencemag.org/

Material Safety Data Sheets

Comprehensive List

Comprehensive list of online MSDS maintained by Berkeley.

URL: http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/CHEM/safety.html

Health Canada's

Health Canada's extensive list of material safety data sheets on the web.

URL: http://www.phac-aspc.gc.ca/

Interactive Learning Paradigms

Interactive Learning Paradigms material safety data sheets on the web. Also provides links to suppliers, regulations, glossary and more.

URL: http://www.ilpi.com/msds/

Safety & Hazard Information

Chemical Health and Safety Information

Chemical Health and Safety Data from the National Toxicology Program.

URL: http://www.cdc.gov/niosh/ipcs/icstart.html

Occupational Safety and Health Administration

Contains safety information including, but not limited to, laws and regulations, programs, statistics and enforcement.

URL: http://www.osha.gov/

Other

Pew Center on Global Climate Change

"The Center's mission is to provide credible information, straight answers, and innovative solutions in teh effort to address global climate change."

URL: http://www.pewclimate.org/

The Virtual Library on Urban Environmental Management

URL: http://www.gdrc.org/uem/


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook