Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides English Reference Sources World Literature
Document Actions

English

World Literature

Print Resources

Dictionary of World Literature Focuses on criticism, literary theories, forms, and techniques of world literature from antiquity to the mid-20th century. Includes cross-references and bibliographies at end of entries for further research.  3rd Floor Willis PN41.S5

Encyclopedia of World Literature in the 20th Century Comprehensive survey of major aspects of world literature in the 20th century. Signed articles on literary movements and theories but emphasis is on major writers. Extensive cross-references. Includes a nationality index and a general index. Four volumes. Willis library 1st floor GenRef PN771.E5 1999

International Authors and Writers Who's Who: Alphabetical author entries with brief biographical sketches. Updated edition includes information on new authors as well as corrections and updates of authors in previous editions. Four appendices.  1976-2007 Willis library 3rd floor Z1010.I57 2008 Willis Library 1st floor GenRef Z1010.I57

Twayne companion to contemporary world literature : from the editors of World Literature Today Focusing on contemporary literature outside the US and Canada, this two-volume set presents some 270 essays written for World Literature Today by well-known authors, translators, and critics addressing both national and regional literature as well as particular authors and literary works. An initial section contains 21 essays presenting various perspectives on world literature, followed by essays organized in geographical sections. Essays address plays and playwrights; poets and poetry; fiction, short stories, memoirs; and nonfictional works and their authors. Appendices provide a geographically and chronologically arranged sampling of book reviews taken from the pages of World Literature Today from 1977 to 2001, as well as a selection of essays taken from Books Abroad, which covers the period from 1927 to 1976. Willis library 1st floor GenRef PN771 .T93 2003

Yearbook of Comparative and General Literature, 1952- : Published annually. Each issue generally has a special topic, with essays, articles, and specialized bibliographies on the topic. Each issue also includes book reviews and a list of books received.   Willis Library 3rd Floor PN851.Y4

 

Electronic Resources

ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature) online
Lists English language articles, books, doctoral dissertations and reviews published anywhere in the world pertaining to bibliography, English language, traditional culture and English Literature. Covers English, American and Commonwealth writers.

Dictionary of Literary Biography 

Dictionary of Literary Biography provides nearly 10,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of influential literary figures from all eras and genres. A GaleGroup database available through TexShare. (Keywords: American authors, English Authors, literature, Gale Group)

 

 

This page is maintained by Gayla Byerly last modified Friday, June 03, 2011. 05:10 PM
Info

The UNT Libraries will be closed Saturday, May 26 through Monday, May 28 for the Memorial Day weekend. The Libraries will reopen during regular building hours on Tuesday, May 29.

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook