English
Women Writers
Print Resources
American Women Writers: Emphasis on feminist scholarship, from colonial to modern times. Alphabetical author entries include biographical and analytical essays. Multiple volumes, last volume includes an index. Willis Library 1st floor GenRef PS147.A42 2000
The Bloomsbury Guide to Women's Literature: Comprehensive and international in scope, including women's writing from all time periods and countries in an effort to include writers and genres that have been marginalized. Focuses on women writers, not women's literature written by men. Essays on time periods and countries/cultural regions. Has reference section in dictionary format. Willis Library 3rd floor GenRef PN471.B57 1992
British Women Writers, 1700-1850: An Annotated Bibliography of Their Works and Works about Them: Lists works by and about British poets, novelists, and playwrights during 1700-1850. Includes accessible editions of their works plus biographies, with annotations. Subject and author indices. Willis Library 4th floor Rare Books Ref Z2013.5.W6 H67 1997
A Dictionary of British and American Women Writers, 1660-1800: Emphasis is to highlight forgotten writers and shed new light on major, accepted writers of the time period. Entries include biographical information and major works but no bibliographies. Includes an index. Willis Library 1st floor GenRef PR113.D5 1985
An Encyclopedia of Continental Women Writers: Contains basic essays and bibliographies of continental (European) women authors from antiquity to present day. Entries in English but names are listed under the spelling in their native language, and second volumes includes a list of entries by language. Two volumes. Willis Library 3rd floor PN481.E5 1991
Modern American Women Writers: In-depth critical and biographical essays of 41 American women authors from the 1870s to modern day. Includes a chronology and an index. Willis Library 3rd floor PS151.M54 1991
Nineteenth-Century American Women Writers: A Bio-Bibliographical Critical Sourcebook: Entries of 77 19th century American women writers. Designed to encourage further research, with extensive bibliographies. Includes an index.Willis Library 1st floor GenRef PS217.W64 N56 1997
The Oxford Companion to Women's Writing in the United States: Essays focus on diversity of women's writing, with traditional and feminist studies. Entries cover authors, genres, multicultural topics, theories, and cultural and historical issues. Includes timeline of women's writing and an index. Willis Library 3rd floor PS147.O94 1995
Women Writers of Great Britain and Europe: An Encyclopedia: Individual essays discuss each author's life and works as well as her contribution to the literary world. Designed to be a representative sampling, not comprehensive. Includes a list of pseudonyms and authors by country and by century. Willis Library 3rd floor PN471.W565 1997
Electronic Resources
ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature) online
Lists English language articles, books, doctoral dissertations and reviews published anywhere in the world pertaining to bibliography, English language, traditional culture and English Literature. Covers English, American and Commonwealth writers.
North American Womens Letters and Diaries North American Women's Letters and Diaries includes the immediate experiences of 1,325 women and 150,000 pages of diaries and letters. The index contains more than 7,000 pages of previously unpublished material. The collection also includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.
Women's Studies E-books via Greenwood Women's Studies E-books via Greenwood is a collection of full text books available online. The Women's Studies includes e-books about women's roles in film, business, government, history, literature, and health