Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides English Reference Sources Character and Plot Guides
Document Actions

English

Character and Plot Guides

Print Resources

Characters in 20th-Century Literature: Contains essays of over 2,000 important literary characters from 20th century novelists, dramatists, and short essay writers. Organized alphabetically by author. Essays give biographical data, plot synopsis and thematic commentary, and recommendations for further reading. Title and character indexes.   Willis Library 3rd floor PN56.4.H37 1990

Cyclopedia of Literary Characters II: Contains information about literary characters in over 1,400 works, including novels, plays, epics, and classics of world literature. Arranged alphabetically by title. Includes pronunciation guide for character names. Cross-referenced title, author, and character index. Multiple volumes. Willis Library 1st floor GenRef PN44.M3 1990

Dictionary of Fictional Characters: Includes 20,000 fictitious characters of works written by British, Commonwealth, and American authors over the past 6 centuries. Covers novels, short stories, poems, and plays. Entries arranged alphabetically by last name. Includes author and title index. Willis Library 3rd floor PR19.F7 1974

Masterpieces of World Literature in Digest Form (Masterplots) Willis Library 3rd floor PN44.M3 1952

Masterplots Cyclopedia of Literary Characters: Covers a wide variety of literature and arranged alphabetically by title of work. Includes character and author indexes. Willis Library 3rd floor PN44.M3 1963a

Masterplots II: American Fiction Series: Each entry begins with ready reference information followed by extensive analysis of works of American fiction. Contains a geographical and ethnic index (lists authors by country of origin), a title index, and an author index. Multiple volumes. Willis Library 1st floor GenRef PN846.M37 1986

Masterplots II: Non-Fiction Series: Covers autobiographies, memoirs, and other non-fiction works in philosophy, literary theory, cultural criticism, psychology, linguistics, cultural anthropology, sociology, and science. Arranged alphabetically by title of work, as it is best known in the U.S. Contains author, title, and type of work indexes. Multiple volumes. Willis Library 1st floor GenRef PN44.M345 1989

Plot Guide to 100 American and British Novels: Provides annotations of main characters, full summaries of plot and themes, biographical sketches of authors, and critical digests of the works. Organized by century the work was written in. Includes index. Willis Library 3rd floor PS373.L28

Survey of Contemporary Literature--Revised and Enlarged: Contains over 2,300 essays of literacy criticism and content for contemporary books published in the U.S. since 1984, plus background commentary. Arranged alphabetically by title of work. Includes author index. Multiple volumes. Willis Library 3rd floor PN44.M34 1977

 

 

This page is maintained by Gayla Byerly last modified Friday, June 03, 2011. 04:11 PM
Info

The UNT Libraries will be closed Saturday, May 26 through Monday, May 28 for the Memorial Day weekend. The Libraries will reopen during regular building hours on Tuesday, May 29.

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook