Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides English Reference Sources British Literature
Document Actions

English

British Literature

Print Resources

Bibliography of British Literary Bibliographies: Records English publications that list printed works of British writers, from 1475 to modern day. Sections include time period, regions, forms and genres, subjects, and authors. Willis Library 1st floor GenRef Z2011.H6

British and Irish Biographies 1840-1940  Microforms Lower Level MicF341

British Women Writers, 1700-1850: An Annotated Bibliography of Their Works and Works about Them: Lists works by British poets, novelists, and playwrights during 1700-1850. Includes accessible editions of their works plus biographies, with annotations. Subject and Author indices. Willis Library 4th floor Rare Books Ref Z2013.5.W6 H67 1997

British Writers: Reference companion to American Writers. Critical essays of authors, important works and movements, and genres from the 14th century to modern day. Willis Library 1st floor GenRef PR85.B688

Literary Gazetteer of England: Survey of English literary associations and localities of literary interest. Arranged alphabetically by place name. Includes an index. Willis Library 3rd floor PR109.F5

Literary Reviews in British Periodicals 1789-1826: Citations for reviews during the Romantic period in English literature. Reviews listed by the last name of the author whose work is reviewed. Includes appendices to non-review articles about authors, literary genres, and literary criticism. Does not include reviews from newspapers of that time, except for The Champion and The Examiner. Willis 4th Floor Rare Books Ref Z2013.W36

Oxford Companion to English Literature: Entries of authors, literary characters, and critical theories of English literature. Includes cross-references and three appendices. Willis Library 3rd floor PR19.094 2009

Oxford Companion to the Literature of Wales: Spans 6th century to modern day and focuses on Welsh heritage and literature. Emphasis more on biography/bibliography than on critical analysis. Willis Library 3rd floor  PB2202.O94 1986

 

Electronic Resources

ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature) online
Lists English language articles, books, doctoral dissertations and reviews published anywhere in the world pertaining to bibliography, English language, traditional culture and English Literature. Covers English, American and Commonwealth writers.

Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Starting with the first book published in English through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare, this is an electronic collection of 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. The collection covers many subject areas, including: English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.

This page is maintained by Gayla Byerly last modified Friday, June 03, 2011. 04:04 PM
Info

The UNT Libraries will be closed Saturday, May 26 through Monday, May 28 for the Memorial Day weekend. The Libraries will reopen during regular building hours on Tuesday, May 29.

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook