Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides English Reference Sources African American Literature
Document Actions

English

African American Literature

Print Resources

Modern Black Writers: Focuses on significant writers of the 1980s and 1990s as well as entries and analyses of older authors. Includes popular authors. Has a critics index.  Willis Library 1st floor GenRef PN841.M58 2000

Writing African American Women: An Encyclopedia of Literature by and about Women of Color A collection consisting of essays with an acknowledged feminist/womanist perspective. It also contains biographies of those male writers who have dealt with themes from feminist perspectives, as well as important works, movements, periods, genres, and events relevant to the literature. Each author profile is followed by a list of selected works by and about the subject. Willis Library 1st floor Gen Ref PS153.N5 W756 2006

 

Electronic Resources

ABELL (Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature) online
ABELL lists English language articles, books, doctoral dissertations and reviews published anywhere in the world pertaining to bibliography, English language, traditional culture and English Literature. Covers English, American and Commonwealth writers.


Electronic Books

Oxford Companion to African American Literature
Explores the scholarship, interpretation, and cultural context of African American literature. Alphabetical entries include biographies, major works and characters, and critical essays. Includes an index.  http://iii.library.unt.edu/record=b2410644

 

 

This page is maintained by Gayla Byerly last modified Friday, June 03, 2011. 03:44 PM
Info

The UNT Libraries will be closed Saturday, May 26 through Monday, May 28 for the Memorial Day weekend. The Libraries will reopen during regular building hours on Tuesday, May 29.

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook