English
American Literature
Print Resources
American Writers: Extensive critical essays of American writers, from colonial times to modern day. Multiple volumes.
Asian American Literature: Reviews and Criticism of Works: This annotated list of Asian American authors provides biographical information, photo, list of major works, criticism and review for each author.
Electronic Resources
Contemporary Literary Criticism Select
Contemporary Literary Criticism--Select is an extensive collection of critical essays on contemporary authors. Each CLC--Select entry contains a biographical/critical introduction, listing of principal works and sources for further study. A GaleGroup database available through TexShare.
Dictionary of Literary Biography
Dictionary of Literary Biography provides nearly 10,000 biographical and critical essays on the lives, works, and careers of influential literary figures from all eras and genres. A GaleGroup database available through TexShare. (Keywords: American authors, English Authors, literature, Gale Group)
Literature Online (LION)
Literature Online (LION) is a fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 192 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
Literature Resource Center
Literature Resource Center allows access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors from every age and literary discipline. It includes information on literary figures from all time periods writing in such genres as fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, journalism, and more.
MLA International Bibliography via Ebscohost
The MLA International Bibliography, produced by the Modern Language Association of America, consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore in English as well as many other languages and includes coverage from 1926 to the present. The MLA International Bibliography provides access to scholarly research in nearly 4,000 journals and series. It also covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats. Sixty different languages are represented including English, French, Spanish, German, Russian, Portuguese, Norwegian, and Swedish.