Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Education Websites
Document Actions

Websites

Children's Literature

The Center for the Book Library of Congress

Fosters the role of books, reading, libraries, and literacy in society.

Children's Book Council

Encourages reading and intended for use by teachers and librarians.

Children's Literature Web Guide
Provides resources for teachers and parents to help them involve their children in reading.

 

 

 

 

Distance Learning

Distance Education and Training Council
Serves as a clearinghouse of information about distance study and sponsors a nationally recognized accrediting agency called the Accrediting Commission of the Distance Education and Training Council.

Texas Distance Learning Association

Promotes the application of distance learning strategies to maximize access, equity, and quality of educational resources.

United States Distance Learning Association (USDLA)

Promotes the development and application of distance learning for education and training.

Univ. of Wisconsin Distance Education Clearinghouse
Allows users easy access to a wide range of information about distance education.

 

 

Educational Administration

American Association of School Administrators (AASA) Online
Provides information for school administrators.

Council of Chief State School Officers
Nationwide, nonprofit organization composed of public officials who lead the departments responsible for elementary and secondary education.

Education Commission of the States

 Helps leaders develop and carry policies that promote improved performance.

National Association of Elementary School Principals (NAESP)
Includes information relevant for elementary and middle school administrators.

National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP)
Provides national voice for secondary education.

National Board for Professional Teaching Standards
Establishes rigorous standards for what accomplished teachers should know.

National Clearinghouse for Educational Facilities
Provides information for all facets of school facility planning, design, construction, and maintenance.

National School Boards Association
Fosters equity and excellence in public elementary and secondary education through school board leadership.

Texas Association of School Administrators (TASAnet)
Provides access to information for Texas school administrators and provides a jobline.


Educational Technology

Association for the Advancement of Computing in Education (AACE)
Profiles the Association for the Advancement of Computing in Education. This organization is dedicated to the use of information technology in the advancement of the knowledge, theory, and quality of learning and teaching at all levels with information technology.

Association for Educational Communications and Technology
Serves educational media and instructional professionals.

Consortium for School Networking (CoSN)
Promotes the further development and use of computer network technology in K-12 education.

International Society for Technology in Education
Provides forum for teacher educators to share information about the use of technology to enhance learning and education.

International Technology Education Association (ITEA)
Devoted to enhancing technology education through experiences in schools.

Internet Society
Promotes use of the Internet.

Texas Center for Educational Technology (TCET)
Promotes research and development collaboratives between industry and education in order that technologies and applications can be adopted for integration into the public school system.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Health Education, Physical Education, and Sports

Human Kinetics
Promotes information on sports and exercise.

National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA)
Maintains intercollegiate athletics as an integral part of the educational program and the athlete as an integral part of the student body.

Sports Media
Promotes international forum about sports and contains P.E. lesson plans and activities.

SIECUS
Develops, collects, and disseminates information, promotes comprehensive education about sexuality and advocates the right of individuals to make responsible sexual choices.

Texas Association of Health, Physical Education, Recreation and Dance (TAHPERD)
Presents the TAHPERD. Details the TAHPERD's six divisions: health, physical education, recreation, dance, college, and general.

 

Higher Education

American Association of Community Colleges
Represents community colleges.

Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching 

 

Conducts research on every level of education.

Syllabus Press, Inc 

 

Focuses on the latest technology used in higher education.

Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education (WICHE)

Created to facilitate resource sharing among the higher education systems of the Western states.

Math and Science

Jason Project
Provides access to information and ways for students to work side by side with scientists and researchers on exciting, real-world missions.

Mrs. Glosser's Math Goodies
Provides lessons on math lessons.

NASA's K-12 Internet Initiative
Provides detailed advice for educators who want access to the Internet.


Multicultural Education

National MultiCultural Institute (NMCI)
Describes the National MultiCultural Institute as a non-profit organization that responds to the growing need for new services knowledge and skills in diversity.

UsingEnglish.com - Learning English (ESL) Online
Resources for both students and teachers of English as a second language include lesson plans and teacher handouts, ESL tests, reference tools (including a dictionary of English idioms, which is worth listing all by itself), articles on English usage, and user forums.


Major Organizations and Associations

American Federation of Teachers
Represents teachers, school support staff, higher education faculty and staff, health care professionals, and state and local government employees.

National Education Association (NEA)
Provides information on the National Education Association, which is dedicated to advancing the cause of public education in the United States.

 

Parent Resources

National PTA
Promotes the education, health, and safety of children and families.

Texas PTA
Describes the Texas PTA, which is dedicated to improving education through parental involvement.


Reading

Book Adventure
Designed to keep students engaged and motivated to read.

Center for the Improvement of Early Reading Achievement
Improves reading achievement by generating solutions to persistent problems in the teaching and learning of reading.

International Reading Association

 

Seeks to promote high levels of literacy for all by improving quality of reading instruction.

National Center for Family Literacy
Focuses on improving the literacy skills of parents and their children.

 

 

Special Education

ARC
Profiles ARC, a voluntary organization committed to the welfare of all children and adults with mental retardation and their families.

Closing the Gap
Offers information on computer technology in special education and rehabilitation.

Correctional Educational Association

 

Provides services to students in correctional services.

The Council for Exceptional Children
Dedicated to improving outcomes for individuals with exceptionalities, students with disabilities, and/or the gifted.

Equal Access to Software and Information (EASI)
Provides information about EASI, an organization dedicated to disseminating information about access to computing and information technology for persons with disabilities.

LD Online
Interactive guide to learning disabilities for parents, teachers, and children.

National Academy for Child Development (NACD)
Profiles the NACD, which is an international organization of parents and professionals dedicated to helping children and adults reach their full potential.

National Association for Gifted Children (NAGC)
Provides information to address the unique needs of all children and youth with demonstrated gifts and talents.

National Information Center for Children and Youth with Disabilities (NICHCY)

 

Provides information on disabilities and special education services.

 

National Rehabilitiation Information Center (NARIC)
Collects and disseminates the results of federally funded research projects.

Office of Juvenile Justice Delinquency Prevention
Provides national leadership, coordination, and resources to develop, implement, and support effective methods to prevent juvenile victimization and respond appropriately to juvenile delinquency.

Parent Advocacy Coalition for Educational Rights (PACER)
Provides parent education and training to help parents understand the special education laws and how to obtain special education programs and services.

 

 

 

Tests and Measurements

Buros Institute of Mental Measurements
Describes the Buros Institute of Mental Measurements, which promotes meaningful and appropriate test selection, utilization, and practice.

Educational Testing Service (ETS)
Describes the Educational Testing Service, which develops and administers achievement, occupational, and admission tests.

Texas

Academic Excellence Indicator System (AEIS)
AEIS reports a wide range of information on the performance of students in each school and district in the state.

Texas Education Agency (TEA)
Profiles the TEA. Provides information about what's new, the state board of education, TEA employment opportunities, senate bills, and regional education service center directories.


Info

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook