Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Economics Government Resources
Document Actions

Government Resources

Print Sources

Economic indicators

Prepared for the Joint Economic Committee by the Council of Economic Advisers.

Latest at Gov Docs Service Desk. Also available online.

 

Industrial Development Report

An annual report on economic development of developing countries from the United Nations Industrial Development Organization.

Willis General Reference; call no.: HC59.69.I532 2005

Electronic Sources

United States GPO Access Gateway

This Gateway offers access to many key publications of the Federal Government including:

United States Code, Congressional Record and the Congressional Record Index, Federal Register, Unified Agenda (This source lists all agencies of government planning to revise or write new policies and is published every six months.), Congressional Directory, Congressional Bills, History of Bills, Public Laws, Congressional Documents, Congressional Reports, House and Senate Calendars, Economic Indicators, Economic Report of the President, Budget of the United States Government, and the U.S. Government Manual.

 

American Factfinder

Provides useful facts and information about your community, your economy, and your society from some of the Census Bureau's largest data sets.

 

Beige Book

Summary of Commentary on Current Economic Conditions, from the Federal Reserve Board.

Commonly known as the Beige Book, the report is published eight times per year. Each Federal Reserve Bank gathers anecdotal information on current economic conditions in its District through reports from Bank and Branch directors and interviews with key business contacts, economists, market experts, and other sources. The Beige Book summarizes this information by District and sector.

 

Budget of the United States Government

Contains the Budget Message of the President, information on the President’s budget and management priorities, and budget overviews organized by agency.

 

Bureau of Economic Analysis

The Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) promotes a better understanding of the U.S. economy by providing the most timely, relevant, and accurate economic accounts data in an objective and cost-effective manner.

 

Bureau of Labor Statistics

The principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics.

With the strongest commitment to integrity and objectivity, the BLS will be premier among statistical agencies, producing impartial, timely, and accurate data relevant to the needs of our users and to the social and economic conditions of our Nation, its workers, and their families.

 

Council of Economic Advisors

Advisory panel to the President.

A three-member council within the Executive Office of the President with the responsibility to advise the President, analyze and interpret economic developments, to appraise programs and activities of the Government, and to formulate and recommend national economic policy.

 

Country Studies

The Country Studies Series presents a description and analysis of the historical setting and the social, economic, political, and national security systems and institutions of countries throughout the world. This Web site is from the Library of Congress.

 

County and City Data Book

Statistical data on U.S. cities and towns.

 

County Business Patterns

County Business Patterns provides annual economic profiles of business and industry by county, state, and the United States. Includes statistics, by industry, on employment, payroll, and number of establishments, arranged by SIC and NAICS code.

 

Economic Development Administration

 

To lead the federal economic development agenda by promoting innovation and competitiveness, preparing American regions for growth and success in the worldwide economy.

 

Economic Indicators

Prepared for the Joint Economic Committee by the Council of Economic Advisers.

Latest available at Gov Docs Service Desk.

 

Economic Report of the President

Hearing before the Joint Economic Committee of the U.S. Congress.

 

Economic Research Service (Department of Agriculture)

A primary source of economic information and research in the U.S. Department of Agriculture.

ERS conducts a research program to inform public and private decisionmaking on economic and policy issues involving food, farming, natural resources, and rural development.

 

Economic Statistics Briefing Room

Provides easy access to current Federal economic indicators and links to information produced by a number of Federal agencies.

 

FRED : Economic Research

Website from the Federal Reserve Bank of St. Louis.

 

Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas

Provides useful, timely information about the Federal Reserve Bank of Dallas, the Federal Reserve System, and the regional, national and global economies.

General Services Administration

The GSA mission is to help other agencies better serve the public by meeting their needs for products and services, and to simplify citizen access to government information and services.

GSA's ten most popular sites are: Consumer Information Center in Pueblo, Colorado; Government Electronic Mall (GEM) offering access to GSA's Online Schedule System; IT policy OnRamp for informtion relating to Federal Information Resource Management ( IRM) and Information Technology (IT); Federal Information Center for answers to your questions about the United States Federal Government; GSA Advantage On-line Shopping for publications; Property Disposal for links regarding services relating to Federal real property that is excess, surplus, or available for public sale; Center for Information Technology Protective Service; and Federal Acquisition Regulations.

 

Regional Economic Accounts

From the Bureau of Economic Analysis, data on state and local personal income, gross state product and more.

 

Organization for Economic Co-operation and Development

The OECD is to work with other international organizations and partners to develop a new approach to measuring how societies are changing by using high quality, reliable statistics to assess progress in a range of areas affecting citizens’ quality of life.

 

Statistical Abstract of the United States

Statistical Abstract of the United States is a compilation of statistics (mostly U.S., but includes some international) on a broad range of topics, including demographics, economics, science and technology, geography, environment, and more.

 

StatUSA / Internet (National Trade Data Bank)

StatUSA is a full-text database of domestic and international economic and trade information. State of the Nation includes domestic information such as economic indicators, employment statistics, industry statistics, fiscal & monetary policy, price & productivity statistics, and Survey of Current Business. StatUSA also provides an extensive collection of international trade information commonly referred to as The National Trade Data Bank (Globus). Globus includes country Background Notes and country commercial guides.

 

USA counties

Annual data for counties from the Bureau of the Census.

 

 

Info

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Erin O'Toole

Contact Info

Sycamore Hall
Room 106
Eagle Commons Library
940-891-6750
erin.otoole@unt.edu

Email me!

Other pages by me


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook