Costume History and Fashion Design
Historic Costume and Fashion Images
Historic Costume and Fashion Images or Reproductions: Books
*The best sources for historic costume and fashion images can be found in the Historic Costume and Fashion Identification Books. These books are full of color images with accompanying descriptions and historical information.
Survey of Historic CostumeGT580 .T67 1998
20,000 Years of Fashion (Boucher)GT510 .B6713 1967a
The Guide to Historic CostumeGT507 .B33 1955 (Reference, 1st Floor, Willis Library)
Encyclopedia of World Costume (Yarwood)GT507 .Y37 (2nd floor, Willis Library)
The Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Costume and Fashion: from 1066 to the PresentGT730 .C37 1994 (Reference, 1st Floor, Willis Library)
Encyclopedia of Clothing and FashionGT507 .E53 2005 (Reference, 1st Floor, Willis Library)
The Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Costume and Fashion1550-1920 GT585 .C37 1986 (Reference, 1st Floor, Willis Library)
Encyclopaedia of FashionGT507 .O53 1986 (2nd floor, Willis Library)
Esquire's Encyclopedia of 20th Century Men's FashionsTT617 .S36
Evolution of FashionGT510 .H5 1987
The Face of the Century: 100 Years of Makeup and StyleGT2340 .D43 1995
Fashion: From Ancient Egypt to the Present Day391 C767f
Fashion in Costume, 1200-2000GT511 .N85 2000
Fashions in Hair (Corson)GT2290 .C6 1970
Fashions in Makeup (Corson) GT2340 .C67A History of Men's Fashion
GT1710 .C44 1993
Men's Fashion: The Complete Source BookGT1710 .P43 1996
20th Century FashionGT596 .P433 1993 (Reference, 1st floor, Willis Library)
Contemporary FashionTT505.A1 C66 2002 (Reference, 1st floor, Willis Library)
Visual History of Costume GT733 .V57 1989 (2nd floor, Willis Library)Historic Costume and Fashion Images: Image Databases
History of Costume
This
is a database of historic costume images found in fine art works. It is
a great source to find out what costumes, accessories and hairstyles
were being worn in a different historical periods in various
countries. It is arranged by historic periods from ancient Egypt to
1992.
*If accessing off campus, you will be asked for a user name and password. Username=EUID. Password=Eagle Mail password.
Historic Costume and Fashion Images: Microfilm
Willis Library has an excellent collection of microfiche costume and fashion images on microfiche in the Microforms Department
on the Lower Level of the Willis Library. The MicF call number follows
each title. Ask for the call number of the collection at the Microforms
desk.
Visual Catalogue of Fashion and Costume in the Victoria and Albert Museum, 1556-1975. MicF 245
Includes prints, drawings, and plates of costume and fashion designs owned by the museum.
Pacquin-Worth Fashion Drawings, 1865-1956 MicF385
Provides 5,000 illustrations of Parisian fashion designs.
Fashion For America MicF633
Provides
information on the U.S. fashion industry during the 20th century
created from images in the collection of the Fashion Institute of
Technology Library.
Swinging Sixties: Fashion Design in Britain, 1960-1969 MicF 384
Contains images of Sixties designers, haute couture, and manufacturing houses.
London College of Fashion Designer Files MicF 802
Contains 25 years of clippings of various designers' work from fashion magazines such as Vogue and Elle.
New York and Hollywood Fashion and Costume Design from the Brooklyn Museum Collection MicF 366
Provides an overview of fashion and costume design from 1910
through the late 1950s. Includes 657 sketches representing 55
designers. Examples of Hollywood designers included are Charles
LeMaire, Edith Head, Walter Plunkett, and Irene.
Style.Com
Published
by Vogue Magazine's CondéNast, this site features reviews, digital
images of 6,000 contemporary runway looks for each season. Includes
slideshows and video highlights from shows in New York London, Milan
and Paris.