Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Costume History and Fashion Design Reference Sources Costume and Fashion Identification Sources
Document Actions

Costume History and Fashion Design

Costume and Fashion Identification Sources

Historic Costume and Fashion: Image Databases

History of Costume
This is a database of historic costume images found in fine art works. It is a great source to find out what costumes, accessories and hairstyles were being worn in a different historical periods in various countries.  It is arranged by historic periods from  ancient Egypt to 1992.

*If accessing off campus, you will be asked for a user name and password. Username=EUID. Password=Eagle Mail password.

Historic Costume and Fashion: Books

For books on costume and fashion in the UNT Libraries, search the
UNT Online Catalog.  Choose the Keyword search.  Search the name of the designer or topic in the search box.  Ex.: Chanel, Coco; Chanel, Coco and dress, Medieval and clothing; Medieval and fashion; "Art Deco" and fashion; accessories and renaissance; shoes and history.

*How to Find and Borrow Books from other Universities:

World Catalog 
Search the World Catalog to find out about books not owned by UNT.  The World Catalog contains more than 35 million records describing items owned by libraries around the world.  Books not owned by UNT may be borrowed by UNT students, faculty and staff through UNT's Inter-Library Loan Department.

Historic Costume and Fashion: Reference Books

*All books are located in Reserve, First Floor, Willis Library (unless otherwise noted).

Survey of Historic Costume  GT580 .T67 1998
20,000 Years of Fashion (Boucher) GT510 .B6713 1967a
The Guide to Historic Costume GT507 .B33 1955 (Reference, 1st Floor, Willis Library)
Encyclopedia of World Costume (Yarwood) GT507 .Y37 (2nd floor, Willis Library)
The Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Costume and Fashion: from 1066 to the Present GT730 .C37 1994 (Reference, 1st Floor, Willis Library)
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion GT507 .E53 2005 (Reference, 1st Floor, Willis Library)
The Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Costume and Fashion 1550-1920 GT585 .C37 1986  (Reference, 1st Floor, Willis Library)
Encyclopaedia of Fashion GT507 .O53 1986 (2nd floor, Willis Library)
Esquire's Encyclopedia of 20th Century Men's Fashions TT617 .S36
Evolution of Fashion GT510 .H5 1987
The Face of the Century: 100 Years of Makeup and Style GT2340 .D43 1995
Fashion: From Ancient Egypt to the Present Day 391 C767f
Fashion in Costume, 1200-2000 GT511 .N85 2000
Fashions in Hair (Corson) GT2290 .C6 1970
Fashions in Makeup (Corson) GT2340 .C67
A History of Men's Fashion
GT1710 .C44 1993
Men's Fashion: The Complete Source Book GT1710 .P43 1996
20th Century Fashion GT596 .P433 1993 (Reference, 1st floor, Willis Library)
Contemporary Fashion TT505.A1 C66 2002 (Reference, 1st floor, Willis Library)
Visual History of Costume GT733 .V57 1989 (2nd floor, Willis Library)

Historic Costume Books in the Rare Book and Texana Collections

The Rare Book Room on the 4th floor of the Willis Library houses many rare and fragile materials on the history of costume and fashion design. These items may be used only in the Rare Book Room.


Le Costume en France de François

1er à 1900 391 .G137c

Costume Historique

391 .R11 vol. 6 pt. 2

Costumes Civils et Militaires des Français à Travers les Siècles

391 C351c

Costumes of Eastern Europe

391.T459

Delineations of the Most Remarkable Costumes of the Different Provinces of Spain

391 .G446d

Deutsche Volkstrachten

391 .K885d

Godey's Lady's Book

1837-1871; 1874-1875; 1877; 1882; 1884

History of French Masculine Costume

391.1 .G347

History of the Feminine Costume of the World

2 vols. 391.2 .G347

Mexican Costume

391 .M543m

Story of Fashion in France

391.2 .C351

Zur Geschichte der Costume 391 .U87b
This page is maintained by Rebecca Barham last modified Tuesday, January 13, 2009. 02:42 PM
Info
iSearch

iSearch

Search multiple databases for articles, all from one location

Rebecca

Contact Info

Research & Instructional Services,
Willis Library, RM155, University of North Texas

Email me!

Website/Blog

Other pages by me


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection