Reference Sources
Biographical Sources on Fashion Designers
Fashion Designers: Biographical Sources: Journal Articles
*Many contemporary fashion designers do not have books published about them; therefore, the best information can usually be found in journals.
*Search the designer's name in the keyword search box in the order of last name, first name. Example: Balenciaga, Cristobal; Klein, Calvin.
*If accessing off campus, you will be asked for a username (EUID), and password (EUID password).
This is an excellent database for the fashion and the design world.
Art & Architecture Complete
Bibliography of the History of Art
EbscoHost
This is a more general, but extensive database, so you may need to add the word "designer" or "fashion" to your search to cut out irrelevant journal articles. Search example: Karan, Donna AND designer.
Biography and Genealogy Master Index search this database to find reference books that have an entry on the designer.
Fashion Designers-Biographical Sources: Books
*To find books on fashion designers, search the UNT Online Catalog. Choose subject or keyword searches.
*Search names in the following manner: Example: Balenciaga, Cristobal.
*To find books on designers that are not owned by the UNT Libraries, search the World Catalog. The World Catalog contains more than 35 million records describing items owned by libraries around the world. Books or other materials not owned by UNT may be requested to be borrowed through UNT's Inter-Library Loan Department (for UNT students, faculty and staff).
Fashion Designers-Biographical Sources: Reference Books
*The books listed below are located in Reference in the Eagle Commons Library (unless otherwise noted).
*The designer's names are listed alphabetically in each of these books.
GT507 .O53 1998 (Reference, 1st Floor, Willis Library)
Contemporary FashionTT505.A1 C66 1995 c. 2
Who's Who in FashionTT505.A1S73 1996
Who's Who in FashionTT505.A1S74
The Fashion Guide: International Designer DirectoryTT495.F37 1994 (Reference, 1st Floor, Willis Library)
Costume and Fashion Identification Sources
Historic Costume and Fashion: Image Databases
History of Costume
This
is a database of historic costume images found in fine art works. It is
a great source to find out what costumes, accessories and hairstyles
were being worn in a different historical periods in various
countries. It is arranged by historic periods from ancient Egypt to
1992.
*If accessing off campus, you will be asked for a username (EUID), and password (EUID password).
Historic Costume and Fashion: Books
For books on costume and fashion in the UNT Libraries, search the
UNT Online Catalog.
Choose the Keyword search. Search the name of the designer or topic in
the search box. Ex.: Chanel, Coco; Chanel, Coco and dress, Medieval
and clothing; Medieval and fashion; "Art Deco" and fashion; accessories
and renaissance; shoes and history.
How to Find and Borrow Books from other Universities:
World Catalog
Search
the World Catalog to find out about books not owned by UNT. The World
Catalog contains more than 35 million records describing items owned by
libraries around the world. Books not owned by UNT may be requested to be borrowed by
UNT students, faculty and staff through UNT's Inter-Library Loan Department.
Historic Costume and Fashion: Reference Books
*All books are located in Reserve, First Floor, Willis Library (unless otherwise noted).
Survey of Historic Costume GT580 .T67 1998
20,000 Years of Fashion (Boucher) GT510 .B6713 1967a
The Guide to Historic Costume GT507 .B33 1955 (Reference, 1st Floor, Willis Library)
Encyclopedia of World Costume (Yarwood) GT507 .Y37 (2nd floor, Willis Library)
The Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Costume and Fashion: from 1066 to the Present GT730 .C37 1994 (Reference, 1st Floor, Willis Library)
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion GT507 .E53 2005 (Reference, 1st Floor, Willis Library)
The Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Costume and Fashion 1550-1920 GT585 .C37 1986 (Reference, 1st Floor, Willis Library)
Encyclopaedia of Fashion GT507 .O53 1986 (2nd floor, Willis Library)
Esquire's Encyclopedia of 20th Century Men's Fashions TT617 .S36
Evolution of Fashion GT510 .H5 1987
The Face of the Century: 100 Years of Makeup and Style GT2340 .D43 1995
Fashion: From Ancient Egypt to the Present Day 391 C767f
Fashion in Costume, 1200-2000 GT511 .N85 2000
Fashions in Hair (Corson) GT2290 .C6 1970
Fashions in Makeup (Corson) GT2340 .C67
A History of Men's Fashion GT1710 .C44 1993
Men's Fashion: The Complete Source Book GT1710 .P43 1996
20th Century Fashion GT596 .P433 1993 (Reference, 1st floor, Willis Library)
Contemporary Fashion TT505.A1 C66 2002 (Reference, 1st floor, Willis Library)
Visual History of Costume GT733 .V57 1989 (2nd floor, Willis Library)
Historic Costume Books in the Rare Book and Texana Collections
The Rare Book Room on the 4th floor of the Willis Library houses many rare and fragile materials on the history of costume and fashion design. These items may be used only in the Rare Book Room.
Le Costume en France de François
1er à 1900 391 .G137c
Costume Historique391 .R11 vol. 6 pt. 2
Costumes Civils et Militaires des Français à Travers les Siècles391 C351c
Costumes of Eastern Europe391.T459
Delineations of the Most Remarkable Costumes of the Different Provinces of Spain391 .G446d
Deutsche Volkstrachten391 .K885d
Godey's Lady's Book1837-1871; 1874-1875; 1877; 1882; 1884
History of French Masculine Costume391.1 .G347
History of the Feminine Costume of the World2 vols. 391.2 .G347
Mexican Costume391 .M543m
Story of Fashion in France391.2 .C351
Zur Geschichte der Costume 391 .U87bHistoric Costume and Fashion Images
Historic Costume and Fashion Images or Reproductions: Books
*The best sources for historic costume and fashion images can be found in the Historic Costume and Fashion Identification Books. These books are full of color images with accompanying descriptions and historical information.
Survey of Historic CostumeGT580 .T67 1998
20,000 Years of Fashion (Boucher)GT510 .B6713 1967a
The Guide to Historic CostumeGT507 .B33 1955 (Reference, 1st Floor, Willis Library)
Encyclopedia of World Costume (Yarwood)GT507 .Y37 (2nd floor, Willis Library)
The Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Costume and Fashion: from 1066 to the PresentGT730 .C37 1994 (Reference, 1st Floor, Willis Library)
Encyclopedia of Clothing and FashionGT507 .E53 2005 (Reference, 1st Floor, Willis Library)
The Illustrated Encyclopaedia of Costume and Fashion1550-1920 GT585 .C37 1986 (Reference, 1st Floor, Willis Library)
Encyclopaedia of FashionGT507 .O53 1986 (2nd floor, Willis Library)
Esquire's Encyclopedia of 20th Century Men's FashionsTT617 .S36
Evolution of FashionGT510 .H5 1987
The Face of the Century: 100 Years of Makeup and StyleGT2340 .D43 1995
Fashion: From Ancient Egypt to the Present Day391 C767f
Fashion in Costume, 1200-2000GT511 .N85 2000
Fashions in Hair (Corson)GT2290 .C6 1970
Fashions in Makeup (Corson) GT2340 .C67A History of Men's Fashion
GT1710 .C44 1993
Men's Fashion: The Complete Source BookGT1710 .P43 1996
20th Century FashionGT596 .P433 1993 (Reference, 1st floor, Willis Library)
Contemporary FashionTT505.A1 C66 2002 (Reference, 1st floor, Willis Library)
Visual History of Costume GT733 .V57 1989 (2nd floor, Willis Library)Historic Costume and Fashion Images: Image Databases
History of Costume
This
is a database of historic costume images found in fine art works. It is
a great source to find out what costumes, accessories and hairstyles
were being worn in a different historical periods in various
countries. It is arranged by historic periods from ancient Egypt to
1992.
*If accessing off campus, you will be asked for a username (EUID), and password (EUID password).
Historic Costume and Fashion Images: Microfilm
Willis Library has an excellent collection of microfiche costume and fashion images in the Microforms Department
on the Lower Level of the Willis Library. The MicF call number follows
each title. Ask for the call number of the collection at the Microforms
desk.
Visual Catalogue of Fashion and Costume in the Victoria and Albert Museum, 1556-1975. MicF 245
Includes prints, drawings, and plates of costume and fashion designs owned by the museum.
Pacquin-Worth Fashion Drawings, 1865-1956 MicF385
Provides 5,000 illustrations of Parisian fashion designs.
Fashion For America MicF633
Provides
information on the U.S. fashion industry during the 20th century
created from images in the collection of the Fashion Institute of
Technology Library.
Swinging Sixties: Fashion Design in Britain, 1960-1969 MicF 384
Contains images of Sixties designers, haute couture, and manufacturing houses.
London College of Fashion Designer Files MicF 802
Contains 25 years of clippings of various designers' work from fashion magazines such as Vogue and Elle.
New York and Hollywood Fashion and Costume Design from the Brooklyn Museum Collection MicF 366
Provides an overview of fashion and costume design from 1910
through the late 1950s. Includes 657 sketches representing 55
designers. Examples of Hollywood designers included are Charles
LeMaire, Edith Head, Walter Plunkett, and Irene.
Style.Com
Published
by Vogue Magazine's CondéNast, this site features reviews, digital
images of 6,000 contemporary runway looks for each season. Includes
slideshows and video highlights from shows in New York London, Milan
and Paris.
Film and Theater Costuming Sources
Film & Theater Costuming: Image Databases
History of Costume
This
is a database of historic costume images found in fine art works. It is
a great source to find out what costumes, accessories and hairstyles
were being worn in a different historical periods in various
countries. It is arranged by historic periods from ancient Egypt to
1992.
*If accessing off campus, you will be asked for a username
(EUID), and password (EUID password).
Film & Theater Costuming: Books
Located in Reference, 1st Floor, Willis Library (unless otherwise noted).
*Also see the Historic Costume and Fashion Identification Sources tab for great visual reference books.
Survey of Historic Costume GT580. T67 1998
More Costumes for the Stage GT1741. J323 1993
American Costume, 1915-1970: A Source Book for the Stage Costume PN2067.03 1982
Film Costume: An Annotated Bibliography Z5691.P75
Costume on the Stage, 1640-1940 (DeMarly) GT1741.D4 1982 (2nd Floor, Willis Library)
Theatrical Costume, Masks, Make-up and Wigs: A Bibliography and Iconography Z5691 .J68 2000 (Reference, 1st Floor, Willis Library)
Film Literature Index 1973-(Abstracts & Indexes, 1st Floor, Willis Library)
Professional Fashion Sources
Professional Fashion Sources: Books
*Books are located in the Eagle Commons Library (unless otherwise noted).
Career Opportunities in the Fashion Industry TT507 .V63 2002
Fashion Design: Process, innovation & Practice TT507 .M384 2003
Apparel Making in Fashion Design TT520 .K4589 2002
Fashion Design Drawing Course: Principles, Practice, and Techniques TT507 .M384 2003
Imagemakers: Cutting Edge Fashion Illustration TT509 .D39 2004
Essential Fashion Illustration TT509 .L35 2005
Fashion Illustration Now TT509 .B66 2004
The Vintage Fashion Directory: the National Sourcebook of Vintage Fashion Retailers GT507 .T87 2002 (Reference, 1st Floor, Willis Library)
Official Price Guide to Vintage Fashion and Fabrics GT505 .S65 2001 (Reference, 1st Floor, Willis Library)
Professional Fashion Sources: Internet
The Costume Page
A comprehensive index of costume and costume-related links for those who study and/or make costumes.
Fashion Net
Designed to be a global meeting point for the fashion- and style- interested public as well as for the fashion industry.
Firstview
Features the leading designers of Paris, Milan, New York, and London. Includes 50-150 photographs of each designer's collection.
Fashion Icon
A fun fashion site that includes a store lounge and seasonal fashion reviews.