Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Art & Artists: Contemporary Articles Find Contemporary Art Journal Articles
Document Actions

Art & Artists: Contemporary

Find Contemporary Art Journal Articles

Databases for Journal Articles on Contemporary Art and Artists

Many contemporary artists do not yet have books or exhibition catalogs published about them; therefore, the best information can usually be found in journals.

*Search the artist's name in the keyword search box in the order of last name, first name.
Example: Viola, Bill; Sherman, Cindy; Whiteread, Rachel; Smith, Kiki.

 

*Other keyword search examples: Postmodern and Art, Postmodern and Art and Criticism, Art and "20th Century", "Conceptual Art", "Feminist Theory" and Art, "Computer Art", Reconstruction and Art and Theory.

*Search the databases below for journal articles on contemporary art, artists and their work.

*If accessing off campus, you will be asked for a Username (EUID), and password (EUID password). *If you do not find the full-text of your journal article at the top level in your search results, be sure to click the link "Find Full Text" to be led to more possible sources for the online full-text of the article you need.

 

 

Art & Architecture Complete

1984-present

Bibliography of the History of Art

(BHA) 1973-present

ARTBibliographies Modern

1984-present

Grove Art On-line

Search this database for encyclopedic entries on artists, movements, and theory.

Design and Applied Arts Index

This is an excellent database for designers and other less, represented contemporary artists.

Biography and Genealogy Master Index

Search this database to find reference books that have an entry on your artist.

This page is maintained by Rebecca Barham last modified Tuesday, June 07, 2011. 10:56 AM
Contributors: Paige Prater
Info

Looking for journal articles? 

Try out our new Find Articles (Beta) search! 

Don't forget to let us know what you think about it.

 

Rebecca

Contact Info

Research & Instructional Services,
Willis Library, RM155, University of North Texas

Email me!

Website/Blog

Other pages by me


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection
The UNT Libraries are on Facebook