Websites
Organizations
-
American Association for Artificial Intelligence (AAAI): "A nonprofit scientific society devoted to advancing the scientific understanding of the mechanisms underlying thought and intelligent behavior and their embodiment in machines." -- AAAI Website
-
Association for Computing Machinery (ACM): "A major force in advancing the skills of information technology professionals and students worldwide." -- ACM Website
-
Electrochemical Society (ECS): "The society for solid-state and electrochemical science and technology." -- ECS Website
-
Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE): "A leading authority in technical areas ranging from computer engineering, biomedical technology and telecommunications, to electric power, aerospace and consumer electronics, among others." -- IEEE Website
-
IEEE Computer Society: "The world's leading organization of computer professionals." -- IEEE Computer Society Website
-
Institute of Electrical Engineers (IEE): The British analog to the IEEE and the publisher of the INSPEC database.
-
International Neural Network Society (INNS): The "premiere organization for individuals interested in a theoretical and computational understanding of the brain and applying that knowledge to develop new and more effective forms of machine intelligence." -- INNS Website
-
Materials Research Society (MRS): "An organization of materials researchers from academia, industry, and government that promotes communication for the advancement of interdisciplinary materials research to improve the quality of life." -- MRS Website
-
SPIE: The International Society for Optical Engineering (SPIE): "SPIE will serve the international technical community as the premier provider of education, information, and resources covering optics, photonics, and their applications." -- SPIE Website
Programming and Web Development
CPlusPlus
This
website offers free information about C++, tutorials, and a forum. This is a good start for students just starting to learn C++ and a good refresher
for students familiar with the language.
Google Code University: Programming
Languages
This resource is hosted by Google. It contains lectures, video
tutorials and classes covering different computer programming languages. The two
classes are over Python and C++. Also included are videos of various technology
lectures including Java, Python, C++, etc.
Intuit QuickBase: Online Resource
Guide to Computer Science
Intuit QuickBase provides an excellent overview of computer science. It covers different
aspects of the field (e.g. data structures, artificial intelligence, digital
logic, etc.) and provides links to additional web resources. This resource is
good for computer science students looking for a good starting point for research or a refresher of what they already know.
Khan Academy
The
Khan Academy offers free tutorials and videos over a variety of topics relating
to Computer Science. The video tutorials range from basic overviews to complex
lectures.
MIT OpenCourseware: Electrical
Engineering and Computer Science Courses
This
website is a great resource for students looking for a refresher on varying
computer science courses and topics. Many of the offered courses also contain
lecture notes, video presentations, exams and solutions and assignments and
solutions.
Python for Software Design
From
the website: “Python for Software Design is a concise introduction to
software design using the Python programming language. Intended for people
with no programming experience, this book starts with the most basic concepts
and gradually adds new material. Some of the ideas students find most
challenging, like recursion and object-oriented programming, are divided into a
sequence of smaller steps and introduced over the course of several
chapters.” A link to the older PDF version of the book is available on the website.
Stanford Engineering: Introduction to
Computer Science Programming Methodology
This
website is for an introductory programing course taught at Stanford. The course
content is available online, including video lectures, course handouts, and
assignments and exams with solutions. From the website: “Topics focus on the introduction to the
engineering of computer applications emphasizing modern software engineering
principles: object-oriented design, decomposition, encapsulation, abstraction,
and testing”.
University at Albany Computer Science
Guide to Web Resources
This resource covers a wide spectrum of computer science
information. The website contains links to other resources—many free, some
available only to University at Albany students. Some of the resources include: employment
websites, calculators, courses & tutorials, search engines, etc.
W3 Schools
This
website offers free tutorials of various web development technologies (e.g.
HTML, XML, CSS, etc.). The tutorials are very simple and easy to follow.
Web Developer’s Virtual Library
The Web Developer's Virtual Library is great
resource that includes tutorials on open source software, an archive of
articles, and a feed of recent and interesting articles in the web development
field.