Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Home Research Tools Subject Guides Company and Industry Research Websites U.S. Government Business Sources
Document Actions

Company and Industry Research

U.S. Government Business Sources

BLS "Current Employment Statistics"

Each month the Current Employment Statistics (CES) program surveys about 160,000 businesses and government agencies, representing approximately 400,000 individual worksites, in order to provide detailed industry data on employment, hours, and earnings of workers on nonfarm payrolls.

BLS "Economy at a Glance" pages

Contents: U.S. Economy at a Glance; Regions, States, and Areas at a Glance; Industries at a Glance.

BLS / Employment and Earnings / Occupational Profiles

The Occupational Employment Statistics (OES) program produces employment and wage estimates for over 800 occupations. These are estimates of the number of people employed in certain occupations, and estimates of the wages paid to them. Self-employed persons are not included in the estimates. These estimates are available for the nation as a whole, for individual States, and for metropolitan areas; national occupational estimates for specific industries are also available.
Contents include: National estimates for this occupation; Industry profile for this occupation; State profile for this occupation; Metropolitan area profile for this occupation.

BLS "Job Openings and Labor Turnover Survey"

Get Detailed JOLTS Statistics: Most Requested Statistics--Select from lists of the most popular Job Openings and Labor Turnover Survey Statistics (JOLTS). Create Customized Tables (one screen) --this application requires a Java-enabled browser. Choose the data you want from BLS databases on a simple, one-screen form. Create Customized Tables (multiple screens) --a form-based query application which allows you to obtain BLS time series data based on choices you make. Series Report --Already know the series identifier for the statistic you want? Use this shortcut to retrieve your data. Flat files FTP Site--For those who want it all. Download a flat file of the entire database or large subset of the database.

BLS Statistics by Geography

Includes state and local employment, geographic profile, consumer price index for geographic regions and metropolitan statistical areas, wages by area and occupation.

Board of Governors of the Federal Reserve System

Provides information about the Federal Reserve System's purposes and functions, Federal Open Market Committee (FOMC), statistical data from Federal Reserve releases, and a summary of Federal Reserve regulations.

Bureau of Economic Analysis: Department of Commerce

The Bureau of Economic Analysis (BEA) promotes a better understanding of the U.S. economy by providing the most timely, relevant, and accurate economic accounts data in an objective and cost-effective manner. The BEA provides basic information on such key issues as economic growth and regional development.

Bureau of Labor Statistics

The principal fact-finding agency for the Federal Government in the broad field of labor economics and statistics. Many labor topics are covered including: statistical data, the economy at a glance, keyword searching of BLS web pages surveys and programs, BLS publications, regional information, and research papers.

Business.gov

Contents: Finding Information on Popular Business Topics; Finding Small Business Grants and Loans; Comply with Employment and Labor Laws; Start a Home-Based Business; Get Info for Restaurants and Food Businesses; Buy Government Surplus Property for Your Business. Business topics include advertising and marketing, emergency and disaster planning, environmental compliance, finance, franchises, human resources, information security, intellectual property, international trade, licenses and permits, workplace health and safety, and taxes. The site covers a wide variety of industries.

County and City Data Book (University of Virginia Library)

This U.S. Bureau of the Census publication gives the most frequently requested census information for U.S., states, counties, cities of 25,000 or more, and places of 2500 or more.

Economic Census via the U. S. Census Bureau

Hint: scroll to the Full Report. When the pdf document comes up, type in your industry. When the results come up, scroll down until you find the report.

Economic Census from the U.S. Census Bureau's Factfinder

The economic censuses are comprehensive canvasses of industrial and business activities. They are conducted every 5 years, in years ending in 2 and 7. The 2002 Economic-Wide Key Statistics file available from includes the following data items for the US, states, counties, places, and metropolitan areas at the 2- through 8-digit NAICS industry codes.  The site provides: number of establishments; sales, receipts, revenues, shipments; annual payroll; number of employees.

Economic Indicators

From the U.S. government, provides statistical data including Gross Domestic Product, consumer and producer price indexes, retail and wholesale trade, industrial production, building permits and housing starts, new construction and foreign trade.

Federal Business resources

Contains links to: Ace-Net (Angel Capital Network), Basic Guide to Exporting, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Catalog of Federal Domestic Assistance, Census Bureau, Department of Agriculture, Department of Commerce Ecomonic Forecasts, Export Advisor, Federal Business Tax Information, Federal Government Portal, OSHA Onsite-Consultation, Small Business Administration, Stat-USA, Statistical Abstracts, U.S. Business Advisor.

Federal Reserve Beige book

Summary of Commentary on Current Economic Conditions, from the Federal Reserve Board.

Commonly known as the Beige Book, the report is published eight times per year. Each Federal Reserve Bank gathers anecdotal information on current economic conditions in its District through reports from Bank and Branch directors and interviews with key business contacts, economists, market experts, and other sources. The Beige Book summarizes this information by District and sector.

Federal Reserve Economic Data (FRED) 

FRED provides Federal Reserve Board statistical releases, the Beige  Book, working papers, historical data file series (monthly monetary data, interest rates, reserves, CPI, exchange rates).  FRED (Federal Reserve Economic Data), is one of the nation's largest databases of economic time series.

IRS Small Business and Self-Employed One-Stop Resource

Included: small business/self-employed topics, A-Z index for business, compliance and enforcement topics, forms and publications, deductions, recordkeeping, accounting methods, employer ID numbers, online education, where to file.

Small Business Administration

Includes small business planner, services, tools, and local resources. Since its beginning, the U.S. Small Business Administration has delivered about 20 million loans, loan guarantees, contracts, counseling sessions and other forms of assistance to small businesses.

Small Business Administration: Small Business Planner

This site provides guidance on the tools and resources necessary to write a winning business plan. From sample plans to a business plan primer, we’ll get you started on this very important activity. Once your business is up and running, you’ll need to regularly review and update your plan to manage growth. 
 

This page is maintained by Jeffrey Levy last modified Tuesday, September 01, 2009. 12:23 PM
Contributors: Created by Jeffrey Levy (2009)
Info
iSearch

iSearch

Search multiple databases for articles, all from one location

Jeffrey Levy

Contact Info

Willis Library, room 155
940-565-2013
Jeffrey.Levy@unt.edu

Email me!

Other pages by me


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection