Websites
Associations
- Academy of Management
Provides information about management and organizations. Members are scholars at colleges, universities, and research institutions, as well as practitioners. - American Management Association
Provides individuals and organizations with the knowledge, skills, and tools to achieve performance excellence. - American Marketing Association
For over six decades, the leading source for information about the marketing profession. - Associations Unlimited [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
Covers 460,000 international and U.S. national, regional, state, and local nonprofit membership organizations. A GaleGroup database. - Business Roundtable
Association of chief executive officers of leading U.S. companies. Click on STUDIES & REPORTS for the CEO Economic Outlook Surveys and other reports on business outlook for the next three to six months. - Consumer Electronics Association (CEA)
CEA produces the International Consumer Electronics Show (CES), the world's largest consumer technology tradeshow, http://www.cesweb.org/ . - Consumer Federation of America
A non-profit organization founded in 1968 to advance the consumer interest through research, education and advocacy. - Direct Marketing Association
The leading global trade association of business and nonprofit organizations using and supporting direct marketing tools and techniques. - Economic Cycle Research Institute
"The Economic Cycle Research Institute (ECRI) is an independent institute dedicated to economic cycle research." - Encyclopedia of Associations
This is the hardcopy equivalent of Associations Unlimited. Hint: use the keyword index to look up your association. Location: HS17.E5, Willis Library 3rd floor Business Reference and the Dallas Campus Library. - Institute for Supply Management
Online reports include Report on Manufacturing Business, Report on Non-Manufacturing Business, U.S. Department Of Commerce Annual Adjustments to Seasonal Factors, Manufacturing Data, Non-Manufacturing Data, Manufacturing and Non-Manufacturing Graphical Data, Regional Business Survey Reports, J P Morgan Global PMI Reports on Manufacturing and Services, and more. - International Council of Shopping Centers (ICSC)
The ICSC is the global trade association of the shopping center industry covering 70,000 members in the U.S., Canada and more than 80 other countries. - International Hotel & Restaurant Association (IH&RA)
This is a network of national associations, international chains, hotel operators, restaurateurs and supplier companies in more than 150 countries, representing over 750,000 establishments. - Marketing Research Association
The MRA is a self-managed, not-for-profit organization providing programs and services for members. - National Association for Business Economics (NABE)
Economic reports include Macro Data and Links; Economic Blogs; International Data and Links sponsored by the International Roundtable; Economic Research Institutions and Think Tanks; Micro Industry Data and Links; Financial Market News and Data; Regional Economic Data and Issues; Tools for Economics and Finance; Federal Reserve Corner; Technology News and Links. - National Association of Consumer Advocates (NACA)
Coverage: auto fraud, arbitration, credit reporting problems, debt collection abuse, identity theft, lemon law, military consumer rights, predatory lending practices, student loans. - National Association of Home Builders (NAHB)
NAHB is a Washington, D.C.-based trade association whose mission is to enhance the climate for housing and the building industry. It sponsors the International Builders Show. - National Association of Manufacturers (NAM)
Represents manufacturers and cooperating non-manufacturers with a direct interest in or relationship to manufacturing. - National Association of Purchasing Managers Economic Indicators
Provides Key Economic Indicators, with web links for tracking the US economy and technical information on economic indicators. Contents: For Beginners, Technical Analysis, Economic Indicators, Central Banks. - National Association of Realtors
This association develops standards for efficient, effective, and ethical real estate business practices. - National Federation of Independent Business
NFIB, a leading business association, represents small and independent businesses. It provides research, online forums, networking, state and federal lobbying for small businesses. - National Human Resources Association (NHRA)
Represents human resource executives in business, industry, education, and government. The NHRA is a network of local affiliates focused on advancing the development of human resource professionals. - National Restaurant Association
Restaurant trade organization offering certification, training materials,start-up advice, education resources, and industry news and trends. National Restaurant Association Research Publications has industry forecasts and trends. - National Restaurant Association Educational Foundation
The National Restaurant Association Educational Foundation (NRAEF), is a not-for-profit organization focused on three key strategies of risk management, recruitment, and retention. - National Retail Federation
The National Retail Federation is the world's largest retail trade association, covering all retail formats and channels of distribution including department, specialty, discount, catalog, Internet, independent stores, chain restaurants, drug stores and grocery stores. - National Small Business Association
Small businesses including manufacturing, wholesale, retail, service, and other firms. Works to advocate at the federal level on behalf of smaller businesses. Committees: Economic Development; Health Care Policy; Membership Services; Regulatory; Taxation. Councils: Small Business Technology. - Pew Center on the States
The Pew Center on the States advances state policy solutions, with research articles and reports on elections, public policy, corrections, pre-k, and government. Included are statistics dealing with productivity and income growth, as well as state comparisons. - Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM) Professional organization of human resource, personnel, and industrial relations professionals and executives. Offers certification through the Human Resource Certification Institute. Sponsors SHRM Foundation. Includes jobs and careers in Human Resource Management.
- Shop.org
Interactive executives from more than 600 leading retail brands participate in Shop.org to get information about online marketing, merchandising, site usability, multichannel integration, online and multichannel shopping consumer trends. - SHRM Global Forum
Description: Executives responsible for international human resource management. Provides a forum for networking. A division of the Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM).
Need Help?
The UNT Libraries Government Documents staff is happy to answer your questions! Visit us on the 3rd Floor of Willis Library Government Documents Department, or call us at (940) 565-2870, or email us!
Business Research Crib Sheet
Taking a first look:
| Less Information | More Information |
|---|---|
| International company | U.S. company |
| New company | Established company |
| Private company | Public company |
| Subsidiary | Parent company |
| Small company | Large company |
| Small industry, many players |
Large industry, few players |
Steps
1. Find your industry codes. These codes are assigned by the U.S. Government to identify the industry.
- Find your SIC code (Standard Industrial Classification) [OSHA.gov]
- Find your NAICS code (North American Industry Classification System)[Census.gov]
- Business & Company Resource Center [do an Industry search. You can search industries by topic].
- Hoover's Online [do an Industry search]
- Reference USA [do a Custom Search. You can search industries by topic.]
.
2. Find your benchmark industry ratios
- Almanac of Business & Industrial Financial Ratios [on Reserve in Willis Library]
- Industry Norms & Key Business Ratios [on Reserve in Willis Library]
- Annual Statement Studies - RMA Robert Morris Associates [on Reserve in Willis Library]
.
3. Get your company's numbers if public
- The company's 10K Report includes Part II, item 7, "Management's Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of Operations"]
- Business & Company Resource Center [doesn't present the entire 10K but provides the essential numbers]
- Hoover's Online [click on SEC filings]
- LexisNexis Academic [click on Companies then click on SEC filings]
- Morningstar Document Research [this database formats the documents nicely in Word or pdf]
- SEC Edgar Database [read the help guides and the FAQs before using this database]
- Thomson One Banker (Thomson Analytics) [find your company and click on SEC Full Reports]
.
4. Find industry information
- Many of these electronic tools have an industry search blank. Plug in your NAICS or your SIC code or use the industry lookup search blank.
- Business & Company Resource Center
- Hoover's Online
- NetAdvantage - Standard and Poor's [provides Standard and Poor's Industry Surveys]
.
5. Find articles about your company and industry
- ABI Inform
- Business & Company Resource Center
- Business Source Complete
- Emerald FullText
- Predicast's PROMT -- Predicast's Overview of Markets and Technology
- Regional Business News
- APA Style Guide -- The OWL site at Purdue University has prepared a basic guide to citing with the current APA style.
.
Need Help?
The UNT Libraries Government Documents staff is happy to answer your questions! Visit us on the 3rd Floor of Willis Library Government Documents Department, or call us at (940) 565-2870, or email us!
The TRADING ROOM in the BLB
Click for information about the Trading Room, located in the BLB, including Bloomberg terminals, policies, setting up an account, and help guide from the College of Business.