Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Sections
Document Actions

Company and Industry Research

Industry Structure

American salaries and wages survey

Arranged alphabetically by primary occupation, this guide presents more than 40,000 salary statistics in an 8-column table. Each table provides occupational/type/industry; location; wage denomination; low, mid and high figures; source from which the information was collected; and date of sources. HD4973 .A67 [location: Willis Library General Reference]

Book of Lists (Dallas Business Journal)

Published annually, it provides essential information on the largest businesses, buyers, and the largest employers in Dallas. It provides a look at the local economy and includes key contact information and facts for top businesses, industries, professions, governmental units and nonprofit organizations.

HF5065.T4 B612 Location: General Reference shelves, Willis Library; also located at the UNT Dallas Campus Library

A copy is ALSO LOCATED AT THE UNT DALLAS LIBRARY.

Book of Lists (Fort Worth Business Press)

Published annually, it provides lists and rankings of the top businesses in Tarrant County by industry. In addition to the largest businesses, it includes the largest employers and the largest non-profits.

HF5065.T4 B8 Location: General Reference shelves, Willis Library; also located at the UNT Dallas Campus Library

A copy is ALSO LOCATED AT THE UNT DALLAS LIBRARY.

Business & Company Resource Center

Business & Company Resource Center (Business and Company Resource Center) provides company and industry information for over 300,000 companies. Includes company profiles, industry rankings, marketing information, products, brands, investment ratings, financial ratios, financial statements, market size, industries by SIC, directory information, and more. Search by company name, industry, topic, or geography.

NOTE: Only available to UNT students, staff, and faculty. Access for guests is on-campus only.

How to Access Electronic Resources

Cost of capital Yearbook

Covers data through March of the year published. It compiles data from Standard & Poor's Compustat Data, organized by industries based on Standard Industry Classification (SIC) codes. The yearbook contains critical statistics needed to analyze U.S. corporations and industries. It provides industry financial information including five separate measures of cost of equity. Also included are weighted average cost of capital; detailed statistics for sales, profitability, and capitalization; beta, multiples, ratios, equity returns and capital structure.

HC110.C3 C67 [location: General Reference Desk]

County Business Patterns

County Business Patterns provides annual economic profiles of business and industry by county, state, and the United States. Includes statistics, by industry, on employment, payroll, and number of establishments, arranged by SIC and NAICS code.

D&B Business Rankings / Dun & Bradstreet

Public and private businesses ranked within industry category and state. Contents: businesses ranked by size, sales, number of employees; businesses ranked within state; businesses ranked within industry category, public companies ranked by size, private/foreign-owned companies ranked by size. Hint: Section V provides a table of SIC codes with rank by sales volume. Note that the primary SIC code is listed to the extreme right. HG4057.A238 current year [location: General Reference shelves]

Dun & Bradstreet's Million Dollar Database

Coverage: 305,000 U.S. businesses with $9 million+ sales or 180+ total employees, plus branches with 900+ employees this site. Company information includes industry information with up to 24 individual 8-digit SICs, size criteria (employees and annual sales), type of ownership, principal executives, subsidiaries, corporate family tree.

NOTE: Only available to UNT students, staff, and faculty. Access for guests is on-campus only.

How to Access Electronic Resources

Encyclopedia of American Industries

Volume 1 Manufacturing Industries; Volume 2 Service and Non-Manufacturing industries. These two volumes, organized by SIC number, cover approximately 1,000 industries. Each industry is profiled with an industry snapshot that gives organization and structure, background, current conditions, and industry leaders.

HC102.E53 Location: Willis Library General Reference and the Dallas Campus Library.

A COPY IS ALSO LOCATED AT THE UNT DALLAS LIBRARY.

Gartner Core Research Services

Gartner Core Research Services delivers technology-related insight necessary for users to make the right decisions, every day. Gartner serves 10,000 organizations, including chief information officers and other senior IT executives in corporations and government agencies, as well as technology companies and the investment community. EUID and password are required for login, even on the UNT Campus.

NOTE: Only available to UNT students, staff, and faculty. Access for guests is on-campus only.

How to Access Electronic Resources

Hoover's Online

Hoover's Online provides proprietary information on about 18,500 companies, 180,000 officers, and 600 industries.  The database also furnishes access to additional information on nearly 13 million companies from leading providers such as Dun & Bradstreet. Use it to create targeted contact lists, custom company reports, and to find small business locations. Import data into spreadsheets, CRMs, and other software. Another feature includes customizable news alerts and news coverage from top wire services.

NOTE: Only available to UNT students, staff, and faculty. Access for guests is on-campus only.

How to Access Electronic Resources

Information, Finance, and Services USA: Industry Analyses, Statistics, and Leading Organizations

This source, organized by NAICS codes, covers 320 industries. Many groups of industries are covered, including Arts, Entertainment, & Recreation (NAICS codes 711110 to 713990). This reference source provides data about the size, cost patterns, and structures of each industry. It provides general statistics, indices of change, selected ratios, leading companies, cost details, product details, and industry data by state.

HD9981.4.I53 [Location: General Reference shelves, Willis Library]

Infrastructure Industries: Industry Analyses, Statistics, and Leading Companies

This source, organized by NAICS codes, covers 137 industries including agriculture (NAICS codes 111000 - 113310), mining (NAICS codes 211111 to 213115), utilities (NAICS codes 221111 to 221330), construction (NAICS codes 233110 to 235990), and transportation & warehousing (NAICS codes 481111 to 493190). It provides data about the size, cost patterns, and structures of each industry. It provides general statistics, indices of change, selected ratios, leading companies, cost details, product details, and industry data by state.

HD9506.U5I53 Location: Willis Library General Reference

International Directory of Company Histories

This 97+ volume set of books provides 2-5 page historical profiles for over 3,700 (mostly large) companies. The index in each volume indexes all the preceding volumes, so use the index in the last volume to look up your company.

Lifestyle Market Analyst (SRDS): The Essential Source for Demographic

Provides extensive data covering DMA Market Profiles, lifestyle profiles, and demographic segment profiles. Includes much data on consumer preferences.

HF5415.33.U6L54 current issue [location: General Reference shelves]

Manufacturing & Distribution USA:  Industry Analyses, Statistics, and Leading Companies 

Available online. This source covers over 856 industries and includes pre-calculated ratios for 20 important industrial measurements. It provides general statistics, indices of change, selected ratios, leading companies, cost details, and industry data by state.

NOTE: Only available to UNT students, staff, and faculty. Access for guests is on-campus only.

How to Access Electronic Resources

NetAdvantage - Standard and Poor's

Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage is a comprehensive source of business and investment information, offering on-line access to Standard & Poor's research products such as Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, The Outlook, and Mutual Fund Reports. NetAdvantage provides searching and screening tools to facilitate academic research, job searches, case studies, competitive intelligence, strategic planning, due diligence and M&A activities. Included is private company information on over 85,000 companies that are not publicly traded. NAICS code searching is available to identify potential customers, vendors, and strategic partners. The database includes biographies of thousands of corporate executives and directors. Export tools allow researchers to download data into spreadsheet programs for further analysis.

NOTE: Only available to UNT students, staff, and faculty. Access for guests is on-campus only.

How to Access Electronic Resources

Occupational Outlook Handbook

Occupational Outlook Handbook provides the employment outlook for more than 250 occupations. Topics included for each occupation are: nature of the work; working conditions; employment, training, other qualifications, and advancement; job outlook; and earnings.

Plunkett Research Online

Provides in depth industry information on 29 industries ranging from Advertising to Wi-Fi. Analyzes trends, technologies, and statistics supplemented with market data and glossary.

NOTE: Only available to UNT students, staff, and faculty. Access for guests is on-campus only.

How to Access Electronic Resources

Reference USA

Reference USA Business Database provides directory information for more than 12 million U.S. businesses. The information is compiled from the following public sources: more than 5,600 Yellow Page and Business White page telephone directories; annual reports, 10-Ks, other financial information provided by the SEC, Chamber of Commerce information, and other sources. Quick Search: search by company name, city, and state. Custom Search: search by company name, yellow page heading, SIC number, geographic location, headquarters/branch, or by business sales volume. It is possible to compile lists of companies for projects in Marketing, Finance; or for company and industry analysis.

NOTE: Only available to UNT students, staff, and faculty. Access for guests is on-campus only.

How to Access Electronic Resources

Regional Economic Accounts

Formerly REIS (Regional Economic Information System), this site includes estimates of personal income and per capita personal income for metropolitan areas and counties; personal income by major source; labor and proprietors' earnings by industry; employment; transfer payments by major program; and farm income and expenses.

NOTE: Only available to UNT students, staff, and faculty. Access for guests is on-campus only.

How to Access Electronic Resources

SEC EDGAR Database

SEC EDGAR provides searchable US Securities and Exchange filings for public companies.  The SEC enforces the statutory requirement that public companies submit quarterly and annual reports, as well as other periodic reports. The SEC maintains an online database called EDGAR (the Electronic Data Gathering, Analysis, and Retrieval system) online.

Standard and Poor's Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives

Volume 1 (Corporations): Alphabetical listings of approximately 55,000 corporations with address, officers, stock exchange(s) on which company is traded, annual sales, number of employees, description of principal products and more. Volume 2 (Directors and Executives): Alphabetical listing of about 70,000 individuals. Volume 3 (Indexes): Divided into seven sections which include SIC code index, SIC code listing of corporations, geographic index, corporate family index, obituary section, new individual additions, and new company additions.

HG4057 .A41 [Location: Willis Library General Reference and the Dallas Campus Library]

(also available online through Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage)

Standard and Poor's Industry Surveys (available through Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage)

Hint: Once in NetAdvanatage, go to the left-hand margin and click on "Industry Surveys."  This enables you to browse all industries.  Formats are either html viewable or pdf.  Other options on the left-hand margin are Global Industry Surveys and Sub-Industry Review.

NOTE: Only available to UNT students, staff, and faculty. Access for guests is on-campus only.

How to Access Electronic Resources

Statistical Abstract of the United States

Statistical Abstract of the United States is a compilation of statistics (mostly U.S., but includes some international) on a broad range of topics, including demographics, economics, science and technology, geography, environment, and more.

NOTE: Only available to UNT students, staff, and faculty. Access for guests is on-campus only.

StatUSA / Internet (National Trade Data Bank)

StatUSA is a full-text database of domestic and international economic and trade information. State of the Nation includes domestic information such as economic indicators, employment statistics, industry statistics, fiscal & monetary policy, price & productivity statistics, and Survey of Current Business. StatUSA also provides an extensive collection of international trade information commonly referred to as The National Trade Data Bank (Globus). Globus includes country Background Notes and country commercial guides.

NOTE: Only available to UNT students, staff, and faculty. Access for guests is on-campus only.

How to Access Electronic Resources

Survey of Current Business

Survey of Current Business includes full text articles and statistical data about current business at regional, national, and international levels. Includes the full-text of all Survey of Current Business issues since 1994.

This page is maintained by Jeffrey Levy last modified Tuesday, September 01, 2009. 12:23 PM
Contributors: Created by Jeffrey Levy (2009)
Info
iSearch

iSearch

Search multiple databases for articles, all from one location

Jeffrey Levy

Contact Info

Willis Library, room 155
940-565-2013
Jeffrey.Levy@unt.edu

Email me!

Other pages by me


UNT and State of Texas: UNT | UNT Search | UNT News and Events | State of Texas | State-wide Search

Policies: UNT Web Accessibility Policy | AA/EOE/ADA | Privacy Statement | Disclaimer

1155 Union Circle #305190
Denton , TX 76203-5017
(940) 565-2413

Locations, Maps, and Shipping.

Credits
Government Information Connection