Company and Industry Research
Financial Statements
Please note that most entrepreneurial firms are not public companies.
-
Business & Company Resource Center [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
Covers 300,000 companies. Includes company profiles, industry rankings, marketing information, products, brands, investment ratings, financial ratios, financial statements, market size, industries by SIC, directory information, and more.
Hint: do a Company Search. Find your public company and click Financials to get the 10K Report. -
Business Research Databases (COB Computer Labs only)
The Libraries provide substantial financial support for research databases that are made available through the College of Business.
This link leads to information about CRSP, Compustat, Research Insight, TAQ, WRDS. If you have questions about WRDS access, please see Cengiz Capan, Department of ITDS.
Compustat-related titles:
- Bank Compustat
- Compustat Full Subscription
- Compustat North American Data
- CRSP/COMPUSTAT merged database
WRDS-related titles:
- Standard and Poor’s Compustat
- CRSP/Compustat Merged Database
- Center for Research in Security Prices
- New York Stock Exchange TAQ
- Thomson Financial -
COB Labs: COB Tutor Labs | Find a COB Computer Lab | COB Virtual Lab Hours | CILTC.
-
Compustat (Standard & Poor's) See Business Research Databases (COB Computer Labs only)
-
Dun & Bradstreet's Million Dollar Database [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
This is a directory covering 305,000 U.S. businesses. Includes industry information by SIC, size criteria (employees and annual sales), type of ownership, principal executives, subsidiaries, corporate family tree. -
Hoover's Online [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
Proprietary information on about 18,500 companies, 180,000 officers, and 600 industries. Additional information on nearly 13 million companies from leading providers such as Dun & Bradstreet. Create targeted spreadsheets and view news alerts. -
LexisNexis Academic [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
Contents: legal, news, and business sources. Includes financial statements, corporate profiles, U.S. and state cases, as well as state and federal codes and statutes.
Hint: How to find public company filings on LexisNexis Academic: Once in LexisNexis Academic, click on the BUSINESS tab to find company reports. Then type in the company's name or ticker. Then click SEARCH. Once you pull up the company's "SNAPSHOT," click FINANCIAL INFORMATION on the side menu. -
Morningstar Document Research [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
Former name: 10-K Wizard. Includes all electronically filed forms with the SEC. It includes EDGAR Archives through 1994. It contains pre-Edgar listing of all SEC filings to 1966. It also includes the full text of ADR filings for foreign companies, current and historical audit reports, updated company profiles, and glossy annual reports. -
NetAdvantage - Standard and Poor's [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
Provides Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Corporation Records, The Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives, The Outlook, and Mutual Fund Reports. -
Plunkett Research Online [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
Industry information on 29 industries ranging from Advertising to Wi-Fi. Analyzes trends, technologies, and statistics supplemented with market data and glossary. -
Research Insight (COB Computer Labs only)
Extensive coverage of the annual and quarterly financial statements and the supplemental data of publicly held companies. Contains 20 years of annual, 12 years of quarterly, seven years of business and geographic information. COB/Standard & Poor's Research Insight Primer for Getting Started.
-
Reuters.com
This internet site provides financial ratios of industries in addition to market news and company and industry figures.
Hint: To find industry ratios, enter the stock symbol of a public company. You will then go to a summary page about that company. Select "Ratios" (on the left side) to get comparisons of some of the company's financial performance ratios against the industry. -
Securities and Exchange Commission
Includes quick EDGAR tutorial, search for company filings, descriptions of SEC forms, requesting public documents, investor information, check out brokers & advisers, new digest, publications.
- EDGAR Tutorial
- EDGAR FAQ
- EDGAR Search -
Standard and Poor's Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
Provides information on 55,000 corporations with address, officers, stock exchange(s) on which company is traded, annual sales, number of employees, description of principal products and more. Also listing of about 70,000 individuals.
Hint: To find this publication on Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage, use the pull-down menu under "Publication Search" on the right side of the screen.
-
Thomson One Banker (Thomson Analytics) [UNT Libraries' Subscription]
Provides news, quotes, earnings estimates, key financials, ratios, and growth rates for over 65,000 active and inactive global companies. Provides formatted reports and charts containing financials, earnings ratios, and stock data. You can download (export) fixed fields into Excel. The data is drawn from IBES, Worldscope, SDC, other Thomson databases, and Edgar filings.
This Resource will not work on Mozilla Firefox.
-
Value Line Research Center [UNT Libraries' Subscription] Please remember to log out when finished.
Make sure you are "logged on" at the top right of the Value Line home page. Once logged in, click Subscriber Index at the top left of the Value Line home page. Contents:
- Ratings & Reports (one-page reports on approximately 1,700 companies and more than 90 industries).
- Summary & Index (an index of all stocks in the publication including statistics about the latest company results).
- Selection & Opinion (Value Line's latest economic and stock market forecasts). -
Value Line Investment Survey - older issues on microfiche
The Microforms Department, located in the Willis Library lower level, has the Value Line microfiche from 1969 to current. Ask at the Microforms desk, Willis Library Lower Level. -
WRDS Wharton Research Data Service
For more information, please see Cengiz Capan (ITDS), the COB faculty representative for WRDS.
The University Libraries and the College of Business worked together to fund the Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) license for UNT. The UNT COB now has access to WRDS. Individual WRDS accounts are offered to UNT faculty, full-time UNT research staff, and currently-enrolled UNT Ph.D. students.
- The following is the UNT/WRDS information page: http://www.cob.unt.edu/ciltc/wrds.php
- When you receive your account, you will also receive a list of the terms of our agreement.
WRDS-related titles:
- Standard and Poor’s Compustat
- CRSP/Compustat Merged Database
- Center for Research in Security Prices
- New York Stock Exchange TAQ
- Thomson Financial
Need Help?
The UNT Libraries Government Documents staff is happy to answer your questions! Visit us on the 3rd Floor of Willis Library Government Documents Department, or call us at (940) 565-2870, or email us!